Fibromyalgia: Real or Simply a Myth?

thOWAN83UYIn 1991 as I began my nutritional counseling career, fibromyalgia (FMS) was just emerging onto the medical scene. When the doctors I worked for couldn’t determine a specific cause, they inevitably sent the patient to me. As I sat and listened to their symptoms and heard their plea for help, it was truly frustrating for us both. There were no guidelines at that time and many doctors believed it to be a “psychological inducement caused by stress.”  Translation: “It’s in your head.”

The more I listened, the more convinced I was that FMS was not a myth. In fact there seemed to be a connection among most patients: 80% of them worked around chemicals. They were hairstylists, manicurists, lab and pest control technicians, house cleaners, etc. which I found to be curious. The skin is the largest organ of the body. Doesn’t it seem reasonable that since the skin can breathe in toxins which remain in the muscles and joints, couldn’t fibromyalgia be a result of toxic build-up in the body?

Another possibility: FMS cases are increasing yearly. So are the chemical additives placed in foods found on grocery shelves! Is there a connection here? Just in case, I’d urge all to go back to the original “diet” plan God gave Adam. (Genesis 1:29) You’ll understand that God is smarter than we are.

To date there is no cure for FMS but I pray there is hope and here is what I humbly offer to fight it:

  1. Keep a food diary for at least a month. Track every food you place in your mouth. (Your health depends on it so don’t whine!) Circle any boxed, canned or bagged food that contains dyes, chemical additives or preservatives and don’t ever purchase these again.
  2. Increase your intake of purified, distilled water and lemon-water. Rid your diet of Splenda and chemically infused diet drinks.
  3. Try juicing (but don’t forget fiber foods) and consume more alkaline foods. Use my search engine for posts on the pH scale.
  4. Wash all of your fruits and vegetables thoroughly! Even pre-washed packages contain some risk of pesticides. Increase organic foods if possible.
  5. Protect yourself with high antioxidant choices. Antioxidants protect the skin and will hopefully create a force field against outside pollutants.
  6. Increase fiber rich choices. This will not only detoxify your body quickly by removing toxins through the kidneys and liver, but allow more protective nutrients to enter your bloodstream through the small intestine.
  7. Get out and walk! Fresh air releases endorphins and serotonin which improves the mood and reduces stress.

Change your diet. Search for the most powerful antioxidant foods available:

  1. Garlic, onions, leeks all contain powerful chemicals which boost the immune system. I’ve written about this a lot. See any post on healing foods.
  2. The friendly bacteria, acidophilus is found in good quality yogurt. Mountain High, Stonyfield, Stony Farms, Yoplait Natural, Fage (or any without additives) will fight the harmful bacteria in your system.
  3. Spicy foods release soothing neurotransmitters which calms pain. Try increasing hot spicy foods containing capsaicin, (cayenne pepper) or hot salsas, peppers, horseradish, wasabi.
  4. Chlorophyll will boost immune fighting properties. This includes alfalfa, kelp, spinach, kale, broccoli or wheat grass. Basically all green foods contain chlorophyll. (but NO! Not moldy cheese.)

Lastly, it is not only “in your head.” Sometimes it’s in your heart too, for it takes Herculean effort to remain upbeat and positive when in pain.  I urge you to surround yourself with TRUE friends who will accept you as you are! God will never abandon you.

“And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.” Revelation 21:4

12 thoughts on “Fibromyalgia: Real or Simply a Myth?

  1. Thank you for sharing this info. I pray that all who read it will take heed and make some changes.

    About 10 years ago, I felt totally miserable. I had been suffering with chest pains, palpitations, joint and muscular aches and pains, migraines and nerve pain, intermittently for many years, and at that time it became overwhelming.

    To make a long story short, I was admitted to the hospital because of chest pains and intense pressure. I was told it was ‘anxiety’ or a ‘panic attack.’ After I returned home, that diagnosis did not sit right with me and I started researching. I found a site about msg (monosodium glutamate) and read testimonies from people who had suffered the same symptoms, and after eliminating msg from their diets, the symptoms went away. I remembered I had Chinese take out the night before my chest pains, and also ate some for lunch the next day. A lightbulb switched on in my head.

    Since then, I have done tons of research and learned to stay away from msg, artificial sweeteners, and for me, also sulfites.

    I am not perfect in my diet, however, I eliminated many ‘garbage’ processed foods from my diet. No fast food, no soda, and when I eat in restaurants, I am very selective. I try to eat as clean as I can, and cook from scratch. Not as hard as it sounds:-)

    Since I have made these changes, I no longer have ANY of the symptoms. I don’t even suffer from indigestion, or acid reflux, as so many of my friends (many much younger than I) do. Everyone is different, however, if someone is suffering, I would think they would want to give it a try!

    Thanks again for posting this information. The food diary is an AWESOME and very helpful suggestion.

    Hopefully, you won’t be TOO upset with this long post!

    Blessings to you,
    Bernadette

    Like

    • What a testimony Bernadette! Thank you ever so much for confirming what I always believed. There wasn’t room enough to write all I wanted to and I am SO grateful that you added msg and sulfites too. Excellent additions to that list. There was only one perfect person and I’m sure not Him, 🙂 Anything’s fine in moderation but why suffer when there are so many better choices? You made my day, blessings to you and I love comments (and my followers) so please do so again,

      Like

  2. Great post Ellie, I have a dear friend who has fibro, and it has been heart-breaking to see. It’s a constant battle trying to manage it. Very interesting about your link to chemicals, I’m not sure my friend had one specifically on the job…but it’s something to think about. Love your ideas to help. I know my friend felt so much better when she was able to exercise. She would try to do light weight training, but sometimes just walking to the end of the driveway and back was all she could muster on some days.

    Like

    • How wonderful to hear from you again Robin! I do hope you are well. You are so right, FMS, chronic fatigue and Epsom Barr are all debilitating illnesses. And since they can’t be “seen” as a direct illness, many doctors scoffed at them at first. Well “soft tissue” damage takes longer to heal than a broken bone too, but I definitely know it’s for real. (I think doctors however are coming around today)

      Again I appreciated hearing from you and please come back soon! Blessings,

      Like

  3. I have a friend who was a hairstylist for years who suffers with this. I going to share this with her. Thanks, Ellie

    Like

  4. Bless you for sharing this . . . I’ve been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia for over 18 years now . . . been on different medications, and have been on nothing for it now for over 2 years. Trusting God . . . knowing that He will help me through it. All information helps and is a blessing – so – THANK YOU!!!

    Like

  5. Oh Birdie, 18 years! I am so sorry to hear that. Although I can’t promise anything, my observations are based on instinct and common sense deduction. Chemicals, additives, dyes and other toxins fester in the liver and never leave so it seems like there would be a build up connection over time. I would hope drinking purified water with lemon and juicing a few times a day might detoxify, giving someone a chance to conquer the worst of it. At least today doctors take it seriously but probably not when you were diagnosed, right? My heartfelt blessings for health my dear friend and if I think of anything else, I will let you know.

    Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

