What is it about “Know It All’s” that irks us so?

Unfortunately I will never know all there is about physiology or nutrition no matter how many years I study! But that’s what’s so awesome about it; there is so much left to learn! The more I learn about it, the more vibrant, alive and knowledgeable my life becomes.

thZ0KYCQF0So why is it when I meet others who profess to know all about certain subjects, like Christian doctrine, do I tend to bristle? I don’t like it when others rub me the wrong way. I become critical and that’s not what God wants.

As in most aspects of my life, a Bible verse will come to my mind to bring thoughts into perspective and clarify the situation. All of a sudden I realized why it bugged me: it’s about attitude!

Let me relate two different scenarios.

I spoke at a lovely women’s Bible group last week. It was such a blessing!  Even more so as one guest was an experienced nurse, very knowledgeable about nutrition. During my two hour conference she smiled encouraging and nodded her head in agreement and afterwards expressed her thanks to me.

“I learned a lot today,” she told me as she gave me a hug.

“That’s a relief,” I confessed. “Of all those present, you had so many years of training that I was sure you might have disagreed with something I said. It kept me on my toes!”

“Oh no, there is always something new to learn.”

Attending another Christian session this past week, a man in the audience took over the forum, nearly monopolizing the conversation by conveying how much he knew on the speaker’s subject. Later, very few asked questions and it wasn’t difficult to understand why. They were held hostage by fear. What if that same individual embarrassed them for their “naïve” opinion? How could anyone feel comfortable around someone who projected they knew everything already?

Reminder: There is actually only One who knows ALL and that is our All-Knowing God. For even Jesus stated that he didn’t know when the end time would occur:

“But concerning that day or that hour, no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.” (Mark 13:32)

So perhaps this is what irks me: Jesus was a humble man. “Know it all’s” act like pompous mini-gods. False gods can entice others away from the Truth if they profess their own truth. Just look at the Jim Jones or Heaven’s Gate cult. Remember we must test the spirits as commanded by 1 John 4:1.

Second, growing up poor, I hate waste. Sadly it’s a waste of one’s spiritual gift of knowledge to scare others away from seeking it. Attendees probably had a few provocative questions but failed to ask them.  The Pharisee (Luke 18: 9-14)  bragged to God that he was so grateful he wasn’t like that despicable tax collector over there. All the while the tax collector humbly prayed, “Have mercy on me oh Lord, a sinner.”  The Pharisee with all his knowledge wasn’t useful to God!  He already knew everything!  But did he use that knowledge beneficially? Did he offer to pray with the tax collector? Help others? Use his knowledge for good? No.

Compassion is universal. We can’t bless others by putting them down! Knowledge and wisdom are different. Knowledge consists of facts. Wisdom discerns where and how to use those facts. May our words always be a blessing and constructive to others.

“But by His doing you are in Christ Jesus, who became to us wisdom from God, and righteousness and sanctification, and redemption” ( 1 Corinthians 1:30)

15 thoughts on “What is it about “Know It All’s” that irks us so?

  1. I believe Ellie we need to share God’s Truth as He leads us and yes He may lead others to share His Truth with us but He also warns that will be those who because of their worldly pride will have itching ears and will only want to have their own fleshy understanding approved of, even though they are in error, they are also not genuine in offering Godly Love but have their own agenda.

    Jesus tells us that when we Stand up for Him we will be rejected, hated, ignored, and yes even killed and what we share about His Truth will also rejected and ignored by those in darkness.

    The Scriptures confirm (see below) that we are to give both encouragement and correction and if needed to rebuke and warm those who sin, it is not Love to let others walk in deception or fall into Satan’s Trap.

    2Timothy 3:16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man/woman of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.

    What a lot of people do not understand Ellie, is when Jesus was on earth His knowledge of God’s time for Mankind before the end was limited but He is with The Father now and knows all things being in the Godhead or Trinity as they are called today and He guides us into all Truth.

    1 Thessalonians 5 :2 -6 For yourselves know perfectly that the day of the Lord so cometh as a thief in the night. For when they shall say, Peace and safety; then sudden destruction cometh upon them, as travail upon a woman with child; and they shall not escape. But ye, brethren, are not in darkness, that day should overtake you as a thief. Ye are all the children of light, and the children of the day: we are not of the night, nor of darkness. Therefore let us not sleep, as do others; but let us watch and be sober.

    Matthew 10:26-28 Fear them not therefore: for there is nothing covered, that shall not be revealed; and hid, that shall not be known. What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in light: and what ye hear in the ear, that preach ye upon the housetops (KJV) (perhaps our computers).

    Will others accept what God tells us in His written word, when we share, if they ask for His wisdom and believe they have received it yes they will but if they Trust in their own fleshy understanding or others they won’t understand, it will just be foolishness to them. (1Corinthians2:9-16) Having the mind of Christ is not something they know about either.

    1John 2:26-28 These things have I written unto you concerning them that seduce you. But the anointing which ye have received of Him abideth in you, and ye need not that any man teach you but as the same anointing teacheth you of all things, and is Truth, and is no lie, and even as it hath taught you, ye shall abide in Him.

