Uncaging the Inner Sloth

“In the house of the wise are stores of choice food and oil, but the foolish man devours all he has”  (Proverbs 20:21) 

Did all you do this winter is eat, eat, eat? Feeling like a caged sloth who consumed his way through his fully stocked pantry? Did yth1EP0G3CVour get up and go, get up and went?

We are emerging from the throes of winter and approaching the warmer months. Finally!!! This means we want to shape up and look our best! Choosing nutritious foods will always assist with healthier weight loss. That along with exercise is certainly one way to jump-start your metabolism.

These aren’t miracle cures but are common sense suggestions when selecting metabolic-boosting foods:

Drink ice-cold water:  This works because metabolism burns a few calories (8 calories per glass) in order to restore normal temperature.

Similarly in small ways spicy foods stimulate circulation, raising body temperature which also jump-starts our metabolism:

  1. Wasabi – excellent in Asian foods, fish, deviled eggs, salad dressing, steak sauce, as a coating to bread crumbs for chicken, with yogurt as a spread on vegetables.
  2. Horseradish:  Definitely make your own cocktail sauce with ketchup with hot horseradish to taste or add it to mustard.
  3. Tabasco: Add to eggs, salad dressings,  sauces, chili, even pasta sauces.
  4. Chili peppers: Add to Chili and any other Asian & Mexican recipe.
  5. Habanero  and jalapeno (caution: extremely hot, use protective gloves when handling)
  6. Cayenne pepper: great for Cajun, Creole and chocolate recipes. (It’s been prescribed to help arthritis pain too.)
  7. Hot Salsa – and one doesn’t have to have with fattening tortilla chips.  Try spreading over chicken or a mild white fish such as swai, tilapia or in rice while it’s cooking for a flavorful meal.
  8. Chipolte seasonings:  Try creating a potato medley with red & green peppers, onions, mushrooms and corn. Add a small amount of olive oil to a mixing bowl, combine the veggies, add the seasoning to adhere and grill. So easy!
  9. Ginger – there are some great spicy ginger ales available that really tingle the taste buds!
  10. Other foods found to boost metabolism include  turmeric, cinnamon, rosemary, oregano, and paprika.

Capsaicin, the ingredient in red cayenne pepper is an antioxidant, thus it benefits our natural immune system.  Studies have also shown that this stimulates brain activity, releasing serotonin which is a feel-good neurotransmitter, producing feelings of contentment.

Red peppers contain a great deal of vitamin C, (2 1/2 x’s  per oz. than oranges) which not only boosts the immune system but helps restore collagen to the skin. Also high in Vitamin A, iron and potassium.

Here’s another benefit to hot spicy foods:  anything that makes your nose run, also opens up the lungs. If you’re coming down with a summer cold, try adding hot pepper (and garlic) to your chicken soup for quick recovery.

Caution:  If a little is good, more doesn’t necessarily mean better. In fact, too much might harm the gallbladder and taste buds! Consume spicy foods using common sense and in moderation.  (Balance again.)

I’ve found if I use spices, I’ll need less butter, oil or salt to season food.

In the summer, consume smaller meals and foods with a higher water content like fruits, vegetables or fish to create less strain on digestion.

It’s fine to care about your physical body – God requires it, but care about your soul even more! In this growing hedonistic world of beauty and “selfies” there needs to be a balance.

3 John 1:2 “Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, as it goes well with your soul.” 

15 thoughts on “Uncaging the Inner Sloth

    • Poor you, I know you there’s such a challenge to GERD and you must constantly watch and monitor what you eat. Everyone’s chemical make-up is different so I’d advise you to keep a food diary but you probably do that already. Then you can add or eliminate foods as you see what triggers GERD. Does cinnamon affect you? If okay, try a baked cinnamon apple or pear. . I realize even citrus must be controlled.

      Of course always eat lean protein like fish and chicken and good whole grains like sweet potatoes, oats, quinoa, lentils, pea soup, etc. Not sure I’ve helped but it’s a start my friend. If I come across any new research I’ll let you know. Blessings,

      Like

  1. Love the lowdown here Ellie. Wonderful ideas here. Gratefully, I eat healthfully all the time. The menopause syndrome was the only thing unbalancing my scales, but I fought back with tweaking the carb intake that previously wasn’t a problem staying within a good caloric intake daily.
    Thanks for the tip on adding a hot pepper for summer colds.
    If we could all learn to eat healthy all the time then we wouldn’t have to make ‘mad dashes’ to fight off winter weight come every spring/summer. It takes great discipline. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      • Lol Ellie, you made me laugh. It’s funny you compared me to Sally. She’s a dear friend and we’re always commenting to one another about similar situations and experiences we’ve had in life.
        I am blessed with high energy. And as for my PH, I keep a close eye on it. It had moved a notch toward the acidic side which I noticed last week, but I’ve corrected it already. My weakness is only I am not much of a fruit eater. I eat to live, not live to eat. Funny how our systems change through the decades. 🙂 xo

        Like

      • I’m sure the stress you have been under has contributed to your higher acidic pH. I’m sure you are exercising, eating well and taking comforting massages and fragrant chamomile, lavender baths to offset that. We continue to pray for your husband’s recovery, please let us know from time to time. Blessings back (Laughter IS great medicine by the way! 🙂 )

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Ellie. We always have to have a good laugh. And I’m doing my best to keep my engine running. Hubby has had 3 great days in a row. I will be updating later this week. For the moment I don’t want to jinx anything by saying anything to soon, lol. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    • You are absolutely right Albert. We each are uniquely designed by God with an individual DNA and that affects metabolism. Ice water changes only happen in a small way when ice water increases inside body temperature to reach normalcy. (Exercise is always more efficient.) Thanks so much for your comment, I so hope you’ll do so often! Blessings,

      Like

    • Since we have moved from Arizona to NE Ohio, we have been swamped with responsibilities. I haven’t posted as much but I’ve never missed a week in 4 1/2 years now. (That gets to be a goal doesn’t it?) Thanks for missing me. I’d place you in my email follow requests but presently WordPress changed their system and is sending me now over 50 (!) other followers thru email. I too miss hearing from all those I admire like yours!!! Blessings and will try not to be a stranger again,

      Liked by 2 people

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

