Restore in Me a New Heart and Attitude!

 10381978_807405292633106_4587859825062026460_n[1]

Years of being beaten down by life can take its toll on someone’s mind, body and spirit. Do you believe the whispers of the devil when he states you can’t be successful or you have no value? Lies. Satan wants you to self-destruct, destroying your bodily temple so others will look at you and have no desire to be a Christian. Why would someone ever desire to be a disciplined, honorable Christian if that person can’t control their own lifestyle? Would anyone ever wake up and profess, “Wow, I can’t wait to be as unhealthy as Esmeralda today?!”

Actually some do.

“Sylvester” at 550 plus pounds, was so heavy he had to be weighed on a postal scale. The physicians and I worked with him, encouraging a healthier lifestyle but to no avail. Each week only brought excuses. The doctors and I kept encouraging him, not charging for our services. Two doctors even purchased food and a hospital bed out of their own pockets. Nevertheless this man eventually went on The Richard Simmons Show, lamenting the fact that he was utterly alone; because no one had come forward to help him. Of course this man’s sorrowful plight received Richard Simmons utmost sympathy. Sadly Sylvester died about ten years ago, still grossly overweight and “utterly alone.”

Power comes in many forms and this was how Sylvester embraced power. The doctors had offered Sylvester their free gift of assistance which he ultimately rejected, preferring the celebrity attention his weight derived on national television.  Is this how you would want to live? Let’s face it every obese person begins merely five pounds overweight at one point. Then something happens and they stop fighting for their health. This can be a variation of mental, physical or spiritual factors. Discovering true recognition on the patient’s part is one rewarding reason I became a nutritional counselor.

Christ also offers us the free gift of salvation and how many turn that down as well? Do we recognize our need for salvation?

“For you are saved by grace through faith, and this is not from yourselves; it is God’s gift–” (Ephesians 2:8)

There is freedom in becoming new! Do you believe you’re worth living for?  Is it worth it to you to choose a healthy, well-balanced life honoring our Lord? (Now I have mentioned many times that any food is fine in moderation if you are not allergic to it or have a health reason to avoid it, but when any food controls you it becomes your idol and an addiction, your personal Asherah pole.)

Circumstances in life can make or break someone. The cartoon above is funny and also so true. Circumstances from our past mold us but we choose our destiny! I have known Holocaust victims who have chosen joy over bitterness. I have seen smiles on cancer patients and even joy from the terminally ill as I counseled them nutritionally, hoping to extend their lives.

We choose our attitude! I  have gone through some of the worse this world can deliver and am still standing! I chose the Joy of Christ, who went to the cross willingly for despicable me. It is an unfathomable love.  I urge you to find that joy within as I have which rejects Satan’s lies. Stand tall and proclaim that you are someone worth fighting for as well!

“Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” (2 Corinthians 5:17)

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Restore in Me a New Heart and Attitude!

  1. Thanks for posting this today. This is a battle ground for me. I fight with depression and low self-esteem on a regular basis. About 8 years ago I did really well and started turning my life around. I lost 52 lbs in a little over 5 months and went back to college. But then I lost my focus and started believing I was worthless again (even though there was evidence to the contrary). Now I am trying to start again and it is harder this time. I am morbidly obese and have physical problems because of it. But I am trying to change my lifestyle and I know that it isn’t God’s will for my life that I be fat and unhappy. He wants me to be productive and I know that his plan for me is way better than what I’ve given myself.

    Like

    • Oh thoughtbugs, you have truly touched my heart today. How I wish I could reach across the miles and give you a hug. That’s right, you are NOT worthless! God made you and He cannot make junk! You are precious in His sight and it grieves Him when you remain unhealthy mentally and physically. What a testimony you could be for someone else who is struggling. I hope you have support partners who care about you already.

      It took an enormous amount of discipline to lose those 52 pounds. Try to remember what happened just before to make you suddenly stop and that will be a clue to what prevents you from getting healthy. (Did someone make a snide remark, expect more from you than you could give, sabotage or scare you off?) There’s always a reason and you are not a failure for searching for truth. Weigh your choices in the balance each time and choose goodness! Start with small goals and work your way forward. If you make a mistake, so what? You’re still proceeding forward!!! If I can do anything else to keep you motivated, please ask for you already have my prayers,

      Like

    • Oh bezzymates, you just discovered what is the worst part of being a counselor.

