Ever Play the “Stranded Island” Game?

desert islandLet’s play a game, “If you were stranded on a deserted island, what  five foods would you want there?” As a nutritionist, I’m often asked what are my favorite nutritionally-based foods, so this is a variation on a theme.

So what foods would you take? Coke, French fries, chips, pie and ice cream? Fine in moderation but I pray you choose better. You wouldn’t survive long on that diet.

Let me tell you what I’d want: I’d take:  garlic, yogurt, olives, salmon, chocolate. I’m optimistic that I’d find fresh water there.

Garlic:  To me, everything tastes better with garlic!  Well, except milk. Once our dairy cows got into some wild onions. I imagine garlic would taste worse. (We consumed a lot of potato and onion soup that season.)

thM7XZYJU0Garlic is antibacterial, antifungal, antiviral, anti-inflammatory and it’s an anticoagulant. It lowers blood pressure as well as thins the blood. Due to its alkaline pH and antioxidants, it heals wounds, cures the common cold faster and fights cancer.

One of the best reasons for consuming garlic? It boosts mood and has a calming affect on one’s mind. Everyone loves happy people. Of course you’d be alone so . . . at least you’d enjoy your own company. (I’m ever the optimist, see previous post.)

Yogurt:  Another antibacterial food which powerfully boosts the immune system. Yogurt provides lots of the healthy acidophilus and other bacteria for the intestinal tract to combat parasites and viruses. These powerful probiotics fight infections, ulcers, allergies and attack tumors. Studies have shown that yogurt metabolize body fat faster, thus assisting in weight control.

Yogurt’s loaded with protein, B2, B12, potassium, magnesium, zinc and calcium. Even my patients who were lactose intolerant could consume yogurt th6V56VXYBwith no side effects. But please avoid fillers and artificial sweeteners.

Olives: (First I’d have to learn how to cure them . . . but let’s imagine some of the chef’s pantry fell off the cruise ship with me. This is a fantasy post after all.) So olives are amazing with their omega-3 fatty acids which would combat the harsh rays of the sun while I’m languishing on the beach until rescued.

thWPZV0KYNOlives are a great source of copper (preventing the graying of my hair.) They’re packed with vitamin E, iron, antioxidants, anti-inflammatory properties and dietary fiber.

Salmon:  So I guess this island will be in the Northwest territory. I could swim home but why? I’m queen of my own little island here! Anyway, salmon, my favorite fish, would be plentiful. Salmon controls high blood pressure and battles arthritis with its anti-inflammatory properties. It’s been known to combat asthma and shorten debilitating migraine headaches. thFS2DSX4P

Salmon is incredibly rich in omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids, B vitamins, potassium and protein. This food is an avid youth protector. It improves the skin and lessons wrinkles. Salmon also promotes cardiovascular health in every way.

Dark Chocolate: Filled with power-boosting flavonoids and polyphenol properties (all antioxidants, anti-inflammatory, antiviral and antifungal.) These benefit the heart and entire cardiovascular system by increasing good HDL.  Oleic acid is a monounsaturated fat which lowers blood pressure and delays blood clotting. Containing magnesium, potassium, iron and copper, it improves mental clarity, mood and retains natural hair color.thQA8AJL0L

On the  other hand, perhaps if stranded, I should just fast and worship the Lord and forget about my stomach. After all, He always provides for my needs!

“I perceived that there is nothing better for them than to be joyful and to do good as long as they live; also that everyone should eat and drink and take pleasure in all his toil—this is God’s gift to man.” (Ecclesiastes 3: 12-13)

46 thoughts on “Ever Play the “Stranded Island” Game?

  1. Oh I love this post, may actually steal the idea if you don’t mind and use something similar down along the line? Think mine would be very basic also.. Fish, broccoli, Greek yoghurt, berries, casein and maybe if I was allowed squeeze another one in, some honey!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Lisa, thank you for the compliment. You’ve chosen all great foods too! So smart, so few of us left, sigh, 🙂

      Love broccoli, my favorite veggie. I consume local honey here to combat allergies since we’ve moved from AZ to Ohio. Love strawberries, walnuts, honey and milled flaxseed in my yogurt. I was surprised to discover recently that it is the liquid whey protein that assists most with weight loss, so I typically consume a high-quality, low-fat yogurt with no artificial ingredients. Thanks again for playing and I hope to hear from you again, blessings,

      Liked by 1 person

    • Good thought provoking idea. Now to take it to the next level, need to reserve some space in the kitchen for these 5 GO TO foods. I am working on that. Convenience is the key, if it is easier we are more likely to do so. Eggs, greens, peanut butter, nuts, cheese. Not completely thought out, but hope this hits main needs for healthy carbs, proteins and fats.

      I am also thinking somewhat from a survivalist point of view which the island metaphor is a good segway into.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting thought. It’s hard to pick just 5, but, I think I’d pick salmon, avocado, banana, garlic, and chicken – a live one who could give me eggs :-).

    Like

  3. I love this post! It is hard for me to say what I would take…only because I am in the middle of transitioning my dietary lifestyle! I would say, as of today, i would take….. avocado,chicken, garlic, (that right there sounds great!) apples, and almonds! 🙂

    Like

      • Thanks Ellie! Good to hear you’re enjoying Ohio! Transition can be hard!
        My eating patterns are changing because of a recent hospital stay. I have blocked carotid arteries. So I’m on a mission to see if I can reverse that damage!
        Oh and my cholesterol is 140! Go figure! DNA? I don’t know.
        Blessings to you and yours dear lady!!

        Like

  4. Oh boy, this is difficult to answer. 5 foods that I’d want on a stranded island: avocado, rice, yogurt, chicken, mango. Totally random, but these are foods I love and wouldn’t get tired of.

    P.S., an update for you. No, I didn’t end up doing the food reset program because I have too many allergies to follow the plan. However, I did follow a simple program that helps you find out what foods are triggering certain negative physical symptoms and it was very helpful. Certain healthy foods are not healthy for others due to sensitiveness or allergies, so I am totally alright with limiting or eliminating certain healthy foods from my diet. After I had my gallbladder removed, certain foods have been difficult to eat, their healthy, I love eating them, but too much pain and digestive issues.

    I am thankful that I live in a country where we have an abundance of healthy food choices available to us.

    Like

    • Thank you JM for the update. You have such a positive mind-set – that’s why you will conquer this challenge!

      Isn’t it amazing how the body works? That’s why when some diet guru declares that he “has the answer” I grimace, because everyone’s chemical make-up is different Eat for nutrients and each one of your choices is very nutritious. (and with 365 different chicken recipes, you’ll have a variety of ones to chose from! Thanks for playing and blessings back,

      Like

  5. I am still having trouble navigating this. I found the LIKE on the top and it worked but not sure if I am liking the blog post or the individual article. Just want to encourage all that have such good comments. : )

    Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

