Am I Really Trusting Completely?

“Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.” 1 Peter 5:7

We live next to a vast open field. Every once in a while I can hear rifle shots as the farmer fires at rodents, snakes, rabbits or whatever to Jewel041208protect his property from destructive pests.

As I was walking along the pretty sidewalks with my little Lhasa Apso the other day, she heard those shots and got skittish. She started straining on her leash, anxious to return home. No matter how I tried to reassure her that I’d allow no harm to come to her she still wasn’t buying it! I sat her down her down while petting her, saying soothing words in a comforting tone but nothing worked. She still pulled on her leash and wanted her own way!

The trouble was so distant that there was absolutely no reason for her to fear.  She resides in a safe home, gets two substantial, healthy meals a day, gets plenty of belly rubs and yet she still didn’t trust me to keep her safe. How silly was that? I thought. Then the Holy Spirit spoke to me with a short but profound question, “Are you any different with Me?”

How like that little white dog I am sometimes!  No matter how many comforting words I read in the Bible. No matter how many answers to prayer I receive, I still fail to trust in God completely to supply all my needs.

Amazingly, Abraham, the great Patriarch of Faith was like that. He communed with God and received the LORD’s blessing. He would become the father to many nations, including God’s chosen one, Israel. Yet even Abraham failed to trust God completely and when he lost faith, unfortunately took matters into his own hands. Actions have consequences and today we reap the results of Abraham’s lack of trust, sown so many years ago.

“When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.” Psalm 56:3

Yes, it takes an enormous amount of faith to trust. If you’ve ever been betrayed by a friend, taken advantage of by a sales person, scammed out of money, abused or abandoned by a close relative, our bias transfers to others because of their deed. But we can trust in God completely! God is Faithful.  He is True!  He Does Not Lie! And He is not man with a faulty nature.

God has only my best interest at heart and I believe even now, I’ll see how God’s pathway leading through my life has lead me to where He wants me to be now. Understanding that, there’s absolutely no reason to worry! God has His arms around me, soothing me with comforting Words. All I need to do is trust and not pull on my leash. Trust – it’s a liberating word.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

8 thoughts on “Am I Really Trusting Completely?

    • Yeah, she has a certain way of touching my heart, even when she is trying my patience. It must be the way God looks at us when we’re that stubborn! (She has a way of keeping our beautiful 12 year old Cocker Spaniel, Sebastian, young at heart too.) I trust all is well with you and your family continues to remain in my prayers. Blessings,

      Like

  1. Jeremiah 29:11 is by far one of my favorite bible verses. Great post…Trust issues can affect many of us throughout our lives, but like you said, we can trust in God 100% and know that he will lead us in the right direction.

    Like

    • Thank you Samantha. I agree, Jeremiah 29:11 if one of the most comforting and beautiful verses in the Bible. I’ve also found that sadly, those who have been betrayed by their own parents usually have the toughest trust issues to overcome because they usually compare our Holy Father with previous authority figures which is unfortunate. (Congrats on your completion of that tough 10 day fast you accomplished! Great job!)

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

