No Willpower You Say?

So you don’t think you have any willpower, do you?no willpower

“Hogwash!”  That same willpower that prevents you from telling your boss, mother-in-law or that rude sales clerk what you really think of him/her, is the same willpower you should tap into to prevent yourself from pigging out or losing control.  You have a lot of willpower, you simply have to realize it for yourself.

Think about it logically. There are only three things that happen in any situation: 1. The event itself.  2. The self talk, and  3. The reaction

Let me give you an example.  Your co-worker asks if she can pick up something from a fast food restaurant on her way back to the office.  That’s the event.

Now the self-talkGee, I brought some homemade soup with me today, but a burger sounds tempting.  I’ve been really good on my ‘diet’ plan lately. Maybe a burger would be okay, I can get back on it tomorrow.  Oh, but I wanted to get into that little black dress before the reunion next week.  Which do I want more, the burger or to feel triumphant when I see bully Rosemary Kolwsalski, and ask, ‘how do you like me now’??? (totally in your humanity of course) 

Finally,#3; reaction:  Whatever you choose to do, you own.  It was your decision, no one else’s.  No one else lives in your body but you!  Willpower is choosing to do the right thing, and you already know what you should do. Talk yourself into success.

Another tip to build willpower: Tap into your visualization skills.  Imagine how you’ll feel walking into that class reunion, looking your best, most confident self!  After all, if you can lose weight, you can do anything, right? Wouldn’t that be a fabulous reward?  Wouldn’t you like to feel confident and special everyday, not just for one night?  After all, if you only lost weight for the reunion, then what’s to keep you going the day after? That’s precisely your goal; a lifelong commitment to feeling special because you are! Feel great everyday!  Don’t give in to a fleeting moment’s temptation, be stronger than that!

Create positive thoughts throughout the day to help you.  Tell yourself, “I am a strong, competent person because I am a child of a very important King.” Memorize scripture verses to assist you, such as  Philippians 4:13, “I can do everything through him who gives me strength.”

You were bought with a price by our Lord Jesus Christ. God stated that gluttony and lack of control is sin. Did Jesus have to die for your out-of-control eating habits; for the sake of an entire Pepperidge Farm cake that you ate in one sitting?  Seems a little crazy, but sin is sin and Jesus died for all our sins, even gluttony.

Pray for wisdom and strength. He’ll provide a way for you to overcome temptation. Trust in God’s Word:

I Cor. 10:13 “No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear.  But when you are tempted, he will also provide  a way out so that you can stand up under it.”  

Think ahead. Write down what you can do besides eat when you are tempted. Perhaps you may have to bring in more flavorful, colorful lunches. Maybe avoid bringing snacks into your home, which create a loss of control on your part.   All of these are practical ways to overcome temptation, you just need to develop the personal choice that you’ll do the right thing!

19 thoughts on “No Willpower You Say?

  1. You are awesome Ellie, sometimes we all need a little tough love, eh? So often we like to blame situations like they happen to us, and theres nothing we can do, but it never is at all….it’s so much easier when we realize these are all choices, and we are in control of them. You say it well… thank you!

    Like

  2. You’ve got some good suggestions here, and you present them in such an upbeat way. I struggle with willpower everyday!! I’m gonna try the visualization tip the next time I’m struggling. Celeste 🙂

    Like

  3. I need to print this and post it all over my house! I have always thought that gluttony is one of the most overlooked sins, one that I am guilty of at times myself. Thank you for such a great post!

    Like

  4. There is some very good advice in your message Ellie, thank you, it’s True we don’t need to be frightened of food, as Christians we have God’s Power, our own fleshy self- will is not enough. We can indeed say No to overeating and have assurance we will not be Tempted more then we can bear, this Scripture of course is referring to sinning and having weight problems is not often because of sin but food can control us and Paul warns against this but when we Trust in Jesus we do indeed have self – control.

    Having been disabled and walking very little for over the last 4+ years, I have put on weight but now that God has healed me and I can walk more, although I’m still strengthening my little used mussels, I will be working towards loosing my weight again by Trusting Him to lead me as I did before with Heavenly Lights.

    I feel strongly having had it confirmed by God that He wants me to share like you are doing Ellie, the help He has given me, not just in weight loss but in our walk with Him, how I will do this I have not fully decided but I was thinking of sharing on my Woman’s blog, Kingdom’s Garden, it’s been rather neglected.

    Take care Ellie and God bless you and your Ministry greatly as you seek Him in all things.

    Christian Love – Anne.

    Like

    • Thank you Anne for your comment. I appreciate your wise words and pray that God will use your ministry to further His Glory. God knows the heart and if someone’s intent is to be rebellious and allow golden food idols to control their lives, that’s sin. God knows we can’t be perfect and only wants the best for us. And that which we love, we’ll take care of. Blessings,

      Like

      • So True Ellie, we can’t be perfect by worldly standards but we are to be perfected in Love (see below) by putting our flesh to death through The Spirit, But as you said if our god is the material pleasures of this world including food, then we are committing Spiritual Adultery.

        1 John 4:17-19 Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in Love; but perfect Love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in Love. We Love Him, because He first Loved us.

        Matthew 5:48 Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in Heaven is perfect.

        Hebrews 6:1 Therefore leaving the principles of the doctrine of Christ, let us go on unto perfection; not laying again the foundation of repentance from dead works, and of faith toward God,

        2Timithy 3:17 That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.

        Many woman I helped Ellie over the years years I was running the weight control groups, were hurting, a large percentage had been abused either as Children or in Adult relationships, physically and emotionally this causes emotional eating and also food is used as protection, being big gives the illusion of strength. They needed Love, compassion and acceptance first before they could work towards being in control of what they ate.

        Thank you Ellie for letting me share, it encourages me as I remember my motivation to do the groups in the first place.

        Christian Love from both of us – Anne

        Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