    Colossians 2 :2 -3 That their hearts might be comforted, being knit together in Love, and unto all riches of the full assurance of understanding, to the acknowledgement of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.

    1John 5:20 And we know that the Son of God is come, and hath given us an understanding, that we may know Him that is True, and we are in Him that is True, even in His Son Jesus Christ. This is the True God, and eternal life.

    Psalm 32:8 I will instruct you and teach you in the way you shall go. I will guide you with Mine eye.

    Take Care Ellie – Christian Love from us both – Anne

    Like

  2. Ellie I need your advice and prayers, I’m helping an Alcoholic recover from her addictions which include medications that she has used for many years but now does not need. Katy is coming to stay for a short time to be able to both be delivered of the addictions and regain good health, would you be able to advise what foods will help to lessen the effects of her withdrawal and also build her up physically.

    Spiritually Katy had given up on life believing she had nothing to offer but she does believe in God and we know He believes in her.

    Katy does have hope now because of my Testimony of how Jesus rescued me from my addictions, others had told her it was all up to her and so had A.A and she did try very hard but failed more than once, which was much the same as my own experience with G.A and in the end I thought suicide was the only way out too, I felt worthless and that not even God could Love me, that was about 17 years ago but Jesus set me free.

    My friend Dolly in Sydney advised her to phone me for help fearing she was very close to suicide, having also lost the support of her family and most of her friends.

    I hope Ellie, you don’t mind me asking for your help.

    God’s Blessings – Anne

    Like

  3. Absolutely Anne, and first my prayers go out to you for patience and courage and for your friend to desire a changed behavior. The hardest aspect of assisting others is standing by and trusting in God for that person’s renewal of body, mind and spirit. Before you spin your wheels, discuss why or why not she wants to become whole again. Until she truly believes she is worth the effort she won’t find health. This is what you are best at Anne. Build her up with the knowledge that she isn’t alone and someone cares deeply. That someone is Jesus and you will tell her why she is a treasure. Alcoholics usually drink to cover pain.

    As for food: alcohol depletes essential nutrients such as the water-based B’s: Make sure to increase Thiamine (found in pork, Google both of these or I’ll be writing a book 🙂 ) and Niacin which keeps us emotionally stable. Whole grains, fruits and vegetables are essential to replenish these. Especially broccoli, spinach, wheat germ, whole grain bread. This will also restore an alkaline pH which protects against illness and mood swings.

    You could try juicing a few times a day. (But don’t forget that juicing removes fiber.) Foods containing vital fiber will stabilize blood sugar and carry her through the mood swings which accompany detoxification. Vitamin C, D, omega 3’s (salmon, wheat germ, milled flaxseed) and zinc based foods (shrimp – just Google more please) Garlic (the happy bulb) would be extremely helpful in cheering her up – try adding it to many of your recipes. Spicy foods release serotonin, the feel good hormone. A few Two Brazil nuts daily ( too many are toxic) will increase selenium, another mood booster.

    Drink lots and lots of water (add lemon occasionally) to wash toxins out of the body and restore proper pH.

    Whew I know I could write a great deal more. I hope this helps a little, Blessings on your success and warm, caring heart,

    Like

  4. Thank you so much Ellie, I will keep you informed. I have talked to Katy this morning and reassured her again that she is a person of worth, God gave her Scripture which she holds onto even now, it’s a powerful Scripture reminding us that we are worthwhile and needed, it seems God has already planted the seed in her heart and now we help it blossom.

    Bless you Ellie – Christian Love – Anne

    Like

  5. Once again I think you have expressed an excellent issue.the more I progress in the faith the more I realise that there is much I don’t know. it seems to me that there is a danger of exalting ourselves above the scripture and regarding our opinions as the basis on which everything should be tested. It is often noted that wisdom is based on the fear of The Lord but so is knowledge. We have knowledge in part but he is its source.Thank you once again.

    Like

    • You are so gracious to me, thank you so much for the compliments and for re-blogging this post. It is so appreciated! Patience is not one of my virtues unfortunately, and It is only in heaven that we will obtain perfect knowledge (while I expect it now.) You are right, that it is only at that time we’ll understand God’s Perfect Wisdom – why He allowed all that occurred in our lives. Until then, He is molding me for His pleasure and I remain His servant through my own trial and error. Blessings,

      Like

  6. Hello Ellie. As Christians we’ve been given access wisdom, but when we share it without love and compassion for others, it comes across as arrogance.
    I see a lot of familiar faces in the likes, I’m glad I finally found you too 😉

    Like

    • Hi Kelly, thank you so much for your comment – I’m very happy you found me too! My followers are so special to me, I am honored to have so many lovely friends who touch my heart.

      Your comment sure is on point. There are many who have good intentions but fail to convey it in the right way. I guess I look at the heart of the speaker to discern the difference. What is their intention? If it is to put someone down, then I feel a righteous anger – if it’s simply because they don’t know how to convey in love, then I feel pity and hold them up in prayer. (It’s taken me a long time to learn to put myself in their shoes, however. God had to humble me a few times and that’s painful.) I appreciate you, and I hope you come back, thanks.

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

