Convicted Christianity and Healthy Living

“and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator.”  (Colossians 3:10)

Some want it all . . .  the large, luxurious home with the three car garage –  without committing the money it takes to maintain it.

Others long for the perfect marriage, children and happy home life without investing the time involved in cultivating those relationships.

Many desire all the benefits of Christianity too, without ever delving into the Bible. They have no idea what Christian commitment looks like. “Just get me into heaven with all the benefits without standing out like some fanatical Christian.” After all what would the co-workers think if all of a sudden they evoked the name of Jesus in thanks or prayed over their lunch?righteous robes

So it’s no surprise that many expect to be healthy without committing to what it takes to become healthier. Wishing doesn’t make it so. As my mother used to tell me; “If wishes were horses, beggars would ride.”

Nowadays we live in a culture where “every kid gets a prize.” What’s this teaching the child? Only that they needn’t exert the effort, because everyone will reap the same reward either way. News Flash: this world is not fair and no one wins every prize! Some of us have larger physiques while some are built like sticks, but neither are necessarily healthy. Therefore a healthy lifestyle takes work too. It’s the work that makes life worthwhile!

The journey IS the destination. Along life’s journey, we learn we are each unique, different sizes with different personalities which reinforces individual strategies.  This allows YOU to develop successfully because you are the only one who lives inside your body. Sure you’ll have setbacks, we’re human but if humans were perfect already, why would we need the Lord?

And besides, it is only after we become aware of our faults that we become convicted and desire change. Just like Salvation! Similarly, it is only after we begin to eat more healthily, experiencing that wonderful vibrancy and Joy that true health and Salvation brings, that we have little desire to return to that decadent lifestyle which only brought sickness and pain. Praise God for a discerning spirit that chooses a vibrant lifestyle!

It takes conviction to continue and become as physically fit as God expects us to be. But occasionally in our humanity, we become complacent and just like the Israelites who longed for the days of plenty back in Egypt, we forget the Grace of God and occasionally long for decadence.

I discovered that recently after consuming an overly fattening meal at a party. I had conveniently forgotten that eating too many fried foods doesn’t exactly reap a healthy ending. My body rebelled and I was miserable. I remembered WHY I didn’t want to eat that way anymore. No benefit in it! I decided I definitely didn’t want to go back to a sluggish, lifeless existence when choosing a vibrant, healthy one is so much better!

Isn’t it great that God gives us the freedom to choose? We do not live in a legalistic world of “Thou shalt not . . .” when it comes to food.  I’ve spoken about this many times based on 1 Corinthians 10:23. Your body craves the benefit of nutrients to stay healthy and God has given us the desires of our hearts to choose among various items. I prefer nutrient-dense selections which produces more reward rather than processed, empty calories. I prefer feeling younger, more vibrant and alive! That’s my choice, what’s yours?

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Convicted Christianity and Healthy Living

  1. Wonderful article Ellie. I’m with you, eating bad, treats us bad. Some prefer to eat what they want and pay the price with digestive disorders while finding temptation to hard to resist. I believe it’s a mindset. I just don’t eat foods that don’t agree with me, they don’t tempt me. All I have to do is think about how bloated and uncomfortable I will feel and it becomes a no brainer. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh D.G, you are so smart! I wish more would “listen” to their bodies like you do and they would be a lot healthier and happier. Eat what makes our bodies feel great. Like yesterday was National Donut Day but to me, donuts don’t tempt me anymore, to, me they taste super sweet. and oily. (But muffins on the other hand . . . ) 🙂 Thanks for your comment and blessings back

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Saw you on FB on EJ’s page I think if not there, ran across you on Pinterest. Regardless, checked a few of your posts and my life filter is the Word of God, not being critical or a critic, just glad to see what you say lines up with Scripture.

    I will continue to listen to you, dear sister. A verse I like is:3Jo 1:2
    Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth

    Again, nice to meet you, and this is my hope and prayer for you.

    Like

      • I watch some and try not to jump too fast or be impetuous. Truth is my guiding lodestone. Ps. 119: 30 is my guiding life verse. Even before I was saved I sought truth, and that ultimately would lead me to salvation. I don’t know it all, try to be humble and gracious, but when I am convinced of what is right, I will not be moved off of what is true. Yes, there are gray areas and in those gray areas, I seek to be charitable and kind.

        Having said that, as maybe mentioned I have two unusual degrees and am in the process of merging and doing something with them. A BS in Public Health, U Mass, and a MA in Bible, Bob Jones University.

        Presently I am semi-retired from 38 years of teaching and have this burden for sharing health and nutrition specifically. I have come to the place where I think we need to get back to the foods the Lord intended. So my little twist is calling it a Back to Eden diet. It is not all that different than other diets. A rose by any other name is still a rose. It is funny as so many on the left are into this kind of diet and I came to the same place from the far right. I can get along and at least we agree on something.

        Again, this was a real find, and I think we have much in common with the Biblical approach and health and nutrition.

        If you like I started a FB page on Biblical Health it is still just a seed that has poked its head out of the ground, and I don’t know how big it will grow or not. My biggest burden and hearts desire is to see people come to Christ. What good does it do for a person to be the healthiest person on the planet and then die and go to Hell? So whatever I do hopefully it is to the Glory of God and drawing people to Him.

        God bless and seeking the truth,
        Bob

        Liked by 1 person

      • Praise God you have such a sensible approach to true health! I am honored to know you sir.

        Did you know there is a book entitled Back to Eden by Jethro Kloss? There is another diet called the The Garden of Eden diet that is strictly vegetarian. I base my decisions on 1 Corinthians 10:13 and God’s Word.

        I would like to see your FB site someday. Just be careful to weigh all these crazy diet plans through a Biblical perspective (such as the Paleo diet) God would never say eat everything in moderation such as 1 Corinthians 10:13, and then turn around and state “Oh but Thou shalt not eat eggs . . . or potatoes . . . or legumes . . . ” or anything else He created. My God does not make mistakes and created all things good. (See that post on eggs too) God’s smarter than us. Thanks for your comment – gotta run, got lots to do . . . blessings,

        Liked by 1 person

      • Have the book and refer to it from time to time.

        -1Co 10:13
        There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.

        I see application here.

        Also… consider… 1Ti 4:3
        Forbidding to marry, and commanding to abstain from meats, which God hath created to be received with thanksgiving of them which believe and know the truth.

        And lastly… we need to be wise as serpents and harmless as doves. Agreed we need to filter everything through the sieve of God’s Word. I try to be as wide as God is wide and as narrow as God is narrow. That is a healthy approach. I don’t want to forbid a food that God has not forbidden, nor endorse a food condemned. There is a great deal of wisdom in God’s word, Food is one arena many are ignoring or over looking.

        Liked by 1 person

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

