A Book Recommendation for All Women: Truth, Lies, and the Single Woman by Allison K. Flexer

Truth, Lies and the Single WomanWhat did I think of Truth, Lies, and the Single Woman, the new book out by Allison K. Flexer?  In a word: Relatable. It didn’t matter that I was several decades removed from the average age group targeted in this short 158 page Christian non-fiction book; I could still identify with the expressed thoughts that complicate our personal growth throughout the years.

From the very first paragraph, this book grabbed my attention and held it to the very end!  Instantly, my memory traveled back to grade school, where I suffered through the indignation of usually being the last one chosen for a team. Painfully, I could relate. Since I was an uncoordinated mess during those years, I believed the “Lies” that I had no worth. No one wanted me for I was imperfect.

Looking back over time, of course it was all lies, but it certainly doesn’t seem that way as you are living through it. The mind is a powerful weapon which Satan can use to tear down and destroy. He has been the father of all lies from the beginning.

“But I am afraid that just as Eve was deceived by the serpent’s cunning, your minds may somehow be led astray from your sincere and pure devotion to Christ.”  (2 Corinthians 11:3)

Clearly and concisely, Allison Flexer lays out the false narratives that wander through the mind of the single lady:  Because no one has chosen me, My past can’t be forgiven,  I’m not valuable, God has forgotten about me, I’m not beautiful, Getting married will solve all my problems . . . 12 chapters, all addressing the challenges that single women usually question sometime in their lives.

If  all Ms. Flexer wrote of however, were the lies we associate our lives with, this book could be quite discouraging. In each chapter therefore, she presents the “Truth” as well.  Brilliantly, through sensible discussions, illustrations and applications, she defines new thought-patterns, based on Scripture, which single women can put into action. Additionally, the personal vignettes of the various women (and eventually men)  voiced in this book will surely touch your heart.

This thought-provoking gem concludes that God’s plan for our lives is the one we should patiently and ultimately strive for. We were designed for a purpose, we have value and as a child of a very great and worshipful King, we are Royalty! As Royalty, we have the HOPE found in 1 John 4:4, “You are from God, little children, and have overcome them; because greater is He who is in you than he who is in the world.”

Truth, Lies, and the Single Woman would make a perfect Christmas present! I appreciate Allison for choosing me to be the proud recipient of her recent give-away! She never requested a review but I felt she deserved one. This treasure has found a prominent place amongst my counseling books, it’s that good!

5 thoughts on “A Book Recommendation for All Women: Truth, Lies, and the Single Woman by Allison K. Flexer

  1. Pingback: A Book Recommendation for All Women: Truth, Lies, and the Single Woman by Allison K. Flexer | Christians Anonymous

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

