A Lesson on Faith, Teamwork and the Red Sox

Disclaimer: Even though I live in Arizona, my husband and I spent our first date and many afterwards at Fenway Park, and I can tell you emphatically that once a Red Sox fan, always a Red Sox fan!

Boston’s first triumphant victory in their home stadium since 1918 was a Red Sox winglorious win for this courageous city!  Especially since overcoming an uphill battle that seemed insurmountable at the beginning of the year. Considered to be the worst team in baseball, April’s Boston marathon tragedy made that fact appear trivial. Putting everything in perspective, who cared???  Baseball’s only a game.

This World Series win then became a glorious metaphor of life, for there are at least five major points that we can derive from this victory:

Deuteronomy 31:6  “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.

  • Baseball is not a singular sport, neither is life.  A strong team cares, encourages and supports each other. Everyone needs a support system to succeed in life! The Red Sox were surrounded by enthusiastic fans as well as each other . . .  but who supports you? If your goal is to get healthier, quit smoking or some other addiction . . . build a support system of people who care and are encouraging. God actually created that concept when He stated that it wasn’t good for man to be alone.  (Genesis 1:18)  And Jesus built his own support system of disciples around him. If it’s good enough for Christ, it’s good enough for us!
  • Never Give Up! This World Series win taught us how to react when defeatist attitudes could easily drag us down. No matter what negative publicity was expressed, each team member listened to that small voice inside them them that told them, “You’re better than this!Proverbs 23:7 “For as he thinks within himself, so he is.”  When addressing challenges of our own, don’t listen to anything but the Holy Spirit’s voice inside us, telling us: “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”  Philippians 4:13
  • Establish Clearly Directed Goals. Going from”worst-to-first” was Boston’s goal. They never gave up but kept their eyes on the prize.  Establish your own personal goals! Without one, you will surely flounder without direction. The Red Sox created small goals; win each game, the play-offs, then the Series,  So create personal goals to accomplish great things; eat smaller portions, walk more, drink extra water. You won’t lose 80 lbs overnight and that’s a good thing! The process of learning how to lose will instill the values and discipline you’ll need to keep it off for a lifetime!
  • Each individual team member had a unique purpose but sometimes their position’s overlap. Just as a shortstop will cover second base when needed, sometimes I’ll need more support from my husband, sometimes he’ll need more from me.  Don’t be afraid to ask for additional assistance or training from someone in a better position to provide it.
  • Everyone needs to listen to a good coach!   John Ferrell, congratulations, you’re amazing!  I fervently pray that you know the True Coach so spectators can watch baseball in heaven!  (Proverbs 3:5,6)

Now I have a suggestion to the Red Sox: Shave off those Sampson beards as a team for Charity!  (They’ll grow back)  I’m sure Fenway Park would be a great team venue for that.  Whether it’s for the Boston Strong marathon  survivors  or some other worthy cause, it would speak volumes for those who no longer a voice in which to do so.

8 thoughts on “A Lesson on Faith, Teamwork and the Red Sox

  1. What a great allegory Kelly, of the Body of Christ , we are Jesus’ arms, hands, feet and voice, how good to encourage and uplift each other and also correct each other if needed but to then reach out to a hurting world.

    The Scriptures below gives wonderful guidelines for Unity and your message did too Kelly…. So are we going to make it YES! we believe in The God of the impossible, my goal is to be all He wants me to be but how awesome, He will do it in me, as I choose to walk as Jesus walked, He will empower me so I can.

    Galatians 6:2 Bear ye one another’s burdens, and so fulfil the law of Christ.

    Romans 12:15 Rejoice with them that do rejoice, and weep with them that weep.

    2 Corinthians 1:3-5 Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort; Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God. For as the sufferings of Christ abound in us, so our consolation also aboundeth by Christ.

    Colossians 3:15-17And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to the which also ye are called in one body; and be ye thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom; teaching and admonishing one another in Psalms and Hymns and Spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by Him.

    Christian Love Always from both of us – Anne

    Like

  2. So sorry Ellie, for getting your name wrong, I was rushing to get to the Vets, my little Monty has a serious problem with his mouth and is having trouble eating.

    I saw your message and thought I would respond before I left with Ron but left it a bit late, sorry again, names are important.

    Blessings – Anne

    Like

    • Thank you Anne, I always appreciate the time you take to comment and your kind heart. I knew who you meant. Speaking of hearts, mine breaks for you as you take care of your cute little bundle of fur. Knowing what a joy these little pups bring to our life, I pray that yours will recover soon.

      PS: Yes, it was ground into my brain too when our mom urged us to remember people’s names because it was the most important thing they owned, 🙂 No worries, I like either name, blessings,

      Like

  3. Thanks for understanding Ellie, I always seek to remember Names, they are also important to God, but to be honest it is one of my greatest weaknesses and if I’m not careful and take time to remember, I mess-up.

    Thank you Ellie for caring about our furry friend Monty, he is not good but is now on Steroids, they may save his life, he is in a lot of pain, if they don’t work we may need to take other steps but I’m going to Post and ask people to pray again, he should have died before from a snake bite but he was given extra time and I believe it was through the prayers of those who cared.

    So everyday with Monty is a gift we thank God for, he is now over 13 years old, we got him from a animal refuge when he was two, like we did Mo-Joe who was 5 and almost blind, nobody wanted him but his eye medication has made a big difference to his vision. I give thanks for all God’s blessings including Medicine, He is the only Healer but often uses the tools He has provided but we give thanks to Him for them, Not them and we use everything He has provided in balance.

    Yes, animals especially our pets are a wonderful blessing from God which we are to give thanks for, appreciate and care for but they must never be more important to us than God or other people, nor must we ever worship them as Him or put them before others.

    Pagans worship animals but sadly I have seen this happen even with those who call themselves Christians, one referred to a dog being like God, because if you spell dog backwards it is god, what they didn’t realize is that it is a small “g” which means a Pagan god, if that is how they want to see it but to me their reasoning is evil and of the flesh, it is Idolatry.

    Thanks again Ellie, Blessings – Anne.

    Like

  4. Hi Ellie,
    I found your site through seeing your comment on ProverbsWay’s blog. You are very creative! I love how you compared the sport of baseball to the game of life. May you continue to use your creative gifts in writing to bring others closer to the Lord!
    Many Blessings,
    Danielle

    Like

  5. What a creative post! My hubby’s from Boston and needless to say a die hard Red Sox fan. I knew nothing about baseball before I met him, but he’s taught me a lot in our 7 years together. I never knew there was so much to baseball! I love how you used baseball so creatively in this post to share some really, really great stuff. Celeste 🙂

    Like

    • I am so happy you appreciated it! Tell your hubby that I like him already, 🙂 “Go Yastremsk!! Go Rico Petrocelli !!!” (he’ll know who those are) This was a fun post to write and since I believe in teamwork and having a support system to be successful in life, I hope others will take it to heart as well. Thanks Celeste for your encouragement, blessings,

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

