Healthy Potato Chips??? Really?

thN961LBREWhat is it about these celebrities and endorsements regarding food? It never fails to amaze me how people will totally follow some advice spoken by a popular figure but fail to research Truth.

I heard a very respected, female morning news anchor (who I truly enjoy listening to) excitedly announce recently, ” . . . and they are gluten-free!!!” insinuating that the type of potato chips she was sampling was a healthy alternative to junk food.

News Flash:  Potatoes have no gluten and have always BEEN gluten-free. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley which gives bread its chewiness. Have you ever eaten a “chewy” potato? Hope not.

Besides that, these are POTATO CHIPS  containing nearly two teaspoons of fat per 1 ounce and 140 calories! (And who can stop at one ounce?) And if you are a curious person (as I am) you’d probably try each type and overload on those fat calories. Healthy? God gave you free will, you make the call. If you indulge, drink water and exercise to burn it off. Then you are in control, rather than the potato chip controlling you.

For a fun holiday treat, Boulder Canyon Kettle Cooked Canyon Cut Potato Chips might be a better alternative than regular chips at 3 teaspoons of fat per ounce, but make no mistake, this is not a healthy food. Remember as we read in 1 Corinthians 10:23, “”I have the right to do anything,” you say–but not everything is beneficial. “I have the right to do anything”–but not everything is constructive.” Losing control by overindulging is never constructive to the spirit.

Potatoes without tons of butter, bacon, sour cream and cheese, are extremely healthy but still get a bad rap when it comes to diets. A potato contains vitamins A, E, D, K, C, B1, B2, B3, B6, folate, choline, calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, zinc, copper, manganese, selenium and the potato skin contains an average of 4 grams of valuable fiber. God placed the potato in the Garden of Eden and urged us to consume it. (Genesis 1:29) Who are these fallible diet gurus to say God made a mistake?

My mantra, which I have emphasized over and over again is, Eat For Nutrients, not calories, fat grams or any one food group. Balance is the key to health and anything is fine in moderation. Please don’t be manipulated by misleading advertising.

This reminds me of the perplexed man I met at the grocery store one day.  I noticed him taking one bottle of cooking oil after another off the shelf, diligently searching over each label. When I asked if he needed help; he replied that he was looking for one which contained no cholesterol. I gently told him that no oil contained cholesterol. But he announced, “But one particular oil stated it contained NO cholesterol and I can’t remember which one.”  I politely told him that since cholesterol is only made by the liver and olives and other vegetables have no liver, there’s no fear of selecting any one of those on the shelf. None had cholesterol, advertisers were simply manipulating the public. He seemed skeptical and I moved on.

Oh well. I’ll pray that you prefer to not be a media sheep following any advice without checking it out.

“For the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man’s strength.”  (1 Corinthians 1:25)

 

30 thoughts on “Healthy Potato Chips??? Really?

  1. That drives me nuts! I admit, it took until I started getting sick (some undiagnosed autoimmune disease) until I learned about eating healthy, taking supplements, etc. How much healthier would a big baked potato with a little real butter be than a bag of chips? So much healthier! And tastier! And chips are so addictive—“You can’t eat just one!” So you end up eating so many unhealthy calories!

    The gluten free things aggravates me, too. As someone who has to eat gluten and dairy free because it makes my immune system inflamed, I get a little irked when a product is deemed healthy just because it is gluten-free. Gluten-free junk food is out there, too.

    Off my soapbox…. 🙂

    Like

    • Great comment! What you stated is so true. I have worked with many who have legitimate reasons to consume gluten free foods (such as with celiac disease) due to some immune challenges. It is a debilitating way to eat so my heart goes out to you. I had a patient who could only eat rice, chicken, lamb and some vegetables. Talk about challenging!

      Thanks for your support and your comment, blessings,

      Like

  2. your mention of the potato skins and the healthy fiber they contain reminds me of how my Grandmother never pealed her potato when making the best potato soup I can remember! God bless you for such a good message – and timely given the season too! 🙂

    Like

    • I loved both your comments Ms. Energy! ( I also believe you would enjoy Planting Potatoes and her blog – she has some excellent things to say over at her site.) It really disturbs me that celebrities have so much influence over our young children’s thought patterns. The more this generation fails to read and think for themselves, the more this tide is turning toward the “dark side.” Blessings to you my friend,

      Like

  3. So very interesting and informative. The public is so misinformed and misguided by labels these companies use. Most people would choose the “healthy” potato chips over a real baked potato (myself included.) I really like the eat for nutrients mantra.

    Like

  4. I laughed when you mentioned that potatoes have always been gluten free. People will always distort facts to sell some new product. Just goes to show how some people really don’t research and just follow the crowd.

    Like

  5. Yes Ellie, wise advice, balance in all things good, cigarettes and drugs aren’t good when used in addiction, surprisingly even tobacco has some good health qualities but not when smoked.

    I think I have tried most diets at least once, I couldn’t eat Bananas for a long time after being on a Banana diet but even with fat, when I eliminated it almost completely from my diet, my skin was like sandpaper and other problems resulted too, yes all things in balance.

    Christian Love in Christ Jesus – Anne

    Like

      • Great I will look forward to reading your warnings Ellie, it will be interesting as as well as informative to see how many dangerous Diets there are now but they all have one thing in common besides being unbalanced, they all start with Die!

        My groups were called Christian Weight Control and later Heavenly Lights, they were all about eating in balance and accepting ourselves as people of worth regardless of how much we weighed, the focus was on health and inner beauty in Christ Jesus.

        Blessings – Anne

        Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

