Peace and Contentment

thAK4MS6ZZWhen I was a young child and asked my mother what she wanted for Christmas, she would always reply, “Peace and contentment.”  Okay, I wondered in my childlike mind, how do I package that?

Well, as I grew, I learned that peace and contentment isn’t a thing to be wrapped, it’s an attitude. It can’t be bought, it just is. Love comes from our hearts, minds and spirits . . . and the best love is always given away.

How do you believe God would answer that question if we asked Him what gift He would like from us this Christmas? Wouldn’t it  be the same? For the best gift is something we give of ourselves with the express goal of making another happy. Perhaps that’s why I’ve always thought the best presents were handmade because they were created from the heart.

God doesn’t need presents. Let’s face it, He could write a check for anything He wanted. Speak and it would Be. What He needs and desires is an attitude of love. He loved US enough, even in our most despicable, selfish self, to give the most glorious gift of all, the gift of Salvation through His Son, Jesus Christ.

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life” (John 3:16)

As you unwrap all those material presents this year, remember the real reason for the season amidst all that clutter. Those gifts will deteriorate and pass away but the gift of Salvation lasts for eternity. Accept the most important Gift God offers to us, an eternity of peace and contentment.

“But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8)

Merry Christmas to all and I pray our attitudes continually express peace and contentment,  for we have been very blessed indeed.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Peace and Contentment

  1. Wonderful message Ellie, I posted a few days ago a message on my Facebook wall after noticing that I was only seeing pictures of presents; ” The best gifts of Christmas are not those under your Christmas tree, but those that are to be find in your heart: Peace, Joy, Happiness and the Love of your family and friends.” I believe this all comes out of the love of God! Thanks a lot for sharing your wonderful story Ellie! Wishing you lots of blessings, joy and love! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Nadyess. What you say is so true and why there is such an emptiness in the human spirit. I see many attempting to fill the soul with addictive items that are basically worthless in the end.

      Food, drink, alcohol, sex, shopping or any other worldly item will never supply the TRUE JOY that hungry people search for. It’s what makes counseling so interesting and yet so frustrating sometimes. So many won’t accept the Truth of Christ anymore than they will accept the nutritional and physiological truth I present to them . . . sigh. Well on THAT happy note, I wish you the greatest of joy for a New Year my dear friend. I am blessed to know you,

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahhh, that we as Children of the one True Living God would express love is all situations! Such a good post Ellie. Love is one of the greatest weapons of spiritual warfare.

    Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

