Who then becomes the “Biggest Loser?”

When the popular weight loss reality show, The Biggest Loser premiered six years ago, my husband and I watched advertised previews. My hubby turned to me and asked, “It can’t be good for the body to lose that quickly, can it?” Even he recognized that instant gratification isn’t good for our overall health. How right he was.

“For while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come.” (1 Timothy 4:8) 

Yesterday all  the morning programs, as well as the internet,  announced with dismay that contestants on The Biggest Loser were gaining weight back and currently had to fight like crazy to maintain their ever-growing physique. Oh dear, the commentators lamented, what went wrong?imagesCA2E4O1C

Nothing that wasn’t normal physiology. God created this fabulously designed machine which protects us against our own foolish desires. He knows what is best for us and yet we fail to yield to it, insisting on our own path. We sometimes lust for the world’s praise, not God’s. God definitely wants our bodily temple healthy and that includes the entire mental, physical and spiritual package.

People are so desperate to lose weight for the world’s idea of beauty that they will try anything. Years ago Rachel Ray, the famous chef and television talk show host wanted to see exactly how desperate dieters can be.  She created a false diet program which was advertised as:

“Volunteers needed to test new diet program. Some foods ae toxic and will cause paralysis and blindness.”

Now you’re probably laughing thinking, who in their right mind would sign up for something like this? Well sadly over 1400 people did! Are we an out of control narcissistic society or what???

The reason the contestants gained weight back is because the body is very physiologically possessive. It will fight to preserve itself in any way it can for it wants to live! (It’s one reason why children can survive after being underwater twenty minutes or longer.)

In the case of The Biggest Loser, the body was  unnaturally stressed to its breaking point in order to create maximum weight loss. It was forced to do an activity that was against normalcy. (And remember stress can cause all types of illnesses in the long-term.) After being released from the rigors of that program, the mind demanded to take control of its own body again. That meant getting back to “normal,” which by now was all messed up.

After the contestants had stressed and manipulated their metabolism to reach their goal weight, the real challenge began. Keeping it off! The brain took over and slowed its metabolism for protection. In other words, it believed itself to be ill and wanted to survive. Therefore it hung on to every ounce of food it could while slowing its metabolism. One should always remember he can’t outsmart a fat cell or God’s physiology.

“I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.”  (Psalm 139: 14a)

I feel so bad for these contestants because it will be a very long time before their metabolism will return to normal. It’s a tough way to learn patience. Never fear however, for if you lose weight slowly and sensibly (1-3 pounds a week) you’ll keep it off for God wants you healthy!

23 thoughts on “Who then becomes the “Biggest Loser?”

  1. Thank you for spreading the word. I heard that program too. When I was trying to lose weight several years ago my doctor did not want me to lose more then 5 lb each month. I’m glad she was insistent. After a few years I began gaining but have not and will not reach my old “fat weight” because she kept me on a reasonable weight loss program. sd

    Like

    • It must have felt like an eternity to hear 5 pounds per month, nevertheless, you’ve kept it off right? It’s normal for a person to fluctuate 5 pounds. I seem to have a winter weight/summer weight but if I begin to gain I always cut down immediately. Even my patients who were over 500 pounds were only 5 lbs. overweight at one time, so nipping it in the bud is important. Thank you for commenting, blessings back, 🙂

      Like

  2. Powerful post Ellie. It’s common sense that we should lose weight naturally, slowly, so the body adjusts to its healthier life style. Yes, losing weight is a lifestyle that we grow into and get used to living that way. Unfortunately people are easily tempted by ‘miracle weightloss’ methods. What you said is the truth about our metabolism. And I didn’t hear that most of the contestants were gaining weight back, but it doesn’t surprise me given the way they lost it. They worked out like maniacs all day in a gym. Did they really think they could maintain those workouts the rest of their lives? I’ll be sharing around this post. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aloha beautiful!

    I just wanted to stop by and let you know that I enjoyed reading your post. Thank you for sharing and it is very interesting to see it from this angle.

    I started my blog about a month ago and am still kind of new to the blogger world but I am loving to ‘meet’ so many inspiring people. I am blogging about the things I am passionate about beauty, health, fitness and traveling.

    I just posted about how I lost 60lbs and became stronger, healthier and more confident during my journey.

    I would love for you to check it out and follow my blog if you are interested 🙂

    https://claudiamariefit.com/2016/05/06/how-i-lost-60lbs-part-i-of-my-journey-to-healthy-strong-confident/

    Have a great weekend.

    Aloha from Hawai’i

    xx

    Like

    • Claudia, (this first went into my spam file, way to go WordPress) I linked and found your blog and you are an amazing determined young woman! Congratulations on your sensible attitude for overcoming challenges and becoming fir and healthier, you are truly an inspiration. Well done and please come back because I enjoy your input. Blessings,

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Ellie,

        oh I wonder what made my message go into your spam file but I am glad you checked and replied in such a kind way.
        Thank you for your kind words. I appreciate this encouragement a lot.

        I will def come back to your page for some more inspiration.

        Have a wonderful day!

        Blessings to you!

        Like

      • That was a mystery to me too Claudia. Especially since it indicated you were part of the WordPress family. When I clicked onto your site, first I was amazed that you lost so much weight and then so proud of you that you lost it in a sensible, patient and thoughtfully researched way. Well done and remain healthy my new friend!

        Like

  4. Tough subject. Advertising is not honest and such reality shows are crime because they push people into a wrong direction. Is there anything that can help in high grade obesity? Surgical removal most likely. I feel sorry for people who have to suffer because the greed of food producing industry has been taking advantage of them. Most likely, one could benefit by starting to straighten out their metabolism, I mean not only metabolism in the digestive tract, but cell metabolism and effects on the brain. It is proven that the gut-brain pathways should be paid a lot of attention. The brain-gut connection is an important factor. Human body is much more complex than some quick profit takers would think. There are so many still unexplored or not understood mechanisms. Why everything has to be turned into a show instead of just simply helping people?

    Like

    • Hi Inese, thank you for this comment. You are right, greed is rampant in this world and “everyone did what was right in their own eyes.” (Judges 21:24) I don’t know why God puts up with us! There definitely is a brain connection to why we eat too.

      I’ve counseled those who have had stomach stapling & surgery and unless once again, they get to the route of why they overeat in the first place, they are only masking the problem. No “formula diet can help them!

      They’ve told me how hard it is to watch others consume an entire steak while they can only consume 2 ounces at every meal. And if they eat for emotional reasons they must become aware before they can get better. That’s why I, as a counselor, can help. Steer them into becoming a new creation. Remember only God can change hearts and minds. and I write about that and the practical in my book “Life’s too short to eat bad cheese . . .” (Nutritional and life lessons God teaches us)

      Sorry to go on, but love the way you think lady, 🙂 Appreciate you so much, blessings

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

