“Okay, So What About the Paleo Diet?”

Asked about this diet recently, I have procrastinated answering, for Paleo is controversial.

thCVDZBWXFFrankly, I find the Paleo diet with its many restrictions, confusing. It ranks right up there with the Atkins and Cabbage Soup diet. It’s complicated and I failed to see many scientific facts to back up its claims. My motto has always been eat for nutrients, not calories, not fat grams nor formulaic restrictions. For as God proclaimed:

“I have the right to do anything,” you say–but not everything is beneficial. “I have the right to do anything”–but not everything is constructive.”  (I Corinthians 10:23)

As for the Paleo Diet, it proclaims, “Thou shalt NOT consume . . . ” these items:

Cereals: Broad stroke of the pen here which needs clarification. There is a big difference between consuming Rice Krispies with no fiber and Grape Nuts with nearly two teaspoons. Fiber is essential for maximum health because it removes dangerous toxins from our digestive system.

Grains: Another fiber. We are to eliminate oatmeal, corn, potatoes, wheat and bread. Confusing. So whole grain fibrous bread is categorized right beside white? (White makes a better eraser than a bread.) Again no scientific evidence to back it up. I, on the other hand, have countless Bible verses conveying how our Lord ate bread.

Legumes:  This includes all types of beans, (navy, black, pinto, kidney, peanuts, etc.) and peas with 7-8 grams of fiber. What vegetable would one substitute for fiber? 28 lbs. of broccoli???

Dairy:  What? Not even high quality yogurt with all its probiotic properties to protect/build the immune system?  If one isn’t consuming 35 grams of fiber on this plan, then how do we combat the gross parasites and bacteria in our system?

Refined sugar:  There are many types of sugar but the brain feeds primarily on glucose. This diet should clarify what it means by refined sugar as opposed to glucose. Cut down and use sensibly. Anything is fine in moderation.

Potatoes?  Seriously? I’ve written about this nutrient-dense whole grain countless times already in my blog. Please use search engine.

Processed foods:  Finally, something I agree with. Processed foods are a ticking time bomb. Why place chemically processed, dyed or artificially flavored foods into your system to fester with other bodily chemicals? Especially if one is not consuming much fiber which moves toxins from your system!

And yet I found under the list of “approved” foods, bacon! Isn’t that hypocritical?! Bacon is one of the most chemically processed foods there is. Don’t tell me I can’t eat black beans but I bacon is great for me.

Overly salty foods: Salt is an acquired taste and it’s found in all foods already. Good advice.

Refined vegetable oils: I agree to a certain extent. Choosing olive, coconut, flaxseed, sesame oils or even real butter over refined oils are healthier. However I’d add canola oil with its essential omega-3 fatty acids, to the list as well as well.

So there you have it. It’s your choice. Are you going to live by strict dietary rules and regulations, as those offered in the days of the Pharisees, or are you living under grace and are free to enjoy anything in moderation?  Oh, and one more thing: you have Free Will to believe anything. I prefer to believe that my ancestors were designed and given a diet by God, not cave men. It’s called Faith.

 

20 thoughts on ““Okay, So What About the Paleo Diet?”

  1. Wow. Thanks for breaking this down for us, Ellie. It does seem very restrictive and omits many things I eat for energy. I went to a Crossfit demo once, and the instructors were really pushing the Paleo lifestyle. I think I would feel drained all the time.

    Like

    • Hi tigress. I’m so glad you’re sensible because people get desperate and will try anything. Dieting itself isn’t that complicated when one chooses a balanced way to eat because natural physiology takes over. It’s the mental aspect of why one self-destructs that is the real detriment to health. I’ll have posts on that soon. Always appreciate your comments, thanks so much. Blessings,

      Liked by 1 person

  2. God’s guidelines Ellie with food are very clear in Scripture and as you have often wisely shared, we need to have balance in all things which is very True, except sin of course, even a little does a lot of damage.

    1 Timothy 4:1-6 Now the Spirit speaketh expressly, that in the latter times some shall depart from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of devils; Speaking lies in hypocrisy; having their conscience seared with a hot iron; Forbidding to marry, and commanding to abstain from meats, which God hath created to be received with thanksgiving of them which believe and know the Truth. For every creature of God is good, and nothing is to be refused if it is received with thanksgiving; for it is sanctified by the word of God and prayer. If you instruct the brethren in these things, you will be a good minister of Jesus Christ, nourished in the words of faith and of the good doctrine which you have carefully followed.

