Live in the Moment? Really?

rosesThere is a popular expression which encourages us to “Live in the Moment.” At one time even I thought, sure sounds good. Live for today, live like you would die tomorrow! Then I saw what “living in the moment” actually is.

As I saw my mother slip further away in her mind, she began to live in the moment. At first it was the communication “loop.” She mentioned the same thought over and over again. Gradually she lost track of time. I heard repeatedly how she found a $5 bill on the ground just last week, even though I knew it was two years ago. Eventually over time she didn’t recognize her family and forgot any had called or visited previously. Once time passes, so do the memories.

My mother left a strong, independent legacy for me. If I complained she instructed me, “Now say two good things.” She’d never allow me to live in self-pity. If I complained about our material possessions, she’d mention that there were children without (food, shoes, homes) and be content with what we had. I learned to look for the bright side of any situation and took pro-active actions to encourage others because of her positive personality.

Memories have purpose!

Good or bad we never forget our childhood experiences until we suffer from dementia. How would we feel if we didn’t remember the faces of our childhood friends, family vacations, birthday parties or senior prom? That’s what living in the moment means. There is no past. Sure it might be great to cease to remember a painful break-up, failed test or a school humiliation. There have been times life when I simply wanted to crawl into a hole until the pain dissipated. Let time pass.

Is there anything good about bad memories?  Yes, because weren’t they turned into learning experiences? The trials allowed us to discern a faithful relationship, strive for more study discipline and overcome stressful situations. When we know better we do better. That’s only accomplished thru time and experience. God has a purpose for everything He does.

God gave us our memories for a reason. Memories mold, comfort, teach and encourage us. Memories are my most cherished treasure. We either learn from our mistakes and better ourselves or wallow in our misery, holding on to regrets and grudges. Why drag that baggage around for eternity?

God loves us just as we are but please strive to represent Him, building memories of excellence, for this world is NOT our home! Remember it is only what we do for our Lord that matters in life.

What would it feel like to wake up one morning and not remember your past? Not recognize your spouse, children, friends anymore? That’s what living in the moment really means. But your loved ones will remember you well after you are gone. What legacy of memories did you leave them? Leave Godly ones and they will meet you there!

 “For, All people are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field; the grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of the Lord endures forever. And this is the word that was preached to you.”  (1 Peter 1: 24,25)

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Live in the Moment? Really?

  1. Sorry to hear about your mom. Dementia and Alzheimer’s are horrible diseases. My mom had the later. I surely get where you are coming from, yet I feel I need to share what “living in the moment” means for me. It means not living it what once was or never will be…no, not forgetting my past or my memories but not dwelling in the past. God has a glorious plan and if I’m always in the memories of yesterday, I’m not in the present. It also means not being fearful of the future. Of not being so focused on what might be and never materialize over what is happening right now today; the present. If I’m in one or the other too much I miss the opportunities God brings my way today. Keep on keeping on my friend. Love to your blogs.

    Hugs,
    the Purple Princess aka Sandra

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As always you have hit the nail on the head. My father had Parkinsons which took his ability to communicate but his memory, until the very end, was intact. All these dementia trials are horrible for the person as well as for the family. Best to you and yours, and blessings from our Lord.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. An excellent explanation and encouraging message as always, However, you explained “living in the moment” in one sentence. It was something like: wallow in our misery … carry this baggage for the rest of our lives. We accept that the painful event happened, acknowledge our feelings of anger, fear, etc., release the pain and move forward. The memory is still there, but it doesn’t weigh us down anymore. We are no longer carrying an old situation around like a backpack. That is living in the moment.

    Author of “Echoes of Your Choices”

    Like

  4. I am so sorry about your mom. It ha opened to my mother-in-law as well. I see true living is when I walk in what God wants of me. When I just do what I want I feel miserable and bored.

    Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

