The Benefits of True Health

2 Corinthians 5:17 “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.”

healthy decisions

Health is important, being skinny isn’t! Oh my, did a Nutritional Counselor just say that? Shocking! However I won’t tell you what your “itching ears want to hear”  (2 Timothy 4:3) and  as some false prophets of dietary health profess. True health comes from the inside out. Be mentally, physically and spiritually fit!

Have you ever asked yourself why you really want to be ‘skinny’?

  • Is it because you dislike your appearance and want to look like a supermodel?  (God designed you. If you’re God’s child, you’re beautiful to Him no matter what size you are!)
  • Is it because someone keeps nagging you?  (Strive for health because honoring God is the right thing to do, not what someone else expects it of you.)
  • Is it simply because you’re self-conscious by the looks people give you when you walk by?  (Well, people stare no matter what size you are!)
  • Or is it because you know God expects a disciplined, sincere testimony and you are rebelling against His command of 1 Peter 1:13-16? Jonah also tried to run from God’s commands. (You can’t  hide from God) Eat nutritionally balanced because it’s the right thing to do.

Thin isn’t always healthy. Being FIT is healthy! The ability to climb stairs or play with your children without exertion is healthy! Being mentally balanced and alert is healthy! Exuding a countenance of  JOY is healthy!

I’ve met many who despise their looks and put themselves down. Whereas some, exhibiting the other side of the coin, continually post selfies, seemingly expounding upon, “I’m so beautiful aren’t I . . .  but enough about me, what do you think about my beauty?”  Looks are simply the “luck of the draw” you did nothing to earn it –  true beauty comes from within. Kindness, patience, helpfulness are all attributes to strive for, resulting in true beauty that endures. That’s beauty God recognizes!

Real change must come from a personal desire to succeed and please our Lord. Is that self-destructive addiction too dear to you?

No one has an easy, stress-free road. Life can get discouraging at times. We then fill the empty void with other idols which leads to addiction because it numbs the pain. Food, alcohol, shopping, gambling, drugs or other addictions will never fill the void that is in your soul. Only God can change lives! Will you allow Him to change yours?

After embracing the Christian lifestyle and experiencing what TRUE joy brings, most people have no desire to return to the decadent, self-deprecating days in which they used to live. Granted that pull will always be there; the same enticement a drug addict, alcoholic or smoker encounter as they struggle each day to remain faithful.  God remains faithful. He’ll help you endure.

God doesn’t expect us to be perfect but sometimes we expect it from ourselves. When facing tough times,please don’t give up and exclaim, “Why bother? It’s not worth it!”   Because upon conquering addictions, (that ‘old man’ way of life) you’ll wonder,  “Why didn’t I overcome this sooner?” There is no feeling as victorious as conquering a destructive habit.

We’ll never find that eternally peaceful life in anything this world has to offer.  That’s only found in Christ! Love yourself as God loves you. Realize you have worth simply because you are!

Ephesians 4:24, “Put on your new nature, created to be like God–truly righteous and holy.”

16 thoughts on “The Benefits of True Health

  1. Thank you Keith. So true, health is always more important than weight loss (although I’m sure you realize your mother was simply afraid of losing you, mom’s are like that, 🙂 . I wrote a post about how dieting is like the Westminster Dog show. Since we are beautifully designed by God, unique in every way, we should live up to the individual standards God sets for each of us.

    I appreciate your comment and do hope you’ll return soon. Until then, blessings to you and yours,

    Like

  2. Someone said my tests showed I was prediabetic. So I started eating healthier, lower carbs, leaving out sugar and wheat, etc. I haven’t lost much weight ( maybe 5%) but my morning Bloodsugars have been between 91 and 95 instead of 110 to 120, and I keep in mind that as long as my blood sugar is low it doesn’t really matter as much how much I weigh.

    Like

  3. You sound just like my wife! 🙂 You’re spot-on about the real problem, too.
    Maureen studies health and nutrition avidly. We already switched to a paleo-type lifestyle, but recently, she realized that she had an addiction to flour (bread-pasta) that was tripping her up. She’s now cut it out completely for 8 weeks to break the addiction. (Mine is more sugar). We’ve eliminated almost all processed sugar and bad carbs for over 2 years now. Not only did we lose a healthy amount of weight (and kept it off), we feel so much better with more energy, and we love the food! Our taste buds have come back after not overloading them with sugar.
    Your message is very important. People’s diets are literally making them sick. God made our body to heal itself and be healthy, if we give it a chance. But, as you said, His love is most important. It’s His unconditional love that never leaves us that helps us overcome.
    Blessings to you.

    Like

    • Aah Mel . . . ya had me until you said paleo, 🙂 As a Christian, my ancestors were designed by God not cavemen, haphazardly created by random goo. (Now the Mediterranean Diet, DASH, MIND or Volumetric diets apply Genesis 1:29 and 9:3 which I follow and highly recommend.)

      Other than that you are right on and your wife is a very intelligent woman, listen to her, 🙂 I bet you both feel more energetic and young at heart. What we care about we take care of! Yes, everything we eat affects our health and since He didn’t create robots He gives us the desires of our heart. Personally, I’d rather follow 1 Corinthians 10:23 and honor my Lord as much as I can with the frame He’s given me.

      Sadly many don’t realize the unconditional Love of God and therefore fill their lives with substitutes to mask the loneliness and pain. Thanks Mel, I always appreciate your comments, my best to your wife too, blessings,

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I am curious the differences in Paleo and the others you just described to Mel. I have found that my issues with wheat and sugar keep me basically eating in similar ways to Paleo. Although I refer to it more like “clean” eating with a few grains, yet nothing processed or preserved. And now as I am going through a “change” in my body that comes with aging…I am finding this even more important. Your thoughts?

    Like

    • OH Tamara, thank you so much for this question! I started to answer it and my answer was turning into another blog. Therefore my next post, early next week will address why I believe this is a crazy and to some even a dangerous plan.

      As a Christian, I’d urge you to consume what God advised us to eat: whole grains, fruits, vegetables, lean meats, nuts, seeds and herbs. If one of these has been altered (such as wheat now becoming refined wheat products) then we should realize God gave us common sense. The further the world gets away from God’s original creation, the more the world messes it up. The reason? Second Law of Thermodynamics (the world is deteriorating and breaking down) as well as the “follow the money” mentality (greed) of manufacturers and diet gurus.

      I’m looking forward to writing this post. Thanks for the idea. Continue to eat cleanly, you’re on the right track! Blessings,

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

