Be Your Own Best Friend and Also God’s!

Are we truly a friend of God’s, exemplifying peace, joy and kindness in the world? If I claim to be a Christian, it’s important for me to ‘walk the walk,’ otherwise I am a stumbling block for those who are watching me and this grieves the Holy Spirit. When I was young, I expected perfection from myself. Over the years I took steps to be more realistic, but it wasn’t easy. Change isn’t instantaneous. For me it was usually five steps forward, two steps back. If that’s you too, remember we’re still moving forward!

It’s amazing how the mind can be one’s most motivational cheerleader and friend one moment and in a blink of an eye, be its worst enemy. It can build up but also break down a person so emotionally that they hide their subconscious thoughts behind closed lady looking in a mirrordoors in a far-off corner of the mind. It is simply too painful to unlock the memories to view them honestly.

It’s the same with our nutritional health. It’s never easy to admit our part in failure. Occasionally a dieter blames failure on heredity. Genes do play an important role in one’s bone structure, ability to lose and how one ends up with the body shape they have. But so does self-destructive eating, pride, unconscious eating, people pleasing, peer pressure and even revenge.

One diabetic patient insisted there was absolutely nothing to be done about her weight gain due to it “being in her genes.” Possibly, I thought. Some are predisposed to genetic challenges.  But then later that month I saw the small family pet at the vet clinic, overweight by 20 lbs. and wondered sadly what genes the dog had? Clearly personal lifestyle habits factored in and this patient was in denial.

Unfortunately many, such as my patient above, deny reality, preferring to bury truth deep inside the recesses of the mind and find excuses. The fantasy land they desire is better than the factual one they live in.

Awareness is the first step in anyone’s recovery.  Until one knows why he/she acts in a particular way, they won’t change. This only masks the problem.

“The integrity of the upright guides them, but the crookedness of the treacherous destroys them.” (Proverbs 1:3)

Think back. Every overweight person had only five pounds to lose at first. Then it became ten, then twenty and on and on. Why?  What occurred originally to make them self-destruct? Was it abuse, rebellion, overwhelming problems with seemingly no way out?  At that time reach outward instead of withdrawing within, find a trusted friend, pastor or organization such as Against Abuse to confide in. Just because someone you see wears a smile, doesn’t mean they haven’t experienced deep pain. In fact, it usually means they are survivors and learned how to cope. Don’t you want to know how they overcame challenges so you can too?

Reaching out to another person isn’t weakness! It takes a strong individual to humble themselves and ask for help. Even Jesus cried out for help in the Garden. But then he resolved within himself to find the strength to continue his mission for our souls. He went boldly toward Calvary. Praise God he didn’t give up on us! How can we then justify giving up and not present our best temple of the Holy Spirit to Him? Strive to discover that best friend within that God knows you are, because He resides in you! Utilize His strength!

“We are careful to be honorable before the Lord, but we also want everyone else to see that we are honorable.”  (2 Corinthians 8:21)

 

21 thoughts on “Be Your Own Best Friend and Also God’s!

  1. Ellie, this is very timely for me. God has been showing me that food is an idol in my life, something I have placed before Him. I have wept over that for the pass few days, thankful that God is giving me a repentant heart. This past week I have been falling back into sinful eating habits. But I now have a mentor working with me and helping me with accountability. I needed help and could not walk this alone. Great post. The truth really is what sets us free.

    Like

    • HI Wendy, I am so glad this post was able to help you and that you have personal support at home. You made my day, thank you!

      I have written another post that might help you, entitled, “Get Rid of Your Asherah Poles” just put Asherah poles in my search engine above and it’ll pop up. Making idols out of food is so common, especially among Christians who condemn other sins. Yes anything we love more than our Lord is an idol. Stay strong!

      Like

      • I just read the Asherah Pole post. I work at a middle school where idolatry is rampant and so insidious in its ability to enslave us, our youth and our culture. For years I was not aware of the functional idol of food that I worshipped and was guilty of condemning other sins. Keep speaking truth Ellie and I will continue to ask God to give me a new heart, to help me to stay strong and focused on the Word. Blessings my sister!

        Like

  2. Thank you for letting me know. I am so grateful that post helped you. We never think of food as an idol but it’s one of the most common idols in our lives! Anything we place before our Lord and controls our lives instead of us controlling IT, is an idol. (We all struggle with something that we might love more than God so I point the finger at myself first before condemning anyone else.) Taking positive evasive action helps. Blessings for your strength Wendy! Appreciate you,

    Like

    • Thanks Pastor Joe! I always appreciate your encouragement. (Oh by the way, my book “Life’s too short to eat bad cheese . . .” should be coming out in another month and I’m so excited! Please pray it will be well received as a mental, physical, spiritual motivational book targeting Christians. Blessings and hope your book reaches those who need it most too.

      Like

  3. Ellie, I’m finally ready to make the necessary changes to take care of myself. I’m really ready but kinda at a loss of where to begin. Please, please pray for me…

    Like

  4. Wow! I absolutely love this message. It hit home for me. You shared that “mind can be one’s most motivational cheerleader and friend one moment and in a blink of an eye, be its worst enemy.” This is a constant struggle for me. However, I’m trying to build strength to have discipline. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Thank you for your sweet comment Zoiee. It is so true that “as a man thinketh within himself, so is he.” (Proverbs 23:7) I constantly have to weigh the pros and cons of health too. It would be so easy to give in, but liking myself and God’s approval always sways me to the pros, 🙂 (Knowing a motivating Bible verse helped me too!) Blessings and stay as positive as you can be!

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

