Losing out – lessons learned from a Lhasa

“O Lord, you are so good, so ready to forgive, so full of unfailing love for all who ask for your help.” (Psalm 86:5)

Ever see the movie Gremlins? Our little Lhasa acts similarly to the little gremlins in the movie of the same name. Never. Ever. Get. Her. Wet!  After a bath or after going outside in a rain storm, she’ll run around the house like a crazy Banshee.  Who knows why she finds that exhilarating – but she does. Our new home has a room division which makes a perfect circular NASCAR track for her to run around.Jewel051208

Well, a few months ago, after walking her outside during yet another wet, dreary evening in northern Ohio, she began to run around her favorite race track yet again. All of a sudden from the other side of the wall, we heard a tremendous yelp. Immediately she comes limping into the living room with her left hind foot elevated. We felt around and it didn’t seem like she broke or dislocated her hip and she wasn’t whimpering. We had to endure a long evening before we could see our veterinarian.

Doesn’t it break your heart when you see the innocent suffer? Our vet recommended three options and we decided on rest, medication and a follow-up visit in a month first rather than an operation. We felt restricting her to a cage for six weeks would be worse than an uncertain outcome. She’d be so miserable.

And so began the month-long routine of resorting to camouflaging anti-inflammatory medication within a treat to give her medication. Sometimes it worked, other times she ran and hid. (It was a long recovery but I’m happy to report my little walking buddy is better now.)

One afternoon, soon after she was off all her required medication, I was creating a recipe for a dinner party and had a smidgen of leftover cheese. I called for our little Lhasa to come into the kitchen. She assumed the worse and refused to answer my call. When I searched for her, I found her hiding under the bed. It reminded me of God calling for Adam and Eve for fellowship after they disobeyed by partaking of the fruit of the Tree of Knowledge. Adam and Eve were afraid to face God. I knew where she was, but she afraid to face me too.

So like human nature.  Sometimes we miss out as well. It’s not fun to be out of our Master’s Will. Question: Are you?

This time of year is full of culinary  temptations. Do you hide food from others and sneakily consume it on the side so no one knows? Did you consume too much food and drink at the party last night? Are you ashamed of your lack of control? Rather than confess our overindulgence (gluttony) as sin, we also hide from God for fear of being disciplined.

God only wants our best but when He calls to us, do we assume the worst? My Lhasa had begun to believe that when she heard my call that it was only for more nasty tasting medication. So instead, she missed out on a treat that day.

“Can anything ever separate us from Christ’s love? Does it mean he no longer loves us if we have trouble or calamity, or are persecuted, or hungry, or destitute, or in danger, or threatened with death?”  (Romans 8:35) 

Having fellowship with God is such a treat, why would we ever want to miss out? Even tribulation has a reward if we find comfort and forgiveness in our Father’s Arms.

24 thoughts on “Losing out – lessons learned from a Lhasa

    • She is Gail, but I hold my breath every time she gets wet even now. It’s unfortunate that this pup doesn’t learn from her mistakes but of course that’s another dog blog idea, isn’t it? Dog personalities are as diverse as human personalities. Our Cocker Spaniel is so intelligent compared to our adorable Lhasa but we love them both! Just as God does! (So thanks for two blog ideas in the future, 🙂 Blessings,

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ellie,
        I enjoyed the post and came her through Deborah Crocker who has linked with your blog in one of her posts. Its funny that she learnt that medicines can be camouflaged inside her treats fast enough but can’t learn not to run inside the house. BTW, what happened to her foot/leg ?
        And you are so right, as soon as we do something we shouldn’t have done, we tend to hide it from the one we love the most or who loves us the most.
        Thank God for our heavenly father, who is willing to forgive us each time we hide and open the door to us again.
        Susie

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Susie and Merry Christmas to you and yours! Yes, Deborah Crocker is a wonderful lady and I appreciate her sending you to my blog,

        You are so right about our Lhasa’s intelligence. Another godly lesson I learn from her actions is that we also usually choose to do what might be treacherous (“seemed like a good idea at the time” 😉 ) without concern or considering the consequences it has on others. If one drinks too much or even eats so much they become addicted or ill, the entire family suffers. (which is for another blog post – thank you!) So happy you found me and I look forward to searching through your posts too. Please come back! Blessings

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Ellie, you have been in my thoughts and I wanted to wish you a Merry Christmas. I have a new position at my middle school and it is really a challenge. I am in charge of our after school program and we currently have over 50 students attending daily. It is quite a challenge and tons of responsibility. But an awesome opportunity to love like Jesus, which I am so grateful for. Battling stress eating and not loving having to exercise in cold snowy weather, but I am not giving up. Blessings to you and your family.

    Love,
    Wendy

    Like

    • Oh Wendy, how wonderful to hear from you! Merry Christmas to you and yours as well. I pray you enjoy your new position (you must be quite creative, patient and kind to be able to keep up with all those students)

      One of my next books will target emotional eating and hope it will help you discover why one self-destructs when they really want to be healthy. Thank you for your comment my dear friend. I always enjoy hearing from you and if I can assist you further, all you need to do is ask. I’ll be there for you. Blessings back,

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

