“Egg”actly What Can We Eat?

Okay, I can hear you thinking right now, “Alright Ellie, you tell me one thing today and tomorrow, another nutritionist will be saying something totally opposite!  How do I know what to believe when so many “experts” continually say something contradictory?!”

confused personAt one time I was confounded by that exact same thing. I was perplexed by the almighty egg.

As I began my nutritional counseling career in 1990, the common practice at that time was to avoid eggs. They were bad for you . . .  you know, cholesterol and all. “Stay away from eggs!!” everyone cautioned.

Well, as a Christian, I began to wonder about that.  How could God who created all things “very good”, suddenly turn around and say, “Oops! Sorry kids, I’m afraid I made a mistake.  You can’t eat eggs without harming yourself, so you must stay away from them!”  I doubted that because MY God doesn’t make mistakes.

So I started researching and discovered that the nutrients in eggs contained: thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, B6, B12, choline, folate, selenium, zinc, potassium, magnesium, potassium, Vit. A, E, D, iron and calcium. Simply amazing, isn’t it? All those great nutrients in a supposedly dangerous food?! And I am a firm believer that one should eat for nutrients, not calories, food groups or grams. Eggs are abounding with nutrients and I sensed that scientists would change their mind. Sure enough, experts eventually discovered that the cholesterol found in eggs actually assists in the good HDL cholesterol production. God knew it all the time.  As for me and my house, I’ll trust the Lord. Man can catch up later.

God first instructed mankind to be vegetarians. (Genesis 1:29) Man didn’t eat meat until after the flood. (Genesis 9:3) I’m sure the change in climate had something to do with it, however Daniel sustained himself quite well on vegetables long after the flood.

I tell confused patients that anything is fine in moderation. Counting calories, fat grams and worrying about every carbohydrate is a hassle! Eat for nutrients. An easy way to eat a balanced diet is to have five times more fruits and vegetables than meat on a smaller plate. The portion of a piece of meat protein should be no larger than the palm of your hand. An average chicken breast is 6 oz. and that’s as much meat as you should consume all day. So cut it in half, pound 3 oz. into a flat schnitzel and it’s plenty for dinner as a serving, along with a small baked potato, vegetable and a salad.

And what about that potato?  You mean I can eat potatoes too?  But Ellie, they’re full of carbs!! Carbohydrates are bad for me!!  Oh ye of little faith.  A potato contains vitamins A, E, D, K, C, B1, B2, B3, B6, folate, choline, calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, zinc, copper, manganese and selenium. Does that sound like something God wants you to avoid too? Use common sense. Avoid placing a ton of butter, sour cream and cheese on it, or frying it in oil and it’ll stay healthy.

I repeat, God doesn’t make mistakes, but science has.  At one time man believed in a flat earth concept. Let’s use the common sense God gave us!  Don’t trust false teachers (the latest fad diet guru) who say “what our itching ears want to hear” Rely on Godly Absolutes and His Scriptures.

“For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own passions,” 2 Timothy 4:3

5 thoughts on ““Egg”actly What Can We Eat?

  1. Hi Ellie, I like how you resolved that a egg was good for us and yes everything God created is good but He does warn that too much of anything is not good including honey.

    I trained with Norma Dembecki, in the health Department at Brookvale to be equipped to run her Share groups from 1986 and they were just discovering the benefits of eggs then and as you shared, the cholesterol was good not bad, like you it made me research other foods. I later created a Power point, it was similar to one I received which was very informative, I have added to it since and will Post it soon.

    One of the big lessons I learned was that it’s the fats in food and the fat that’s added and not the food itself that is dangerous but we still need some fat, everything in balance, our bodies need all food types, too many vegetables can cause problems too, like Daniel we eat to live, not live to eat, regardless of what we choose to eat, everything in balance but why he chose to eat portions of pulses and water instead of the Kings meat and wine was because it was defiled by being offered to a pagan god first.

    After the world wide flood, the land took many years to be able to produce enough food to sustain life so God added to the food chain, Meat, Chicken and Fish but warned about food that had too much fat or at that time presented danger if eaten because of water pollution, today He tells us all is acceptable as we are under a new Covenant in Christ Jesus. (see below )

    1 Timothy 4:4 -6 For every creature of God is good, and nothing is to be refused if it is received with thanksgiving; for it is sanctified by the word of God and prayer. If you instruct the brethren in these things, you will be a good minister of Jesus Christ, nourished in the words of faith and of the good doctrine which you have carefully followed.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    Like

  2. Thanks for the Blessings Ellie, I don’t know if you could say what I did was a Career as I didn’t work for the Health Department in the end, instead my groups became my Ministry for many years.

    I will be sharing all about it soon on my Blog but I’m still undecided which way to go with the weight loss program, Heavenly Lights, I’m not sure it would work the same as lot of the format is hands on, anyway I will just keep praying.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    Like

  3. Another great post since I love eggs, potatoes, fresh fruits and vegetables. I always believed eggs were good for health so never gave up. It surely is reassuring to know that God created everything good for mankind and science comes later. Very happy to read your post Ellie. Take care and God bless.

    Like

    • I always appreciate your comments and support, Sami. I urge people to view Truth through the Bible first rather than through the inexact “human created” sciences which are always changing and fallible. ( Funny though: The only unchangeable sciences are the laws of thermodynamics and nature which evolutionists fail to quote.) 🙂 Blessings,

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

