I’m Humbled to Receive Two Awards

I am very honored to receive another award from one of my most loving and encouraging readers, Christine. She produces the creative blog:   www.oursoulspurpose.com  inspiring others to express gratitude, forgiveness and unconditional love in their daily lives. What a versatile writer she is!  I am so grateful to the “blogosphere” for the opportunity to gather so many friends from all around the world into my life!

I can’t wait to pass this on to several deserving blogging friends who have touched my heart this past year. I’ve chosen 10 below and would have chosen more but I saw some of them had already won these already! Please nominate 3-10 special bloggers who you think would like it.

Sunshine Award – Isn’t this a pretty award?  It’s going to look so great on my “mantel”!sunshine-award[1]

To accept the Sunshine Award, please do the following:

1. Display the Award on your Blog.

2. Announce your win with a post and thank the Blogger who awarded you.

3. Present 10 deserving Bloggers with the Award- ‘who positively and creatively inspire others’ in the blogosphere.

4. Link your awardees in the post and notify them that they are being awarded with a comment.

Inner Peace Awardinner peace award

The only ‘rule’ for the Inner Peace Award is that you write a short piece on why you are accepting it. Here’s mine:

“Although  I grew up in an extremely violent, tumultuous home, somehow I knew, even as a child, that Jesus was with me and kept me safe for a purpose. As a child, the Lord even then, provided a safe inner peace called hope. Looking back in hindsight, I know all the experiences in my life made me a stronger, more independent person and I praise God for them because it allows me to reach out to others today.

“Inner peace” is bestowed by Christ. Joy is a choice and how dare someone try to take that away from me! Perhaps that is why I am drawn to those who have an inner peace within themselves despite the personal storms in their own life.  I choose to smile and I chose nominees who do the same.”

Then write 10 interesting things about you. Here’s mine:

  1. The best thing about Arizona is that I can wear flowing sundresses or comfortable jeans nine months of the year!
  2. I’ve loved living in another country and with America progressing the way it is, has made it very tempting to do so again.
  3. But then I’d miss my daughter, son and five grandchildren too much.
  4. As a farm girl, had unusual pets, including a raccoon and a pet skunk.
  5. Besides writing, reading and traveling are my passions.
  6. I enjoy cooking and creating new recipes so much, we hardly ever eat out.
  7. My greatest weakness? I’m sometimes impulsive – but I’m working on that.
  8. My favorite book is To Kill a Mockingbird.
  9. I almost drowned in a boating accident when I was four  and a half years old, which makes me terrified of being under water.
  10. I walk twice each day with my two dogs, a Lhasa Apso and a golden Cocker Spaniel which works out to be about 2-4 miles each day. They nag me more than any human ever can!

So here’s my nominations and I am truly honored to pass these two awards on.  I chose each nominee thoughtfully because every one has either overcome adversity or have inspirational testimonies, showing us how to truly sustain sunshine daily in our souls:

1.  www.storyland4.wordpress.com

2.  www.futureflyingsaucers.wordpress.com

3.  www.homemakingwithheart.com

4.  www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com

5.  www.honkifyourevegan.com

6.  www.freedomborn.wordpress.com

7.  www.ibeatovca.wordpress.com

8.  www.manfonhealth.wordpress.com

9.  http://isingbecauseimfree.wordpress.com/

10.  www.saminaiqbal27.wordpress.com/

“I thank my God upon every remembrance of you,” Philippians 1:3

18 thoughts on “I’m Humbled to Receive Two Awards

  1. Congrats on your awards – you really deserve them girlfriend! While reading this post I was moved by what you wrote on why you’re accepting the Inner Peace Award. How fortunate for you that you had a strong faith, even as a child, and trusted Jesus to keep you safe despite your difficult circumstances. That is truly an inner peace that no one can take from you! I can’t say that I had that much faith as a child and certainly not as a young adult, but I am growing in faith now and I’m thankful for this. Oh, and I also got a kick out of learning that you had a pet skunk – haha! Thanks so much for the nomination – I appreciate it! Celeste 🙂

    Like

    • Oh storyad,you definitely deserve it. You bring such sunshine into my life! Please never feel sorry for me – God has blessed me so richly! Especially with gracious, caring friends through this little blog! I certainly don’t deserve His grace but I gratefully accept it.

      And I have no worries about he past; if the bad stuff hadn’t happened in my life, all this good wouldn’t have come from it. I base my blessings on Genesis 50:20 and live life abundantly in his redeeming love! Each day is a gift!

      Like

  2. WOW! Thank you so much Ellie for honoring me with two awards. I am delighted and humbled. I specially like the rule for accepting The Inner Peace Award which is a very special award created by a special person. Loved to read about you and how faith and trust in our Lord can bring sunshine to our hearts and mind and life. Your beautiful blog is a testimony of your inner peace. Congratulations for winning the very well deserved awards. I will post about them as soon as I possibly can. Thanks once again my friend. Hugs and blessings.

    Like

  3. Thank you Ellie and Congratulations , I hope to Post some Awards before Christmas but I will link the Inner Peace Award to you now.

    We have walked the same road but how wonderful that no one can make us loose our inner Joy, even with tears in our eyes it remains.

    Have I ever told you that you are precious Ellie God tells us we are and He is always right, so I agree with Him, your precious Ellie.

    Christian Love Always from both of us, Jesus our Spiritual Husband and me, Anne.

    Like

    • Oh how sweet, thank you. I’ve never wanted someone to feel sorry for me because there is always someone worse off and having Christ in my life is the anchor that keeps me grounded.For that, I am richer than most in the world!

      If you ever read To Kill a Mockingbird, I was Scout, fiesty,a tomboy, sometimes mouthy and in trouble for it, but very confident and independent.( Same haircut and overalls too.) My fortitude I get my mom who endured tragedy and is still standing! No worries, it all happens for a reason, blessings,

      Like

  4. It’s good Ellie that you had your Mum to stand by you in the hard times that life brings. I’m not referring to pity that has no real feeling but compassion which we need to have for ourselves so we can have compassion for others, it grieves me to know you suffered too as a child, God’s little ones are very precious to Him.

    My tooth hurts me more than yours hurts me but I know what a toothache feels like so I understand your pain and all pain is the same, it causes suffering and we all suffer (see my ink below) even if what causes it is different and it’s in different degrees. Jesus was known as a man of sorrows and acquainted with grief, He knows and feels our pain.

    The early years- http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/the-early-years-a-little-lost-girl/

    Our God is Love and can do no evil, He does not willingly afflict us for His own purposes, even to bring good out of it but He does bring good out of evil and works everything for good in our lives and knowing we will be affected by it He gives us the strength to endure. Why do we suffer…Satan is real and hates us and so he puts us to the test like he did Job, wanting us to reject Jesus, he won the right to do this, we live in a fallen world that presents hardship at times, people hurt us and we hurt others, we also reap what we sow until we come to our senses and repent.

    I may have shared the verses below with you before Ellie but I hold onto them and give heartfelt thanks that God is always with us.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    Like

  5. A skunk? LOL interesting! 🙂
    You are so welcome and deserving of these awards Ellie! I’m happy to know you and know that you, as well as so many of my blogging friends, are worthy of these awards.
    Thank you for your kind words!
    Blessings!
    Christine

    Like

  6. You are so deserving of these awards and again I thank you for nominating me – I thank God every day for each and everyone of you that have helped me find my way again to living with God’s peace.

    Like

  7. You are so deserving of these awards! I thank you for nominating me. What a blessing it has been to read your blog! I am thankful for you and will post and nominate others for these awards as soon as I can. Blessings to you!

    Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

