Power Through the Tough Times!

Last week my little dog and I were walking, as we do every morning, when we noticed a man laboring on his morning run across the street. He was quite overweight and our walk kept pace with his run but God bless him literally, that man didn’t give up! I silently cheered him on as he rounded the curve and headed off in another direction.  I prayed that fat-marathon-runner1[1]other direction lead to a health improvement.

This morning we saw him again, trudging away. Perhaps eventually, I can get him to wave but he seemed focused on his breathing and didn’t glance over at us at all. Perhaps he was embarrassed, who knows? It’s tough to start anything new and not feel self-conscious.

Yes sometimes embarrassment stops us from accomplishing something before we even get started! Have you ever tried to witness to someone? Scary! At first you might be self-conscious, but as Jesus infuses your life, it will become second nature to discuss Biblical issues.  No one starts off being an evangelist like Billy Graham. Truth be told, even Billy Graham didn’t start off being Billy Graham. He was petrified during his first sermon! It becomes easier as the Holy Spirit becomes your power!

No one really starts off in life obese either. But along life’s road we might gain a few pounds. Then it’s ten and eventually much more. If we immediately learn to nip the first five pounds in the bud, it sure is easier to manage that weight gain. So let the Holy Spirit work within and be inspired by the Apostle Paul’s words:

“Instead, I discipline my body and bring it under strict control, so that after preaching to others, I myself will not be disqualified.” ( 1 Corinthians 9:27)

A patient once protested, “How would you know how I feel? You’ve never had a weight problem in your life!” Mmm, assumptions. Little did they know I had and gain weight very easily. But so what? My job wasn’t a “can you top this” position. It wouldn’t make any difference – she couldn’t compare herself to anyone else, including me. Besides, would anyone feel any better knowing I was dying of cancer if they were dying of heart disease? No! Pursuing health is based on individual physiology.

For me, I’ve learned to keep my weight within a range. I seldom weigh myself, rather I know how my clothes fit. If they are tighter, I instantly take action to drink water, eat less and exercise more. Voila’! In no time I am back at my normal healthy weight, because I discipline my body into submission.

We had a super-duper exercise bike in our living room. (Bless my sweet hubby.) I mean, I thought I was in shape. I used to play tennis for hours, run five miles a day, play racquetball, walk the golf course carrying clubs . . .  so I thought. “piece of cake.”  Wrong. My first experience riding that bike,  I was in agony within three minutes! It would have been so easy to quit, but being stubborn, I refused! Soon I was riding six minutes, than ten, then twenty . . . then it was faster or intervals or anything to make it interesting.  Watching television while on it made the time wiz by. Don’t. Ever. Give. Up!

Everyone has to start somewhere! That jogger’s tenacity was an inspiration to me and should be to all. I hope I see him daily for I am cheering alongside him.

“I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”                    (Philippians 3:14)

 

14 thoughts on “Power Through the Tough Times!

  1. Ellie, I have started and stopped many blogs, but yours resonates with me and encourages me. Thank you, my sister, for being real and compassionate; and for always pointing us to the real source of our hope and healing, JESUS CHRIST!!

    Like

  2. Ellie, what an encouraging story!
    I just finished my master’s degree while working full time, and while doing so, I struggled with my weight, because there were only so many hours in the day. Since finishing, I’ve experienced many set backs, including my first two sprains.
    But, I have to remember to take every day as it comes and be responsible for myself that day and progress I can make. Focusing on being faithful each day, in both health pursuits and pursuing my faith, helps remind me that today is what I’m responsible for, and that tomorrow will worry about itself.

    Like

  3. Thank you so much for such a lovely comment Carla, congratulations on your Masters, that’s quite an accomplishment! Especially when working fulltime. You are like the Energizer Bunny! I hope you already know that stress adds weight, so please help yourself by reducing stress with soft music, fresh air, messages ( 🙂 ) exercise, etc. It is NOT selfish to take care of yourself. I do hope you’ll comment again, blessings,

    Like

  4. Thanks for this post. It was something I needed to be reminded of (again!). It has been a rough couple of years for me and my weight has gotten ridiculously out of control. But I am getting better emotionally and am really struggling to find a way to get healthier despite the physical problems the extra weight has caused. Our God is the God of second chances (and third, and fourth and….) so I know that there is a way because I have been created for a purpose and it isn’t to be unhappy and unfit.

