So Many Diets – So Little Truth!

“But you are not controlled by your sinful nature. You are controlled by the Spirit if you have the Spirit of God living in you.” (Romans 8:9a)

LTSTEBC high resolution cover for TwitterWould you trust a pastor who only consulted outside sources for Biblical Truth?  What if his sermons professed “truth” using his horoscope, a crystal ball, Nostradamus or the New York Times? What if he counseled you in his office using People magazine? Would you trust and follow what he preached? Basically he’s feeding you cornflakes; food with little fiber or substance.

Traveling extensively, my husband and I have sat in many a church pew and heard powerful sermons. However, we have also seen ministers never open the Bible or reference Scripture.  One sermon consisted of the man’s entire vacation, yippie, how motivating. Our young people are floundering, thirsting for clear Biblical direction and they don’t hear Truth from the pulpit! Where can they go for Spiritual Truth? Usually they give up, discouraged; believing the Bible is simply not relevant to their lifestyle.

Therefore I trust you’ll understand my frustration when I hear Christians announce triumphantly at the beginning of each year that they are trying the Atkins, Paleo, carb-free, fat-free, grapefruit or some other gimmicky diet before they ask me for direction, a certified nutritional counselor who worked alongside primary care physicians.

I can’t tell you how many times, I’ve heard, “I don’t understand why I can’t stay on a diet?!”  as they flit from one flawed diet plan to another. There’s a specific reason and it’s either a mental, spiritual or Spiritual one. “Life’s Too Short to Eat Bad Cheese . . .”  gets to that source.

Desperate people spend hundreds of dollars on special boxed-foods, caloric formulas, videos and even bariatric surgery before they ask me for advice. (My average patient attempted six different plans before they came into my office.)  I’ve counseled all types in my twenty-plus years as a healthcare practitioner.  One truth I’ve always stressed is: Health begins from the inside out! Get to the heart of the “why” and improvement begins.

New Creations Ministries is just that; my ministry. I’m happy to help anyone who has questions for free, but sadly, I am not omnipresent. So using clearly defined illustrations and applications, I created a practical, motivational guide urging all who desire true health to become their most vibrant self . . . and it’s less expensive than a doctor’s visit!

“Life’s Too Short to Eat Bad Cheese . . .” (Nutritional and Life Lessons God Teaches Us) is printed in different languages. It contains a study guide and is available through Amazon.com, Barnes and Noble, (or Google it.) An e-book only $7 and the 234 page print version is only $14.95.

LTSTEBC addresses nutritional and life situations we all encounter. Using Biblical principles you’ll finally understand the true Joy of living a healthy, vibrant lifestyle. Health is significantly more important than  the number on the scale.

Our Heavenly Father doesn’t want his children to suffer any more than we want ours to. Why survive on rice cakes with no nutritional purpose? Eat for nutrients, not for grams and caloric formulas. And learn what that means to you in relative terms!

Please don’t settle for second best and present that self to God. You’re better than that! God wants us to enjoy His Bounty but not make food our god. “Their destiny is destruction, their god is their stomach, and their glory is in their shame. Their mind is set on earthly things.”  (Philippians 3:19) 

Eat nutritionally sound. We wouldn’t throw trash on the floor of the Holy Temple in Jerusalem so why do we trash our bodily temple?

 

9 thoughts on “So Many Diets – So Little Truth!

    • Hahaha, thanks D.G – well I don’t preeeeaaaacch, 🙂 but I do speak at LTSTEBC Conferences to women’s groups. (I’m a big ham as you can probably guess.) I really do enjoy motivating others with sensible mental, spiritual and physical applications/ illustrations during my nutritional seminars. Anyone need an amusing speaker? 🙂

      Hey P.S. Gosh, we have so much snow here, guess you’ll have to stay an extra week in Scottsdale!!! Aaaah, gee whiz . . . the agony and sacrifice, sigh.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sure Robert, I appreciate your flowery, beautiful vision. It sounds so lovely, can’t wait. 🙂 I’ll do that right after I put on three levels of warm clothes plus boots, gloves, hat, scarf and shovel off the back walkway to walk the dogs in the windy,clinging snow, towel off the pups after they’re caked with flakes which drip on my freshly clean kitchen floor (but first must catch them after they get hyped up after their brisk encounter in snow) wipe up my kitchen floor dripping from snow, remove all my snowy cold outer coats, scarf, wet boots, gloves and hat, and put on the tea pot for that calming cup of herbal tea, only to discover my adorable “Mr. No-No” is at the door again – he forgot to do his second business. Great suggestion though, ❤ Love you too, thanks for the levity. (It's really not that bad, 🙂 )

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The “gimmicks” are so tempting. I continue to control myself enough not to do them, but it’s still tempting. Want to Lose 20 pounds in a weekend? Of course I want to; that’s 80 pounds in a month!!
    Non-gimmick asks, “Want to lose 2 pounds a week?” Somehow doesn’t seem as enticing, instead, it feels like work. I’ve gained and lost and regained enough times to know that it does take work, but it’s the right thing to do. One day I’ll have this problem conquered, but I know that I have to include God, patience, and sensibility into the equation. Thanks Ellie for your ministry of truth and sensibility.

    Liked by 1 person

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