    Christian Love in Christ Jesus – Anne

    Like

  3. What?? The cave dwellers lived on grains, edible roots and the occasional animal or fish. I can understand eliminating processed foods. So what is allowed? Are they eliminating those basic items because of pesticides, etc. That makes sense, but organic is available almost everywhere now. Even so, I’m less afraid of that than the hormones added to “grocery” animals to make them grow faster, thus leading to little girls having breasts and menstruation at 6 and 7 years old. sd

    Like

  4. You are so right energy! This diet must have been created by a man, hence the incredible amount of meat include in it. As per their diet website, the cave man can eat rattlesnake one night and turtle the next, followed by a helping of goat, wild boar and beef jerky. (I’m not kidding!) Never worry though, yams are allowed. 🙂 Your guess is as good as mine about why they theorize this is a great diet plan, it’s not scientifically sound as far as I can surmise.

    I totally agree with your hormone observation. I’ve been citing that fear for over 20 years now. Good call – Great minds think alike! We personally eat less and less meat and your diet is even better. Blessings,

    Like

  5. I did the paleo diet for a couple mknths while i tried to figure out my food intolerances. It was very helpful in that way, but long term wouldn’t work. It did confirm my gluten and oat intolerance. Thankfulky, I do just fine with corn and other gluten free flours like rice and corn!

    Like

      • There is only one, The Paleo Diet and it is trademarked. People use the word paleo which means nothing because as you have written, they revise the program and do whatever they want which defeats the purpose of the original Paleo Diet. I will be doing a paleo program for 30 days to help me get back on schedule with eliminating processed foods and gluten from my diet (for health reasons).

        Like

  6. Dear JM, thank you for replying to this post. I appreciate differing viewpoints. Isn’t it great to live under Grace and get to choose what diet plan we desire? “As for me and my house, I choose to follow the Lord,” Joshua 24:15.

    You might be right and anyone can water down original diet plans. All diet plans are simply a variation on a theme. However if Loren Cordain, Ph.D wanted to make his food plan accessible to all, he would create a way to find a list of foods easily. What I did find under his website list of foods, is that I could purchase supplements, food and other items. I especially enjoyed the option of purchasing his veal rib rack for only $182.99. I actually found two lists of foods under http://ultimatepaleoguide.com/paleo-diet-food-list/ and another at http://ultimatepaleoguide.com/paleo-diet-food-list/

    A true diet is one someone can remain on for life, is nutritionally sound, physiologically based. After 30 days on this plan, then what? What are you eating then? Eating bread, pizza? You’ll hang on to carbs gaining water weight and then blame the carbs as making you fat. As for me, I’ve been able to maintain my weight range of 110-115 for 35 years under God’s plan. But that’s for me, you are different. Enough said.

    Thanks again and best of luck on your plan. Blessings,

    Like

    • Thanks Ellie, you always give sound advice. After the 30 days I will gradually reintroduce certain foods into my regular diet, practice portion control, and limit processed foods. I am a Type-A personality, I need structure. 30 days of paleo is a structured way for me to get back into meal planning, cooking at home, and avoiding the foods that trigger my digestive issues, eczema, and IBS. During the holiday season I went a bit crazy with healthy, yet decadent foods (european cheeses, meats of all kinds, dairy- despite being lactose intolerant, farmers market baked goods, etc.). I was so busy working everyday I neglected to cook, and indulged in all the great foods of the holidays (not junk food, just excess great food provided by catering companies). The food was healthy, but I don’t believe God wants us being greedy over eaters just because the food is healthy. I can’t follow any of those paleo plans for life, no way, too many unnecessary restrictions. God’s plan is for all of us, and thank you for helping to guide us in that direction.

      Like

  7. I think this post is great – I completely agree with you here! As my mum always said everything in moderation. I do however think its ridiculous that over here in Australia they are actually having to market the health benefits in a potato? since when did people not realise these simple things! Most likely when they started eating diet shakes full of god knows what.

    Diet and lifestyle is something I am very passionate about especially having coeliac, it makes you realise the extent of what we actually put in our bodies nowadays! Would love to hear any recommendations of who to study nutrition with online as its something I wish to get into – apparently traveling the world with 2 kids, working, writing and studying counselling aren’t enough to keep me busy! will definitely be bugging your blog for motivation more regularly 🙂 Reading your work is really inspiring me

    Have a fantastic night! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • You my dear lady are quickly becoming one of my favorite followers! (God has ways of keeping me humble because your compliments might make my head explode.) 🙂

      I am so sorry to hear about your debilitating disease. It really keeps you on your toes as to what you can and cannot consume, doesn’t it? You seem so busy, I also hope you can manage your stress level which affects your coeliac challenge. You are a beautiful person inside and out and I’m confident you will conquer this mountain you are attacking! Many prayers for managing this and I’ve written myself a note to write about this topic in the near future to help others.

      I’ve counseled a few patients with celiac, IBS and Crohn’s disease previously but specialized in cardiovascular and diabetic patients. It can be managed but it’s a struggle. Get a good night’s sleep half-way across the world, my friend – Blessings back,

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