    Like

    • Oh thoughtbugs, it is so great to hear from you! Thank you so much for your comment and I pray you will be successful because I’m over here cheering you on. Remember that health is “four steps forward and a few steps back” but you are still going forward if you never stop! Try a few tricks to keep you motivated, like rewarding yourself with small gifts for each few pounds you lose (but not with food) like nail polish, a DVD, a massage, cologne. If you need more encouragement, just ask but I know you can do this my friend! Blessings,

      Like

  5. Love, love love this post Ellie. It so ministers to me. I started working out in May 2013, and I have made it a lifestyle. I know this brings God all the glory as I have no more pains, I am energized and I know through this that I can leap over walls. Did I ever think in my whole life I could do a half marathon? Not at all but with God’s help and determination, I did this with my sis in law a few weeks ago. I wont give up!

    Like

    • Oh you are so good for my ego, 🙂 Thanks! Yeah, it seems like people are always looking for some “magic formula” but God meant for us to live simply and obediently. That’s why He placed Adam in a Garden instead of on a mountain or a beach. All items necessary to sustain life can be found in whole grains, fruits, vegetables, herbs, nuts, seeds, fiber and water. Thanks so much for your comment, love it. Blessings,

      Like

  6. Amen! Great advice …great post!! I love tennis…you said “used to” play for hours…does that mean you don’t play at all now…or you just don’t play for hours…?

    Like

    • I bet you’re sensational at tennis too! I miss playing. Although I feel thirty in my mind, I am 64 (and hope I’ll never look my age.) Eating well keeps one young and I must practice what I preach. Unfortunate4ly, my poor knees can’t stand the pounding so I walk with my dog 1-2 miles each day (but she moves!!).

      There is too much joy in my life to feel sorry for things I’ve lost – God is too Good and has given me more than I deserve. Thank you for the kind words and now I’m a follower of you too! Blessings,

      Like

      • Hi Ellie…you’re just great!! I love tennis…it is a passion…Some days I’m great!!!…Some days not so much 🙂 it’s all good. I recently had a knee issue so I can empathize with you. I just love that you trust God so much and don’t question what you have lost…perfect love! So happy to meet you!

        Like

  7. Loved it👏👏thank you for sharing. I struggled with depression back in 06, and after always having been called skinny, i was up +20 pounds and felt terrible. It was right after my parents’ separation, and i felt hopeless. It was scary to go out bc i thought everyone’s eyes would be on me and how fat i had gotten. Anyway, the Lord was always there with me. Although i was scared, i decided to start working out again, with the help of my mom also, who cheered me on. With God all things are possible!

    Now, i am a certified personal trainer, and although there are times where im tempted to feel depressed and hopeless and eatmy feelings away, His word is always there to comfort me.

    I will discipline my body, which is the temple of Our Lord Jesus Christ😁

    Bless you!!

    Like

    • Thank you for your lovely comment, Vanessa. I so appreciate you taking the time to write me.

      The most rewarding aspect of being a nutritional counselor was seeing the difference God could make in my patient’s life. You obviously felt the same as God strengthened you by the rain storms in your life. As we age and look back on our lives, sometimes we wouldn’t change anything because God worked out some beautiful plans and we now like who we are. “Man meant it for bad but God made it for good.” Genesis 50:20.

      Vanessa you have blossomed into an amazing woman of God and I am so honored to get to know you better! Blessings,

      Like

      • Wow wow! Thank you so much, Ellie. You have no idea how much you’ve encouraged me with you sweet words. I appreciate them with all my heart. ❤️ thank you thank you thank you. I pray God keeps blessing and letting you encourage other people through Him and for Him. 🙂
        Definitely agree, God makes all things good. Praise Him! 🙏

        Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

