Health is One Enormous Teeter Totter Ride!

I  don’t remember who wrote this but it is worth repeating for its Truth:  “We can’t blame God for not being in circumstances we stepped outside of him to make happen. Sometimes consequences make great teachers.”thX8QPMK4S

Sometimes life can become pretty discouraging, can’t it? Why continue to strive for a healthier, positive mindset when it’s so frustrating?  Galatians 6:9 advises us; “Let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.”

Circumstances can seem overwhelming and achievement unattainable. Whether it is trials with health, family matters, finances or employment, success seems  out of reach. However, many times we’ve looked back over our lives and noticed that all our trials have worked to produce a stronger Christian. It has refined us as gold and now we wouldn’t change our past for anything, for it has made us who we are.

Similarly, when one attempts to establish a healthier lifestyle, it seems culinary temptations cross our paths daily. It’s frustrating because Satan knows our weaknesses. We certainly we battle a formidable opponent:

“Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.” (1 Peter 5:8) 

It takes an enormous amount of effort to remain on that health plan when ice cream or cheese fries whisper our name. That is why we need a battle plan, a strategy to resist, knowing that temptations don’t come from God, but from the devil.

First thing I do is memorize Scripture. Satan knows Scripture. That is how he tried to tempt our Lord after Jesus fasted in the desert. Scripture allows us to stand fast, remaining confident and vigilant. Quote some heavy-duty Scripture such as 1 John 4:4 and eventually the devil will tire of his game.

Next, envision that devil triumphantly announcing to all, that we follow him now instead of our Lord. His crafty temptations ensnared us. Impossible you say?  Well, creating a god out of cheese is no different than creating a golden calf, isn’t it? It’s an idol. We are worshiping a food item more than God. How silly to reduce our testimony to a block of cheese, when our Lord has done so much for us!

Life itself, is like a teeter totter ride. If it remained in one spot – it would be stagnant, tedious. It’s the same with a diet plan. I can’t imagine existing on carrots, rice cakes and celery for months to lose weight. Boring! And yet I can’t imagine a diet of chemically processed fast food or boxed meals all the time either! Eat a variety of nutrients.

Daily diets can be like riding a teeter totter too. Some days I eat an extremely healthy diet of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, lean protein and yet some days I look forward to BBQ ribs, fries and coleslaw. However, the next day I am right back selecting healthier choices and not worrying about it.

Every day produces highs and lows, so go with it. Let’s vary our diet, make wiser choices over the course of our life and glory in our godly accomplishments. Ups and downs . . . remember that life is one endless teeter totter ride. So don’t fall off or stay down for long. There’s a magnificent view on top!

“Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,  I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3: 13b-14)

12 thoughts on “Health is One Enormous Teeter Totter Ride!

  1. It is very freeing to do things God’s way and I am thankful for grace to start over when I fall. I love this, Ellie…”So don’t fall off or stay down for long. There’s a magnificent view on top!”. As always, keep speaking truth.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My sweet sister, so funny you mentioned waiting to hear a great report from me. I have thought about that and it is actually one of my motivators knowing I how much I want to give you good news. Right now I am struggling with discipline, but not giving up. I will keep my eye on that view of health and godliness. Soooo thankful you are in my corner.

    Liked by 1 person

    • As a counselor I walk a fine line. Some of my patients tried to please so much that they are ashamed to admit a mistake so they never came back. I missed them. Dear friend, mistakes are a natural part of life, it refines you as gold when you never surrender! Keep going and never, ever give up or be afraid – either of failure OR success.

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

