“What Difference Will It Make?”

thGVZJYTG2Lately the phrase “What difference does it make?” has become a punch-line. It has flippantly been construed as “So what?” “Why do you care?” “Won’t change anything!”

Have you felt the same way? Thought one little action wouldn’t make a bit of difference? Well life’s circumstances DO make a difference!  One vote changed history and so did one tent meeting the night Billy Graham was saved. One person or action does make a difference!

It will make a difference to your entire mind, body and spirit:

In your mental aspect, perception becomes reality.

“For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he” (Proverbs 23:7a)

There was a time as a beginning golfer, I apprehensively approached  any golf shot that needed to be hit over a water hazard. After my ball landed in the water, I’d mutter, “I knew I was going to do that.” My golf pro husband would then tell me, “Well, that’s why you did. If you think you will, you will.”  I had created a self-professing prophesy. It took a while to mentally change my outlook to one of confidence, but I did. Now, I walk onto the tee-box and mentally state, “I own this hole!” By doing so, I have been able to view a successful shot in my mind and thus conquered my insecurities. So what difference does a mental outlook make? It either instills confidence or holds you back. Choose confidence, it’s better.

With your spirit, it affects attitude and demeanor.

Growing up were you instilled with an encouraging “can-do” personality?  Or did you feel unloved, worthless? Did you feel defeated by circumstances, classmates and family?   Were words spoken by a boss or co-worker used as a sword, wounding your spirit? Did it get so bad you regretted that you were even born? A broken spirit is more difficult to mend than a broken bone. Please don’t believe the lies of the devil who whispers in your ear that you are useless. You have worth because God created you. He knew you before you were born and loved you even then. When we allow the world to overcome our spirit, we will incur ramifications and needless suffering. Choose JOY.

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” (Jeremiah 1:5)

To your physical being, it changes health and outer appearance.

Before you sit down to consume the entire bag of candy, Frito’s or potato chips in front of the TV, ask yourself, “What difference will it make?” Will that overly processed, chemically altered food enrich your life or eventually destroy it through illness? Will it give you more energy? Prevent artery clogging heart disease? Will it allow you to dance at your child’s wedding, hike a mountain or play with your children? Or will you feel sluggish and pass up any opportunity for companionship because you are too exhausted carrying around excess weight?

Ask yourself before you overindulge and destroy your godly temple with junk food, “What difference will this make?” Which action will encourage you to strive for excellence in your daily walk with the Lord? No contest . . . choose mental, physical and spiritual health!

“Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet; but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”  (Philippians 3: 13-14)

 

6 thoughts on ““What Difference Will It Make?”

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

