A Tribute to a Remarkable Woman: My Mom

My mother went to be with the Lord last Saturday. She will be greatly missed but never forgotten. Having  a kind heart, she thought of others before herself. Even in death she donated her body to science. As a remarkable woman, she taught her children the value of many things, not the least among them were courage, resolve and integrity.1949 ~ Mom about age 20

When I was seven, our family went to the fair. I walked alone with my brother and watched as he played carnival games. The attendant wondered why I wasn’t playing. “I have no money,” I said but promised to come back. As we approached mom and dad, I told them what I had vowed. My father was furious because we were dirt poor farmers and even a quarter was a lot of money. But my mom knew I had given my word. “A person’s word is their bond,” she protested. So we promptly went back, I gave the man a quarter and quickly lost it on a stupid game. But the lesson I learned stayed with me. She taught me integrity. When one says they’re going to do something, follow through.

In life, she overcame many personal challenges. She was born in Brooklyn, NY, yet never saw the top of the Empire State Building. She had a fear of heights. That fear was rectified when she earned her pilot’s license. In 1976 she viewed that top of the Empire State Building as she piloted her grandchildren and me to JFK to reconnect  with my husband in Germany. “Can’t means won’t try!” still resounds in my memory!

My mom grew up as the daughter and granddaughter of ministers dating back to Jonathan Edwards. But when she married, she converted to my father’s religion. That violent, abusive man wouldn’t know love/charity if it bit him. She stayed for us but when I was 13 he deserted the family. It was the only good gift he ever gave. Mom was never a quitter. Adjusting to her circumstances, she taught us to make the best of ours. My brother and two sisters are all successful because of this determined, faithful, Godly mother.

Our mother worked three jobs to keep us together and off welfare. I resented that at the time; feeling abandoned once again. I didn’t know until much later why she did it; she and her siblings were separated after her father died. Families stayed together! With determination and a knack for turning challenges into opportunities, three jobs became one when she eventually became a Broker/Realtor and practically owned that small town. She patiently took challenges one step at a time.

When asked why God allows such horrible events to happen to the innocent, it concerns me. Why not us? God didn’t even spare His own Son. Jesus endured pain, betrayal, heartache and everything we experience on Earth to be a Savior for us. If our father hadn’t abandoned us, mom wouldn’t have come back to her Christian roots and we wouldn’t have been saved. Lastly, we can either endure/overcome trials, crumble or develop a sense of humor. (Boy could our mom tell a joke! In fact she wore an Energizer Bunny costume for a variety show.) I prefer humor.

My mother is at peace now after facing one challenge she couldn’t conquer, dementia. But I rejoice that she is having the best reunion with the saints in Heaven! And when I see her again, it’ll be as the young beautiful spirit she once was. God is Good.

“Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come.”  (Proverbs 31:25)

39 thoughts on “A Tribute to a Remarkable Woman: My Mom

  1. Ellie, May the Lord’s hand press upon each heart that sorrows, soothing them with His peace. Dementia is an ugly part of this world, but holds no power in heaven. I love your mom, she inspires me through the eyes of her loving daughter.

    Godspeed, till you meet again.

    ❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Ellie, what a most beautiful tribute to an almost iconic woman. It’s no surprise where you get your strength and beauty from. I am so deeply sorry for your loss, but comforted to know all the love you can keep in your heart for until you meet again. Sending you big hugs my friend. xoxoxo ❤ ❤

    Like

  3. My condolences for your loss, and I echo what the others have said. Your mother must’ve been an amazing woman.
    Oceans of love, blessings, and peace to you and family during this time.

    Like

  4. I am so sorry for your loss,Ellie. I see that you have inherited the sparkle in your lovely mother’s eyes. She was a remarkable woman – the kind of woman readers fall in love with in novels about strong women. May these days, weeks and month bring you peace and comforting memories. Warm Hugs. ❤

    Like

  5. Ellie, as I read your tribute to your mother I could not help but relate it to my first husband who was similar to your father. When he left us, it really was for the best due to his abuse and cruelty. Your mother was an amazing woman and I have a lot of respect for her. As a former single mother, I know firsthand how God heals, protects and honors His promise to be a father to the fatherless. Your mom not only survived, she overcame and triumphed! And what an impact she had on your lives. Hugs to you as your grieve her loss and praise to God for His faithfulness and love.

    Like

    • So true Wendy, we can let circumstances control us and get us down or we can take control and become victorious through it. Even though my early life was horrific and traumatizing, by watching my mother’s resolve, it showed me how to become strong and independent. In the same way, let nothing stand between you and your goal either! I am so grateful to God for our ever blossoming friendship. Hugs and blessings back,

      Like

  6. I am sorry for your loss Ellie – we know where she stands, in the presence of our Lord, singing and praising His name with her memory restored to her, but at the same time I know your grief at the separation of someone you love and admire. Praise God the separation is temporary and you can rejoice in being raised by such a lovely woman. Her life continues to shine her beautiful daughter – you! {{hugs}}

    Like

  7. I am so sorry for your huge loss. I cannot imagine a better tribute to a mother than you have written. It is so sad, but you are writing a bright story of her life. Very touching.

    Like

  8. I should have read this blog before the last one. I didn’t realize your mom’s passing was so new. Sorry my friend. Losing one’s mom is always a hard sad time. As I read your blog and the comments of those who knew her, I wish I had met her. Know you are in my prayers. Hugs, Sandra

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I just read about your mother’s “home going”. A beautifully written tribute to a lovely lady! How I rejoice with you in the knowledge she is well and you will see her again one day! Prayers for you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

