Discovering Arizona Versus Ohio’s Culinary Habits

thH60L760RIt’s SNOWING outside our new home in Ohio!!! My hubby and I haven’t seen snow since 1992. It’s beautiful, even the dogs enjoy frolicking in the stuff. Great, but now that I’ve seen snow in all its glory, spring can’t come soon enough! If we can’t cross-country ski in it, I’ll stay inside. Can’t remember how to drive in it . . . and don’t own snowshoes. I don’t enjoy hibernating but that’s the tendency for many during inclement weather. Stay home and watch movies all day long.

Have you ever noticed how as the temperatures change, so do your food cravings?  In summer of course, we might long for an ice cream sundae, iced tea, cool salads or watermelon and when it’s overcast and snowing, we crave chili, stews, banana bread, hot cocoa or chocolate chip cookies.

I remembering joking about my winter weight versus summer weight but in Arizona I kept a constant weight and daily exercise was so much easier to maintain. But if you long for hot fudge cake and pumpkin bread, remember anything is fine in moderation.

If you are in control of your cravings and your cravings don’t control you, you can make good quality, seasonal selections and still maintain a healthy weight. But if certain foods are a trigger and you go off the deep end and can’t stop eating, stay away from those temptations. Why make food a golden idol of worship?

“Their destiny is destruction, their god is their stomach, and their glory is in their shame. Their mind is set on earthly things.”( Philippians 3:19)

Try these flavorful ways to cook or bake:

  1. Use less sugar and butter in baking. Tastes can be re-trained.  It’s amazing how greasy or sweet foods taste after you return to consuming them. I’ve never, but some have used applesauce or other fruit to retain texture and moisture. I’d like to know if any readers have tried it and how it worked.
  2. Salt is an acquired taste. Usually babies grimace when tasting salt for the first time. Gradually cut down and add more herbs, garlic and even vinegar to bring out flavors.
  3. When you create your beef recipes such as Hungarian goulash, stew or chili recipes, brown your meat and place in a colander and rinse gently with hot water. Then place it back in the crock pot.  It’s herbs, spices and seasonings that make food tasty. Fat only coats the tongue, so the brain craves more of it to satisfy.
  4. The tendency in winter to eat larger portions, so during these months, remember to substitute smaller lunch plates for your dinner portions.
  5. If salads don’t seem to satisfy during these cold winter months, substitute them with cooked apples or other fruit flavored with cinnamon, an insulin stabilizer.
  6. Hot soups make another great salad substitute. Replace heavier cream soups with a combination of light evaporated milk and 1% milk to lower its caloric count.
  7. Light broth soups can be created with lots of great hearty, filling vegetables. Remember potatoes, corn, carrots, turnips, etc. are not fattening and provide wonderful nutrients and fiber.  Fibrous foods expand and keep you fuller longer.
  8. If you over-indulge, forgive yourself and eat less fattening foods during future meals. Remember you’re human and overeating is not an unforgiveable sin. Just remember that you should love the Lord more than food!

“So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.”  (1 Corinthians 10:31)

Search for ways to create less fattening varieties of foods and if you have a suggestion I’d love to include for others through my comment section.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Discovering Arizona Versus Ohio’s Culinary Habits

  1. You are so right! I am originally from Youngstown, OH and understand the winter food cravings:-) Here in Northern VA/DC area, it has been unseasonably cold. So far I made beef stew, apple cake, butternut squash soup, and chili. Enough to freeze some. And I will be making turkey pot pie, unstuffed cabbage, and pumpkin bread soon. My trick is to make a lot, and then freeze for later consumption. That way, we don’t go overboard with portion size. (there is only my husband, my mom and me in our household now)

    The Youngstown area had AWESOME homemade pierogies…many flavors. The churches would make them regularly. Yum…I miss those ethnic foods. I don’t think there is a low calorie version of those:-(

    Like

    • Stop!!! You’re making me hungry, it all sounds so delicious. Those are great tips! That’s a wonderful way to create individual meals that can be taken out of the freezer when we’re busy, just like some purchase for big bucks from the grocery store. (Except you’re smarter and it doesn’t cost nearly as much, plus it’s better for you.) I think pierogies are popular here too but I have never made them. Something to look forward to. Blessings,

      Like

  2. Hi Ellie, Congratulations with your new home! 🙂 I wonder why I don’t receive your posts in the ” Blogs I follow” section. And because of that I miss your posts. 😦 Again another nice post you filled with great tips. Thanks a lor for sharing. Wishing you a wonderful and blessed week! And I’ll be visiting soon again.

    Like

    • What a lovely compliment, thank you for missing me. Yeah, we haven’t even lived here a month yet – some things are still in boxes. Totally different from Arizona and I’m so grateful the people are so welcoming, warm and friendly. You can read all about my adventures in several of my previous posts this past month though. It was amazing how God worked this all out so perfectly! Thanks for missing me – I’ve missed so many posts from others since we didn’t have internet for so long.

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

