Concerned About Aging Well? Eat These Foods

My birthday is this week. With age comes wisdom and confidence but sadly in the U.S., age isn’t honored as it is in other countries. I wouldn’t want to be 20 again but I sure don’t enjoy seeing the wrinkles that currently adorn my face. I was concerned about the hot dry climate of Arizona producing wrinkles until we moved to the  frigid, wintry, windy area of Ohio. It’s worse!

“And you have filled me with wrinkles, which is a witness against me: and my leanness rising up in me bears witness to my face. (Job 16:8) NKJ

Does your face represent impatience, worry or peace? To look younger: relax, exercise more, eat nutritious food and place your trust in the Lord.

Less Wrinkly Skin = Less Sugar which is easier said than done. When it’s dreary outside my first inclination is to bake. Instead create hearty soups like vegetable or chicken noodle.

I find it ironic that  glycation, the process of metabolizing sugar in our bloodstream, attaches to proteins to form harmful new molecules is called “advanced glycation end products” or “AGEs” for short.

Try Herbal Teas: Teas wash out toxins from our system and gives a natural glow. I like green tea and often consume flavored herbal teas. I especially enjoy pomegranate, berry, orange spice or acaia berry tea. Each promotes collagen production and circulation.

Increase Turmeric, Curcumin and Cinnamon: Turmeric, found in mustard, is known for its anti-inflammatory properties. Used for centuries in Eastern and Asian cooking, curcumin which can be purchased separately, also helps relieve acne. Sprinkle it over soup, rice, frittatas, egg dishes and I’ve sprinkled each in my coffee which created the smoothest cup I’ve ever consumed.

Probiotic Foods: Attempt to decrease the harmful bacteria in our digestion system by increasing healthy probiotic  bacteria which fight infections and acne in our skin. Garlic, onions, yogurt (containing live cultures, not pasteurized – look at the label)  Remember that healthy bacteria in our colon equals healthy skin.

Probiotics is the good bacteria found in asparagus, sauerkraut, kefir, miso, pickles and cultured buttermilk and it promotes the growth of this healthy bacteria.

Spinach, Kale, Broccoli, Collard and other Greens:  These foods contain zeaxanthin, an antioxidant that evens skin tone and brings out our natural radiance. It’s best to steam these greens to increase nutritional value.

Milled Flaxseed, Avocados,Wheat Germ: Have a dry complexion? The omega 3’s in these are beneficial for retaining youthful skin. All contain ceramides, a fat molecule that locks in moisture and promotes a natural glow.

Combining Vitamin A and C foods restores collagen and elasticity.

Red Meat: Surprised? Red meat is not the enemy as claimed by some false diet gurus! Red meat contains alpha lipoic acid, another antioxidant that promotes healthy collagen and consuming it is one of the few ways to acquire vitamin B12. This vitamin will revitalize energy levels and brain function. It contains nutrients which effectively calm the body, thereby producing less skin breakouts.

Choose 3 – 6 ounces occasionally of lean red meat like “loin”, “round” or London Broil.

Pomegranate Juice, Blueberries, Cranberries and Red Wine contains antioxidants to combat free-radical damage and pomegranates are three times the most potent.

Tuna, Sardines, Oysters, Cod: Even though they sometimes aren’t the most popular fish, they contain antioxidant-protecting selenium, along with omega-3 fatty acids to prevent skin redness and irritation.

Oysters and shrimp are rich sources of zinc which prevents breakouts and restores clear skin. Zinc is also microbial; therefore will protect against illnesses when fighting a cold or flu.

With all this said, remember God cares more about our soul than our outer shell! True beauty comes from within.

14 thoughts on “Concerned About Aging Well? Eat These Foods

  1. Happy birthday!
    Thanks for the list. Over the years we have been incorporating more and more natural things into our diet, this list will be a good supplement to what we are trying to accomplish.
    Blessings~

    Like

      • You are very welcome, Ellie.
        I can’t eat nuts or grains due to my surgery, however, I love fruits and vegetables. Growing up, all I ever ate was what we grew and occasionally some fish my Dad would catch.
        Life, work, etc got in the way of healthy eating for way too long! We’re trying to make our way back to it.
        Blessings~

        Like

  2. Yes, wisdom definitely comes with age. Understanding of how body and mind works also comes with experience and age. You have great advise for everybody, I hope they follow it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Inese. We have much in common. As I read in your excellent post this morning, you indicated that your word is your bond. So I mine. I couldn’t live with myself if I spewed out fad diets and simply tried to make money on another’s ignorance.I practice what I preach too and I follow God’s Word stating that any food is fine in moderation – unless we’re allergic to it of course. Appreciate you, 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: Share the Love ~ April – Gail Johnson

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

