When Opinions From Others Matter

thTCNBJAN3Some people radiate a confidence that epitomizes success. But if God isn’t glorified through it, once again, it’s off-balance.

“For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.”   (Galatians 1:10)

If one believes they’ve accomplished each achievement by themselves, they become King Nebuchadnezzar (Daniel 4:30) who gazed over his kingdom, extolling, “Look at all I’ve done. Aren’t I Mr. Wonderful?!” Wrong, what ingratitude! God alone is the Giver of ALL. Not giving God the Glory for their successes, makes all our worldly accomplishments wither like burnt grass. Let’s try not to believe our own publicity.

On the other hand, being a counselor, most come to me epitomizing a self-conscious, worthless, defeated spirit. After all, others have taunted those faults in their face so it must be true. Must I remind you: God doesn’t make junk?! You have value because God created you. You are children of the King, therefore royalty.

Why do we allow other people’s opinions to matter so much? When someone criticizes or compliments, consider what motivates them. Are their words Scripturally sound? Flattery or Truth? Is someone concerned about our best interests or are they simply spiteful, jealous or insecure themselves? Consider the source.

Ultimately, it’s only God’s opinion that matters. God’s Word restores Power! (1 John 4:4)  It’s our choice to believe Truth or the lies of the devil who uses others to whisper in our ears that we are unloved, failures, trash.  Satan wants to drag us into his pit. God tells us we should remain confident, strong, withstanding all obstacles through Him who gives us strength. (Philippians 4:13.)  Choose wisely.

Counseling is unique. Different personalities require different approaches. We choose what we believe about ourselves. Perception becomes reality. Life has many challenges and overcoming adversity makes us stronger! Personally I emerged from the most horrific childhood imaginable but I don’t live there anymore. “But forgetting what is behind . . .” (Philippians 3: 13-14) God has restored me. I choose a joyful life and I want that for you! Don’t allow the opinions of others hold you back.

I followed many destructive paths searching for worth and love before becoming a New Creation in Christ. A “people-pleaser,” I finally understood that I could never make everyone happy. Never be good enough. It was the old story of the boy, the old man and the donkey. In short, no matter who rode the donkey, someone criticized the decision. No one was happy.

Become a New Creation for the right reasons. Healthier living pleases God. Stop self-destructing! One wouldn’t throw trash on the floor of the Holy Temple in Jerusalem, so why trash our personal temple of the Holy Spirit? What we treasure we take care of.

Have you said, “Then who cares? Forget them, I’ll do what I want!”  (Judges 21:25) Self-destruction always occurs for underlying emotional reasons: unworthiness, anger, attention, loneliness or whatever produces mental, physical and spiritual demolition. Do what God wants.

Others try and please in an attempt to appease others. If I (lose weight, quit drugs or smoking) then they’ll be happy and stop nagging. But since one isn’t doing so for the right reasons, failure results. God wants you healthy.

Some are insecure, seeking validation/acceptance/praise from others. Like “Oh you’re so beautiful” selfies. Or they’ll try some foolish activity like drugs hoping to win friends. That’s traveling down a dangerous path.

Your Christian life represents Jesus. His opinion matters. Strive for excellence, He’ll be well-pleased and THAT matters!

5 thoughts on “When Opinions From Others Matter

  1. This may be my favorite post to date. Much needed and appreciated. Gotta watch the pride and also learn to take better care of myself. Thanks so much!

    Like

  2. Ellie but a beautiful and inspiring post. Your words are truth and encouragement. Much of my writing is about overcoming low self esteem, and issues relating to a crappy childhood. I would never have thought that you were also a victim of a terrible childhood. Once again, kindred spirits. We are both blessed to have lived through and learned self acceptance and move on without bitter hearts. ❤ 🙂

    Like

    • Yes Debby, as I have read your words over many months I have felt the same about being kindred spirits. We are both survivors, having overcome tough challenges which have made us stronger and neither one of us live in the past (although it has affected our thoughts.)

      As a counselor I rarely bring up my past in front of others because who wants to hear a ” can you top this” reply. I confided my past to a ‘friend’ once and she avoided me from then on. It was unfortunately like becoming a victim again. Why do we as women do that sometimes? It’s rare to find trusting friends like my ones (you, Carol, Mary, Audria Wendy, and so many others!) who follow my blog. I am very blessed! Thank you for all you have done to publicize my posts, ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re so right Ellie, I used writing all my life to deal with my inner demons. Nobody wants to hear other people’s troubles, except for in a book, lol. And if you felt you could confide in someone who dissed you, then you learned gracefully that they weren’t really a friend. They did you a favour. 🙂
        Always a pleasure to share your wisdoms. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