      As much as I want someone to get healthy they must want it more than I want it for them. That is the essence of New Creations Ministries. Real change, just like salvation, starts from within. It is an individual endeavor but oh so satisfying when achieved – for no one else lives inside our bodies but us and we get to choose. I choose LIFE! Thank you for your insightful comment and blessings back to you,

      Like

  2. My dear sister Ellie,
    This is a timely post. I have been doing a Christ-centered online course for freedom from overeating and habitual sin. I have almost finished the 2 month course and have not been disciplined or honest with my mentor. And I have balked at the discipline and accountability. I was trying to blame this on their “judgmental” attitude. The truth is they were speaking the truth in love and I was being prideful and dishonest about my eating habits and progress. Today I finally broke down after being convicted about my attitude. I had been asking God for a truly repentant heart. I have the resurrection power of Jesus Christ available to me for discipline and healing, and yet I allow my appetite to enslave me and I keep Him up on that Precious Cross where He suffered my sin and shame. I have been worshipping the vain and empty idol of food. With God’s help, that asherah pole is being destroyed and I moving towards the Cross and the freedom and healing it offers. THIS IS NOT ABOUT ME! It never has been. It is all about Jesus and living a life that glorifies Him. I am so sorry for what I have done to my body all these years and how poor of a testimony I have had. But there is hope for me in Christ; there is hope for all who will believe and obey.

    Wendy

    Like

    • Oh Wendy, I am so grateful that God opened your heart through this blog. I know you can do this and if you need encouragement just ask me!

      Just as each of us must stand in front of God and answer what we have done on this earth, each must decide what we have done with the body He has given us. It’s very tough to reduce what we enjoy, such as sugar or chocolate. However,Jesus doesn’t say to give up anything except sin. Placing food as an idol before our Lord IS sin but as it allows in 1 Corinthians 10:23, anything is permissible but not everything is beneficial. Eat in moderation and enjoy what God has provided with a disciplined life. Blessings,

      Like

      • My sister,
        I do need encouragement and will hit you up for it, thank you! Yes, you are right about
        1 Corinthians 10:23, that is my motivating verse! John Piper does an excellent sermon on this and encourages us to not be enslaved to anything, but to seek freedom in Christ. I refer to it often. I had lost hope and really thought I could not and would not ever have victory over my sinful eating habits. So to know you and others are rooting for me means so much. I will keep you posted!

        Wendy

        Like

  3. It is True Ellie as you shared , we need to care for our Bodies but unfortunately this can become an obsession, as it did with me, the need not to be rejected motivated me to almost die trying to be acceptable to the worlds view of what is OK, unfortunately at the time Twiggy was the super model and many young girls became Anorexia trying to compete.

    Romans 14:16-18 Therefore do not let your good be spoken of as evil; for the Kingdom of God is not eating and drinking, but Righteousness and Peace and Joy in the Holy Spirit. For he who serves Christ in these things is acceptable to God and approved by men.

    1 Corinthians 8:8 But food does not commend us to God; for neither if we eat are we the better, nor if we do not eat are we the worse.

    God understands our weaknesses and shortcomings and does not judge us as others sometimes do. He is Loving and compassionate and also understanding of our inner pain and what motivates us to do what we do. He wants to heal us and complete us in Christ Jesus, even in regard to our overeating for emotional reasons or because of fear and also because of lack of self -worth, which often the weight loss media promote, if you don’t look good on the outside than your not and your a failure or to some even a sinner.

    It’s True, if people judge others hearts, meaning their Christianity on how they look on the outside, they are very shallow in their own heart focus , some of the most Loving Christian woman I have ever known, did not fit into the accepted size range for their height, one of the problems was their hearts were so big, they weighed heaps!

    Although bad life experiences can teach us, they can also leave deep wounds that need to be healed and some become very bitter and with others although it may give them understanding, it does not give them Godly compassion, which only comes from The Holy Spirit empowering us, as we can see below.

    2 Corinthians 1:3-5 Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort; Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God. For as the sufferings of Christ abound in us, so our consolation also aboundeth by Christ.

    What is the most important is we accept ourselves just the way we are because God does and than with His guidance as you said Ellie we Trust in Him to empower us as we choose to focus on healthy eating.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

  4. The Word of God is our plumb line. I have counseled women who were addicted to exercise and it became their idol. God wants us to be balanced, resting on the Bible as our anchor. He gave us common sense for a reason and that is why I enjoy counseling, restoring balance back into someone’s life. Thank you for your comment Anne, Blessings,

    Like

    • Thank you for that comment my dear friend. Yes, we both have a tender heart and it breaks mine when someone refuses help as it did yours with your brother. (Of course I always change names to protect one’s identity) It gives us an insightful perspective on how Jesus must feel when he offers eternal life only to be rejected. (But happily: I hope your children created that chart and you are on your way to success surrounded by their loving encouragement!) Blessings,

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

