“Your money or your life?”

thQ1Z7QCY4Believe it or not, if I ask a patient if they want to get well, sometimes they look at me as if I’ve lost my mind. “Of course,” they say.  But do they really?

Remember this famous skit from the old Jack Benny Show?

As Jack Benny is strolling down the street, a robber approaches him and demands, “Your money or your life!!!” As his character was known for being extremely stingy, he seems to ponder this a little too long. The robber finally in frustration asks, “Well???” Whereas Jack Benny responds, “I’m thinking, I’m thinking!’

He loved money more than life itself.

Nutritionally, many are in that same mindset today. They love certain foods more than life itself.

“When Jesus saw him lying there and learned that he had been in this condition for a long time, he asked him, “Do you want to get well?”   (John 5:6)

I don’t know what type of illness the man at the pool had but he immediately listened to our Lord and obeyed Jesus’s command.  His Faith saved him. What if he hadn’t listened? He’d remain an invalid forever and waste away.

I have counseled many who were desperately ill, facing debilitating illnesses like diabetes, heart disease and cancers.  They risked surgery, amputation and even death if they didn’t change their eating habits.

“Do you want to get well?” I asked. All told me they did.  But some wouldn’t take that step of faith to believe what I told them would make them healthier. Some wouldn’t even do it for their children’s sake!

The pleasure of food was their god. How else could you explain the reason why some people facing a deathly illnesses would continue to consume the very items that were stealing their life blood? Chemically enticing food was their master, not God.

Do you love donuts more than the Lord?  Do you crave potato chips more than Christ? If I asked if you if you could trade grilled chicken garden salad w/ vinaigrette dressings for cheeseburgers and fries at lunch, would you? Or would you go on as you always have? “As it was in the days of Noah . . .” (Matthew 24:37)  A warning was not heeded because no one believes destruction will happen to him . . .  until it does.

As you look upon that overly processed selection, I want you to ponder two points:

1. “Your money or your life?” Is this huge portion of decadent, fattening food worth your health?  Worth the heartache facing your loved ones when you become incapacitated? You make the call.

One mustn’t necessarily give up everything tasty to get healthy. Anything’s fine in moderation.  1 Corinthians 10:23 attests to that fact.  But if a temptation is a stumbling block, for heaven’s sake, flee from it! (2 Timothy 2:22)

2. Think before you eat: Do I love that food item more than our Lord Himself?” Is gluttony now my god? If it is, visualize this: Jesus hanging on a cross with a slip of paper with a list of sins behind his nail-driven hands. All sins are the same in God’s Eyes, which means that gluttony is the same as murder. (And you’re destroying yourself.)

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.'”  (Mark 12:30)

If you’re an addict, ask yourself why?! Educate, analyze and recognize triggers when loss of control occurs and begin the arduous journey back to health step by step. Everyone rejoices when someone rises out of a pit into the light. If it’s you, start climbing.

8 thoughts on ““Your money or your life?”

  1. Excellent! I really like the connection to life and money. Life is our core and money, just a means to an end. Like you stated, the money could pay for our very end! I’m printing this out for a loved one that is addicted. Perhaps it will touch a nerve. All the best! Victoria

    Like

    • Victoria you made my day, thank you! My mission in doing this blog is to inspire others to offer their best self to our Lord. He gave all for us but we seem to give him so little. I’ll be praying for an open heart and mind in you friend to listen. There is so much bounty but just like Eve we seem to want what we shouldn’t have, blessings,

      Like

  2. I used to think about how I could eat whatever I wanted and still lose weight. I would at times lose weight and even got to goal a couple of times but then would put it back on. I realised I was constantly surrendering TO food instead of it being that I need to be plain and simply surrendering food. I come often and read your posting because they really are full of good wise words!

    Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

