Would You Be a Winner at the Westminster Dog Show?

thMBW82FMMHave you ever watched The Westminster Dog Show on TV?  When you watched it for the first time, I bet you wondered how in the world someone could judge a Border Collie against a Scottish Terrier or Bloodhound, right?

As the commentator explains during each year’s show, each breed is judged against its own standard. Meaning, is this the best example of any Border Collie as required by its standard in the American Kennel Club rule book?

Well, that Pug is never actually judged against that cute little Bichon Frisé. That would be unfair.  Why?  Because he doesn’t have the same bone structure, temperament, looks or characteristics of the other breed, that’s why. Each dog is created uniquely.

So are we. Each one of us is unique. And as such, we need to judge ourselves against the standards found in our rule book; God’s Holy Bible. Ask yourself, “Do I exemplify Jesus’s high standards?”

Someone attempting to become healthier is addressing a similar challenge. We are each unique. We are commanded to strive for personal excellence, not compete against the world’s standards of beauty.

“. . . whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” (Philippians 4:8)

I am unique. My bone structure is different than Mary’s and my personality’s different from Andrea’s.  But why would someone want to be me? Am I representing God’s image as one to aspire to?  I realize God loves me as I am, but that shouldn’t give me license to abuse my earthly body.  So I must ask myself, am I the best Ellie, (or Sandy, Judy, Fred) that I could be according to the standards God set for me?

Some scoff, “Why is it important for Christians to be healthy in the first place?  After all, these bodies are only temporary, right?”

“But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us.” (2 Corinthians 4:7)  

Some say we’ll live forever in our beautiful new bodies anyway, so why not live life to the fullest now? Why? Because we are commanded by Scriptures to keep our bodies holy, that’s why.  Lust, gluttony and being out-of-control is sin!

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 states, “Do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own, you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body.”

Every woman was not meant to be 120 lbs. and look like Jennifer Aniston.  Every man was not meant to be 6ft. and 190 lbs. and look like George Clooney.  It would be a pretty boring world if we did.  Do you remember an old Twilight Zone episode based on the concept of beauty? In the future, a one-world society discourages individuality and insures that all human kind exemplifies only several basic models of beauty. Everyone looked, spoke and acted alike, losing their identity. Robotic. So who are we to shake our fist at God and complain about how he made us? Embrace your differences for the world’s idea of beauty changes but God’s heart doesn’t.

Have you ever noticed how people so often resemble their pets? Well perhaps you’re a poodle, Cocker spaniel, bulldog or a bloodhound, but all dogs are cute in their own way and each has value! You have worth simply because you are!

 “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;” (Psalm 139:14)

16 thoughts on “Would You Be a Winner at the Westminster Dog Show?

  1. This post is right on and pretty much details what most of us struggle with from early childhood. I remember as a teenager that my standard of beauty for years was Seventeen Magazine. I used to agonize over things like, “How can I look like the fresh faced beauties on those pages?!” “I hate my freckles, my eyes are too close together, I am so fat and pale, how come I can’t look like all the skinny tanned girls on these Cali beaches?!” Hard to grow up in sunny San Diego and not be tanned and skinny. And I suffered from an eating disorder for 20 years, believing all the lies the enemy would throw at me. I remember years later looking at myself in the mirror and having an epiphany. I am fearfully and wonderfully made! And, guess what Ellie, my eyes are NOT too close together! They never were. HAHA!! I had to laugh and thank God for showing me just what you have stated here. I am His creation, unique and treasured. In my job working with middle schoolers I often have the opportunity to discuss body image and the world’s take on beauty. I get to share my own experiences with them and let them know that God loves them, He created them for a purpose and that He does not make mistakes. It is a privilege to help these precious beautiful children and it continues to be a part of my own healing in this journey.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Wibbly Wobbly Weightloss…I’m Late | At The Well

  3. Ellie,
    What an insightful post ! A lot of thinking and analysing has gone into it, for sure.
    I liked the real life lesson and then the Biblical one following it- its like a Sunday School class. I learn a lot from your blog about the Bible and how we need to read it and apply it to our lives.
    True, body image and how we see our bodies matter but above all, our earthly bodies need to be respected and taken care of ( I don’t often and often harm it even by gluttony).
    Susie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Susie you are truly a ray of shining hope to me that my words touch lives. Thank you so much for your insightful comment! You’re right – New Creations Ministries is the connection of the entire mental, physical and spiritual relationship to food. That is what my book, “Life’s Too Short to Eat Bad Cheese . . .” (Nutritional and Lie Lessons God Teaches Us) is all about. God doesn’t make junk! He made you and you are not junk! But why do we self-destruct? We wouldn’t think of dropping trash on the floor of the Holy Temple of Jersusalem so why do we throw trash in our own bodily temple?

      Thank you for taking the time to read my posts. Having you as a follower is the best Christmas present I’ve received, 🙂 Blessings my new friend

      Like

    • Susie you are truly a ray of shining hope to me that my words touch lives. Thank you so much for your insightful comment! You’re right – New Creations Ministries is the connection of the entire mental, physical and spiritual relationship to food. That is what my book, “Life’s Too Short to Eat Bad Cheese . . .” (Nutritional and Lie Lessons God Teaches Us) is all about. God doesn’t make junk! He made you and you are not junk! But why do we self-destruct? We wouldn’t think of dropping trash on the floor of the Holy Temple of Jersusalem so why do we throw trash in our own bodily temple?

      Thank you for taking the time to read my posts. Having you as a follower is the best Christmas present I’ve received, 🙂 Blessings my new friend

      Liked by 1 person

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

