Who Does Rejection Hurt Most?

hiking in the hot summer heat“Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water.” John 4;10

Summer in Arizona occasionally reaches a stifling 120 degrees or more, but usually it remains around a cool 112-115. I love hot weather! Occasionally I see people however, who hike, bike or even run in this heat. I suspect it is a macho thing and I say a silent prayer that they have consumed enough fluids.

Sadly every year, some succumb to a heat exhaustion or heat stroke unnecessarily because they fail to bring life-sustaining water with them. Or drink water, even when it is offered along the trail. I believe it was last summer when this exact scenario occurred. A couple hiking up a nearby mountain in extremely high heat, was offered water along the trail but refused it, only to be overcome by dehydration, needing rescuing later.

Living in the desert is a metaphor for life. Many ideas come to mind and this one I wanted to share with you:

Have you ever had someone who needed what you had to offer but steadfastly refused it?  For example, I have partnered with male golfers who, to put it kindly, could have benefited from lessons. Rather than request a practical golf tip from my golf pro husband, who would have freely provided one, they purchased some new gimmick promising to reduce ten points off their handicap.  Another one purchased a new set of golf clubs, concluding that was the answer! All the new equipment in the world won’t fix the real problem because success begins from within the mind and the heart. Awareness is the first step to change.

I’m sure other nutritionists, dietitians and fitness instructors can identify with this scenario as well. Occasionally I offer my nutritional expertise to Christian friends who are about to attempt some harmful, crazy diet plan.  Because this is my ministry, I expect no monetary retribution; only the relief of seeing someone turn from false diet gurus and become healthier for our Lord.

I had a friend at a previous church who weekly professed to me how much she enjoyed reading my blog. She exclaimed happily how certain posts had motivated her toward her healthy pursuit. (Although I might have encouraged, it is always God who motivates one to change, not me. I am only the messenger.)  Regretfully when we chose another church to attend, she refused to follow my blog anymore. Who did she hurt more? Me, herself or God?

Sadly, when I picture people refusing help, I visualize our Lord kindly offering free, Living Water which sadly, most toss aside. Rejection. Whom did that act of rejecting Jesus’s Living Water hurt most: Christ or the one who refused the gift of eternal life?

This world we live in is a parched, unsurvivable desert. We are only here for a short time for no one will get out of this life alive. We can choose this day to accept the eternal Living Water Jesus willingly offers or reject it and hike a mountain of worldly challenges alone. I urge you not to remain in a desert wasteland forever. Choose the Living Water of our Lord and live!

“Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, ‘Out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.” John 7:38

 

 

10 thoughts on “Who Does Rejection Hurt Most?

  1. A great allegory Ellie, and it’s good that you warn others of the traps of dieting.

    How hurtful it must be for God to be rejected by His children but we know some are deceived , some are hurting and some are confused, I was all these things when I was an Atheist in my head, I will never stop giving thanks that Jesus rescued me.

    Yes it’s Jesus Truth that washes our hearts clean and we overflow with His Love bubbling up into Eternal Hope .

    I created a Bower Point about Jesus being the Living water – see link below.

    http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2012/03/26/living-water/

    Christian Love in out unity with Christ Jesus – Anne

    Like

    • Well sadly, that’s all I can conclude since it was right after we left. As a counselor, rejection is nothing new and is not meant to be taken personally. In my humanity however, 🙂 – I must remind myself that we should look at each person through God’s eyes because we all carry baggage. Only God can change hearts. It is so great to hear from you! Thanks for your comment, blessings,

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

