Dying To Be Thin!

th8F7O7EN1How many of you, reading this, would sign up for the following weight loss program if it clearly stated the following:

        “Volunteers needed to test a new diet program.  Some foods are toxic and will cause paralysis and blindness.”

I’m sure none of you, right? Clearly this plan states that this eating plan would cause blindness and paralysis for attempting it.  It’s crazy! However, a few years ago, Rachel Ray conducted an experiment on her webpage (she certainly didn’t endorse this!) requesting volunteers to sign up for this particular weight loss plan.  Over 1,400 people signed up!! Unbelievable! Literally, some people are dying to be thin for a perceived world-view body image.

You might think the above false diet plan is an amazingly ridiculous example of losing weight, but think about your own diet choices in the past. How many of you have tried liquid diets, the Atkins Diet, Cabbage Soup Diet, cottage cheese diet, grapefruit diet, no-carbs, no-fat, diet pills; it goes on and on and on . . .  there is no “one size fits all” diet plan, everyone is physiologically different. But this isn’t how God originally created us to live. He placed Adam in a garden and gave him fruits,vegetables and whole grains to eat. Meat came later after the flood.

It’s amazing how God has created each one of us with a unique physiology!

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.” (Psalm 139:13) 

What a fabulous DNA we have! No other person on earth who has ever lived or is living is exactly like you. It boggles the mind when you think of the billions of people who have existed on this earth and yet, no one looked or acted just like you.

In today’s society everyone seems celebrity conscious.  Everyone wants to look like Kim Kardashian or Brad Pitt.  People are so desperate to lose a few pounds that they will even risk their health to do so! Why would we want to destroy our earthy temple? Be content with who you are: Phil 4:11 ” . . . I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances,” or take steps to change yourself.

  • Write a list of what makes you special, what you like about yourself.
  • Then write down what you don’t like about yourself.
  • What can you change and not change?
  • That which you can change, start creating strategies to overcome them. (Be kinder, think before speaking, be socialable, study harder)
  • If you can’t change, ex: physical looks, if you haven’t enough money to get a chin implant, then accept yourself for who you are.

 

Failure to accept who we are begins in childhood and can deter us from all types of goals. If you had parents who expected perfection from you, constantly comparing you to siblings, you might believe you are never good enough and stuff those feelings down with comfort foods.  You might equate eating everything on your plate with appreciation and love, because parents praised instead of criticized when you did.thODH7X3T7

If you were fortunate enough to have a parent who encouraged you and told you could do anything if you put your mind to it, you probably still hold that mindset today. Phil 4:13 states, ” I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” 

Realize you are special simply because God made you! He didn’t create a robot world – we each have good and bad characteristics which makes us interesting.  Take steps to accept yourself.

REMEMBER:  You are SPECIAL simply because you Are . . . and GOD DOESN’T MAKE JUNK!

14 thoughts on “Dying To Be Thin!

    • Well sir, it’s an honor to have you comment on my blog. Thank you that. Yes, it’s actually sad that some can’t accept Truth and prefer to grasp onto the lies their “itching ears” want to hear. That’s why I try to spread Truthful physiology based on God’s Word. Since we live under Grace however, people can choose to destroy their bodily temple if they so desire. Sigh. Blessings,

      Liked by 1 person

    • Well thank you so much for your encouraging comment. Yes, some are desperate to please man, having low self-esteem. Jesus says, “Come as you are.” and we should love ourselves as Christ loves us. However we are to honor God with our bodies, (1 Corinthians 6: 19,20) out of love. I’m grateful for a healthy body but have moved to a high cancer area of the country. Therefore I am trying to be even more conscious of eating healthier which I realize is a struggle for everyone. Thanks again, blessings,

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great post! It is sad that the world focuses so much on our outer body and it breaks my heart to see young women struggling with their identity. People are more obsessed with having a perfect body than building character. I admit that as a mother, I was not a good example to my girls because I was constantly dieting and criticizing my looks. Thankfully God has shown me how valuable I am and I always try to help others see themselves in a positive way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • What a great observation and your words ring true! I wrote in my book, “Life’s Too Short to Eat Bad Cheese” that parents are their child’s first role model. So if parents keep disparaging their bodies, (who the child is idolizing at the time) what does that say to them? They also feel less worthy “as created.” I am so grateful to hear of your happy ending! Blessings to you and your family and please comment again!

      Like

  2. I ate from fear Ellie after being molested when I was 3 years old it was the first time I used food to numb my pain but it continued, yes as you shared in my Teens food became my enemy because being thin was in and I was frightened of being rejected and so after many diets being Bulimic was easier.

    I would like to share with you Ellie the foundation or background of my eating disorder with the link below, I wonder how many have walked the same road as me, perhaps different in some aspects but still painful and leading to emotional eating.

    Childhood- http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/the-early-years-a-little-lost-girl/

    Christian Love Always in Christ Jesus.

    Like

  3. After I gained weight between cancer (chemo puffed me up like a balloon) and then to make myself feel better when I could eat I enjoyed comfort food you know ice cream, cookies etc…. anyway after chemo I lost a good amount of the chemo weight, and although all poofed up from chemo the drs were pleased with my weight gain, as I did not gain alot I just poofed!! to make a long story short, I had put on more weight when I started a cancer pill (10 yrs on that) so my metabolism is terrible, that said, I had been able to lose some of the weight with eating right and exercise, but still have more to go. I remember the doctor telling me this may be my weight for now and to not to stress about losing, but to eat right and eat healthy and although I may never be a size 12 again the goal was to make my body healthy and eventually some of the weight will come off. So that is what I try to and do today, eat healthy which has become difficult because of my new work schedule and other stomach health issues because of the chemo meds I was on earlier (it is like a merry go around!) and stay active keeping mind and body healthy. I still like my cookies and know that moderation is good so every month I buy my “stash” of good European cookies and here is the middle of the month and I have only opened 1 box and still have a few cookies left. Their packaging is smaller so I am pleased with how little I ate – just enough to enjoy with an evening cuppa after a busy day. And lost one more pound!! woo hoo!! I enjoy your page because you give good sense advice to better health. As my doctor said that is the ultimate goal – the weight will take care of it self.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your doctor is very smart. He emphasized that health was more important than your weight loss right now. He’s right, eat healthily and the weight will take care of itself eventually.

      My best advice is to consume lots of water and water based foodsto wash the drugs from your system faster. I had one patient who took three years to lose her weight. She just kept trudging on faithfully when I’m sure it became discouraging at times.

      Your secret weapon is the Lord. You are so strong in your faith and positive attitude, even during the toughest trials. I so admire you, (and those cookies are fine in moderation, they aren’t your idol, they are your treat “Life’s too short to eat bad cheese” ya know what I mean? 🙂 ) Blessings,

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

