A Diabetes Diagnosis Isn’t a Death Sentence

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”  (2 Corinthians 12:9)

Michelle sat across from my desk, her eyes brimming with tears.  This new patient had just come from her father’s hospital bedside. She told me his last limb had been amputated due to diabetes.  Can you imagine the pain as Michelle observed her father’s self-destruction?

Apparently she had argued with him for years to take better care of himself, but to no avail. He refused to recognize that his unhealthy lifestyle was destroying his body. He continued to eat unhealthy, chemically-processed, fattening foods, too many sugary items and he failed to exercise.  Now she had received the same diagnosis; diabetes, and she was scared.

What makes someone fight for health while others apathetically accept their fate? Many bloggers who post about their weight loss challenges fight like warriors, battling with self-confidence and discipline, while others give up easily. Health is worth fighting for!  Treasure what God has given you. Diabetes needn’t be a death sentence if you are willing to change.

If you have been diagnosed with diabetes, take control. Never act like a victim!  I’ve had patients who actually stated that diabetes was the best thing that had ever  happened to them because it was a wake-up call! Not only did my Type 2 Diabetics control their disease with diet, but even one Type 1 patient conquered a 40 year, 4 times daily insulin shot dependency (which is extremely rare!)

Changing habits is the first challenge:thHVVHTT7D

Increase fiber to 25-35 grams daily (4-9 tsps.) Fiber allows insulin to enter more slowly into the bloodstream. There are two types of fiber and we need both. Soluble fiber becomes a gel in our system, moving dangerous LDL cholesterol out while lowering blood sugar. It’s like Liquid Plummer. Insoluble fiber is like Rotor Rooter, remaining intact. It clears our intestines so valuable nutrients can be absorbed through the digestive tract.

Choose a variety of fibers including whole grains, (oats, quinoa, long grain rice) fruits, (apples, pears, prunes) and vegetables, (peas, legumes, beans, corn, sweet potatoes.)

Get into a Routine. Ensure that you eat and exercise at regular intervals. This keeps your blood sugar levels steady and reduces stress on your vital organs.

Create a pathway to destress. When our bodies are stressed, it not only raises our insulin levels but also creates a hazardous acidic pH level, making us hungrier and more prone to illness. Create a strategy: take daily walks, listen to music, take soothing baths or simply sit and read on your back patio.

Exercise! Diabetics run the risk of circulatory problems and nerve damage. Walt, my Type 1 patient, whose goal at first was simply to reduce his high insulin intake, ate well and faithfully rode his exercise bike every day. He lost 75 pounds and got himself off insulin entirely, a rare feat indeed! But don’t overdo exercise. This adds stress! Find an exercise routine you enjoy and keep doing it!

Greatly reduce or eliminate artificial sweeteners. (I know this is controversial!)  These chemicals never leave your liver. These increase insulin levels because your th0FKZNKN5body is expecting more food! Stevia has an alkaline pH and is a good substitute. My patients consumed small  amounts of regular sugar while giving up the simple carbohydrates in donuts, cakes, pies and candy.  Better yet, drink water!

Yes, diabetes is a tough disease to manage, but remember you have Strength you might not recognize yet. Our Lord Sustains!

 

 

13 thoughts on “A Diabetes Diagnosis Isn’t a Death Sentence

  1. This is great! When I was expecting my second child, I found out I had gestational diabetes. I was heartbroken! I’ve never had to do any type of diet and I just didn’t know if I could do it. And I was worried about my health and the baby’s health at that point. But once I started following the diabetes lifestyle change, I began to feel so much better! I had more energy, I felt comfortably full most of the time, and I was able to manage my blood sugar with diet alone–no meds! 🙂
    Once I had the baby, I kept up with the diet and exercise plan and bounced back in no time. My little guy was absolutely fine, too.
    Eating correctly to control blood sugar really hits home with me. Both of my grandmothers had diabetes and my dad has it as well. I’ve seen what it can do if left untreated and I’ve seen how well it can be managed.
    Thanks for sharing this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for making my day Paige. What a great testimony and I am so grateful you and your baby are healthy and happy! Diabetes is even more of an epidemic today than it was when I worked with doctors. One can’t go wrong with eating a well-balanced diet. My challenge was to discover why they didn’t and would rather self-destruct. You’re a Champion!!! Blessings,

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Sheila, I always appreciate comments!. So glad you eat so healthily. When I worked for family physicians, I discovered that a patient’s fattening, processed food intake was actually more harmful than sugary foods due to the stress levels fat places on the body. Balance and common sense has always been the key and it seems like you definitely have both! Blessings,

      Like

      • Well, Ellie, we do try. But I do have to admit potato chips are my big downfall. But for the most part we try to eat whole grains, fruits & vegies. Some cheese, fish, and very little meat. So I guess some chips now & then aren’t too bad, are they? (Fingers crossed, LOL!)

        Like

      • You’re not alone. 🙂 I base my diet philosophy on 1 Corinthians 10:23, “Everything is permissible but not everything is beneficial, — everything is permissible but not all things are constructive.”

        We live under grace, with God’s bounty and has allowed us to eat all foods (Genesis 9:3) There are no “good” or “bad” foods.However that doesn’t give us license to destroy our wonderful body. If we want to please our Lord who gave all for us, we should not make any food an idol but eat in moderation. So let’s enjoy our lasagna, chips and BBQ ribs in happy moderation! Blessings and thanks for your comment,

        Like

  2. What is your thought on juicing? I learned from experience that drinking beet juice is awful, natural sugar. I am type 2 and struggle often with calf cramps when walking. Funny I rely on God in everything, but can’t seem to focus when it comes to really taking care of me. Everyone else, I’m good at taking care of.
    Hugs- Shelia

    Like

    • So sorry to hear about your diagnosis. Thanks for the question and hope this answers it: In your case, I’d definitely avoid juicing.

      If someone needed nutrients and was having a hard time eating solid food, yeah, I’d urge someone to juice. However the beneficial fiber by juicing gets wasted when it’s spit out thru the machine. As a Type 2 diabetic, fiber is the most important aspect of your diet. (That, exercise and routine eating.) Fiber slows down the release of insulin into your system.

      If you consume regular beets rather than the juice, it’s definitely beneficial because beets contain a high amount of fiber. Artificial sugars are worse than real sugar, but only use a taste.

      As for your leg cramps, add magnesium, potassium and calcium foods to your daily diet. Such as bananas, broccoli, spinach, sweet potatoes, squash, pumpkin . . . (just Google for a list) Also increase your water intake (or decrease if you drink more than 10 or 12 cups a day) This could be either a dehydration problem or perhaps you’re washing away your valuable nutrients with too much.

      You are important! That which you treasure you take care of! You are important to God, cherish your temple of the Holy Spirit. Call your doctor, if that will help too! Blessings for health my new friend,

      Liked by 1 person

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

