The Pros and Cons of Red Wine

th5T07EJ34October is turning out to be a month of “Well, Duh” televised health claims. Yet another was made recently regarding the healthy benefits of red wine if taken in moderation. Once again, if one follows a Biblical diet plan this shouldn’t come as a surprise.

As a Christian nutritional counselor I look at whether wine is beneficial in two ways: one as a nutritionist and the other as a Christian.

First, as a Christian, let me ask you a question: Would Jesus ever tempt someone to sin? Of course not! Jesus is perfect and as the Bible states, “When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone;” (James 1:13)

Jesus’s first miracle was turning water into wine (and please don’t insist it was grape juice.) Therefore, when presenting it to his host to drink, he would actually be tempting someone to sin. Granted, grape juice is a fine substitute if one doesn’t imbibe.

Secondly I look at it through nutritionist eyes. Remember 2 Corinthians 10:23 again. Moderation is key. A glass of red wine at dinner is healthy but over two glasses tips that balance detrimentally, especially if one is a woman. Too much wine can contribute to high blood pressure, heart disease, liver problems, breast cancer and pancreatitis. Even as the Bible states a little wine is acceptable, “Stop drinking only water, and use a little wine because of your stomach and your frequent illnesses.( Timothy 5:23)  it also urges moderation: “Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to  debauchery.” (Ephesians 5:18)  Balance.

Now I am not advocating that someone start drinking red wine if they choose not to. Christian balance is also about not being a stumbling block to another. If I realized someone had an addiction to alcohol, I certainly wouldn’t offer them wine nor drink wine in front of them. Bear in mind that our God is a God of common sense as well!

Some of The Benefits of Red Wine:

  1. Red wine kills e-coli, parasites and bacteria. Wine was an essential beverage in Biblical times when residents lived without refrigeration. (One reason why unclean foods were forbidden at that time.)
  2. Red wine assists in circulation issues by removing plague from your arteries so blood can flow more freely, lowering blood pressure and coronary heart disease.
  3. Ongoing studies say it may help diminish kidney stone risk.
  4. Red wine contains resveratrol, a powerful antifungal, antioxidant which builds up the immune system and lowers unhealthy fat content.
  5. That being said, a little assists with weight loss using ellagic acid  but at 9 calories per gram (1/4 teaspoon) it can really put on the pounds.
  6. Studies are promising regarding its ability to fight cataracts.
  7. Red wine boosts our good HDL levels while lowering bad LDL cholesterol levels.
  8. It’s rich in potassium which maintains healthy fluid balance.
  9. It fights free radicals, therefore assisting in anti-aging. (But once again, too much alcohol ages.)
  10. Most recently, studies have found that red wine regulates blood sugar, great for Type-2 diabetics. (But so does cinnamon, green tea, fiber.)

Caution: Too much wine can interfere with the absorption of vital nutrients such as calcium which could be detrimental to regulating blood pressure and osteoporosis.

Now you might disagree with me and that’s fine. I don’t enjoy Mt. Dew but I’m not telling you to avoid it. We live under Grace.  The Jewish Talmud states that “Wine is the foremost of good medicines.” If it’s good enough for the Jewish nation, that’s good enough for me. What’s the expression? “God says it, that settles it?”

 

19 thoughts on “The Pros and Cons of Red Wine

  1. The word “gleukos” is the word for wine in the NT. It is translated new wine, wine, and is a generic word. One can not form any position based on the word. We are then left with inferences. Jesus turned water into wine. What he made was the best wine, which was not the wine that was served later on. There was no refrigeration so any juice, wine would turn, alcoholic or to vinegar in short order. It is most likely what Jesus made was grape juice.

    Pro 23:31
    Look not thou upon the wine when it is red, when it giveth his colour in the cup, when it moveth itself aright. Again not a verse that one can be dogmatic about, but likely when it moves itself aright, is likely the bubbling that occurs due to fermentation. It had started to form CO2 a by product of fermentation.

    I like to major on the majors and minor on the minors. I think alcoholic grape juice or what we today call wine as opposed to grape juice or any type of fruit juice is not best. I don’t know which is better or worse from a health standpoint. Grape juice that is fermented or grape juice with HFCS added to sweeten it.

    Wanted to throw my experience from studying this years and years ago.

    Like

  2. As a recovering alcoholic since 1993 the only beneficial
    thought I have about red wine is ‘Don’t drink it.’.
    Cinnamon, green tea and fiber sounds like the better alternative.
    Love, hugs and stay sober … ME

    Like

  3. I was thinking of you as I wrote this post. As a friend and follower who has read my blog for three years I praise God for your sobriety! I pray you realize that if you ever joined my family for dinner, I would never serve or imbibe in wine while you were here because I’d never want to be a stumbling block to you or yours. God’s Will trumps my will every time! I care about God more than I care about wine.

    Of course that being said I’d never want to serve shrimp, peanuts or any other food someone is allergic to for just that reason. Also I’ve had patients who have told me it’s like a switch came on in their brain and they just couldn’t stop. Therefore I suggested they not even bring in those foods “for the kids.”. (If it’s in your house, it’s in your mouth) Thank you Boss for your comment and I am so proud of your love for the Lord and your decision to remain sober. You love Him more than drink. I wish more would love God more than their stomachs. 🙂 Blessings back Boss,

    Like

  4. Just wanted to say hello to my sister! Hope all is well. I am making slow and steady progress, nothing fast and furious. I LOVE my walking, especially in this breathtaking autumn scenery. Been falling more in love with Jesus and asking Him daily to renew my heart and mind. Hugs and blessings to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Of course everything is best in moderation Ellie, and it’s good to know that red wine has its merits. I’d heard a lot of good things about red wine, but I didn’t know it helped to kil E Coli. Now that’s interesting. 🙂 Great post as always! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

