Smarter than God? Seriously?

God knows what’s best for us and desires to keep us from harm. I attempt to do the same with my family which includes our two dogs.

cj-looking-cuterThe other day I tried to explain to “Mr. No No” our new puppy, why chewing on an electrical cord wasn’t such a great idea. I even demonstrated the shaking, pulsating movement of being electrocuted but to no avail. He only cocked his head from side to side, looking at me as if I was crazy. Okay so maybe he’s not that dumb . . .  Anyway, he simply had to trust that I would keep him from harm and protect him.

So in the same way should we trust God.

As a nutritional counselor I seem to constantly be combatting dietary fallacies. For example, I was discussing dietary choices with a lovely gentleman who had recently been diagnosed with a heart condition. I suggested a few low-fat, nutritionally dense foods to build his immune system. This included shrimp. “I can’t eat that” Too much cholesterol!” Sigh. It’s typical of what I hear and read constantly in false diet plans. No eggs, avocados, potatoes, butter . . . you know the ones God made a mistake creating but He didn’t realize it until man pointed it out? (Not that man would ever make a mistake, right Flat-Earther’s?)

I ask, “Would God create a food, tell us everything is acceptable to eat and then change His Mind?” Could God make a mistake? No! I’ve often stated that after researching eggs back in 1992, I came to that same conclusion. Eggs metabolize differently in the body, increasing good cholesterol while decreasing bad LDL. But once again, anything in moderation.  (I’ve written enough about eggs and potatoes over the years. If interested, please use my search engine to read more posts on that subject.)

Consuming shrimp falls within that same concept. Recent studies conducted over a three and nine week shrimp-photoperiod monitored a group of people who consumed 10 ounces of shrimp daily. At the conclusion of the study, the subjects LDL cholesterol level rose slightly but not dangerously at all. What struck them as interesting was that the protective HDL cholesterol rose more while their unhealthy triglyceride levels dropped. Amazing statistics for an “unhealthy” food.

More good news, shrimp contains a unique antioxidant and anti-inflammatory carotenoid nutrient astaxanthin. Translated in dog years, this means it provides substantial protection against heart ailments, nervous disorders, diabetes, colon cancer and muscular illnesses.  A single 4-ounce serving of shrimp contains 1-4 milligrams of astaxanthin.  Limit your shrimp intake to a moderate 6 ounces.

Also among the many vital nutrients found in shrimp are selenium, (a feel-good nutrient) omega 3’s, B3, B6, B-12, E, A, phosphorus, choline, copper, iodine and zinc which are all great for heart health.

This demonstrates once again that God’s Ways trump man’s ways. I don’t know about you but when I uncovered these facts, it only built my Faith that God knows better than us, always has, always will! So I suggest we trust God because no one’s smarter than Him.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” (Isaiah 55:8-9)

15 thoughts on “Smarter than God? Seriously?

  1. I agree – when I became diabetic I had thoughts of no longer eating potatoes, corn, etc…boy was I happy when I found out I can still at potatoes!! Like you said in moderation – since I love my tators I am willing to compromise. My dr told me after years of study they found diabetics were not getting the nutrients found in potatoes. Imagine the money they could save if they truly knew God and His provisions for us. I still struggle at times with eating healthy – time and money is the factor, but I do limit the amount of what I eat if it is processed. My blood sugars have been great and I notice a difference when I eat more of the processed food as compared to healthier foods even fruits or starch veggies. As for the shrimp – well I just don’t like it. I do not like any type of fish. Is there something with just as good nutrients?

    Like

    • Oh Patty I had no idea you were diabetic, so sorry. Thank goodness you had a doctor who kept up with diabetic studies. (I specialized in diabetes patients while working for doctors and we had great success!) Very smart, the potato skin has lots of fiber, sweet potatoes are even better by the way. Fiber is essential, both insoluble and soluble which regulates blood sugar. Foods containing chromium is important too. And no, you don’t need to eat shrimp but tilapia is a sweet fish you might like. Stay healthy my sweet friend!

      Like

      • I always look forward to your blog and helpeful hints. and yes I do like Tilapia along with Flounder. That is about it though. I never cared for sweet potatoes and tried again because I know they are very good for us, but still don’t like it. Last Christmas my dr was very pleased with my A1C and told me to continue what I was doing…I did not have the heart to tell him I over ate on cookies (my vice) ha ha But so far with all the Christmas goodies coming out I did not buy any cookies when I was shopping today!! It is hard when my two stores stock up on German cookies they import in. My last A1C was 5.9 down from 6.2. Wish me luck the next few weeks!! Thanks again for taking care of your readers and keeping us healthy!

        Liked by 2 people

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

