Are You Destroying Your Home From Within?

As I watched the self-destruction of Ferguson, Missouri on television, my heart sympathized with those who were innocent bystanders of these senseless acts. It must have been devastating as you watched your life’s work go up, literally, in flames. My heart grieved for one particular lady who lost her pastry shop in a single night of hatred. If you have ever strived to see your business dream realized, then your heart must have been touched as a mob needlessly demolished her dream. Thankfully, good-hearted people of all ethic and color diversities restored her faith in human-kind.

th7IGLSJWAAlthough some seemingly forget it, it is vital to remember that we are all of ONE race . . . the human race! If I were blind and you were blind, what difference would it make what color I was??? God looks at our inner spirit and so do I.

“We love because he first loved us. If anyone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen cannot love God whom he has not seen. And this commandment we have from him: whoever loves God must also love his brother.”  (1 John 4: 19-21)

Some shook their heads and asked why did God allow Ferguson to pillage itself? Well, God didn’t . . .  Satan did.  Looting, (stealing) eradicating businesses and burning vehicles is pure hatred and since hatred is evil, it is not from God. Evil comes in all forms, but make no mistake, it is all self-hatred, which is sin. But don’t be too self-righteous however, for we are no different than Ferguson in many respects! For what we cherish, we take care of! Do you truly care about your own “home?”

We are God-created, and to say that we don’t care about our physical body, is a slap in the Face of God who created us. Someone who doesn’t take care of his own body actually dislikes himself. Free Will allows us to choose either sanity and order in our lives, or to loot and destroy our own bodily home, (although I seriously doubt if the majority of those who rioted in Ferguson, were from that particular city.) Sin always annihilates the very soul of those who, “caring not” exhibit these behaviors.

Self-hatred always affects the innocent around us. Need proof?  As your loved one lies dying from the lung cancer, brought on from years of smoking, aren’t you affected? As your alcoholic spouse destroys himself, do you remain apathetic? So if you stuff your temple of the Holy Spirit with dangerously fattening, chemically-based, processed food, does your family remain unaffected?  No, of course not. There are no victimless crimes! If you destroy the body, you are destroying your personal “home” and those who love you suffer. This body is the only personal space you’ll inhabit until we leave this earth. Take care of it!

Anger and self-loathing shatters the soul, and only God’s Grace can change hearts. Be thankful for life. How does it ever show our gratitude when we tear down and self-destruct our godly temple? Yet some do! Some choose drugs, alcohol, yo-yo dieting or any other crazy fad in order to please mankind, not God.

And any true Reverend worth his salt, would quote God’s Words to calm a situation, not incite. Those demonstrators needed God’s Truth preached, not hate.

“Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice. Be kind to one another, tender-hearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.”  (Ephesians 4:31-32)

.

10 thoughts on “Are You Destroying Your Home From Within?

  1. Today I finally broke down and asked the Lord to help me with my sugar addiction. I see how it is affecting my health and my weight, but I am enslaved to the cravings. I cannot do this on my own strength. I am going to rely on God’s Word, His grace and mercy for help and healing. I would greatly appreciate your prayers. Keep these posts coming, speaking the truth is love is what I need.

    Like

    • Oh Wendy, if there is any way I can help, just ask. Only you can know if it’s better to go cold turkey or gradually reduce but either way, recognize that even small steps forward is still going forward – never, ever quit. If you quit cold turkey, be advised that you might incur bad headaches until you wean yourself off sugar. Anything is fine in moderation, so if you can go to fresh fruit or one good quality chocolate savored slowly, stay in control! Remember you are striving for excellence, not perfection and you CAN do this! I’ll be holding you up with prayer and keep me posted. (My book might help you a great deal and it’s a good Christmas present, but if you ever need me, my advice is free! Blessings,

      Like

  2. Well said, Ellie. I was so glad to see the “winds of change” in Ferguson. They are now planning a march to ask their state to enact a law that will obligate police/sheriff, etc. to wear cameras to record their actions. I’m proud of their turn-around. Like you said, I believe most protesters were from out of town. sd

    Like

    • I don’t know which compliment I’m more pleased with: your mention of my hat or the fact that you called me “young” 🙂 Each one was sweet! Thank you! I’m so happy you are following my blog and I look forward to discovering more about you. I’ll be checking out your posts very soon, .because I enjoy finding out more about my followers too. Blessings,

      Liked by 1 person

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

