Does Anyone Find Satisfaction in a Lifetime of Diets?

 “Have nothing to do with godless myths and old wives’ tales; rather, train yourself to be godly”   1 Timothy 4:7

family exercsing together

I was gently explaining to Alison, who wanted to lose nearly 250 pounds, why diets don’t work. As I began to list several of them, I mentioned the Rice Diet. All of a sudden she became enraged, ” Listen Ellie, I know the others don’t work because I tried all of them.  But the Rice Diet . . . that one works!  I know because it worked for me,  3 times!!!”

Oh my. She didn’t get it. If you lose and gain it all back (and then some), then a diet doesn’t work.

The only diet that works is one a person can stay on for life! Would you enjoy eating only cabbage soup for the rest of your life?  I wouldn’t! Nor would I want to give up chocolate or French fries forever.  Eating a variety of foods allows the body to function properly. If you only eat a fruit diet for example, your body is deprived of over 50 essential nutrients needed to sustain normal function.

In fact, dieting incorrectly destroys muscle tissue and it’s muscle tissue that burns fat. Do not destroy the Holy Spirit’s temple . . . you!

Without proper knowledge of how our body works, we’re only spinning our wheels and we’ll gain the weight back. That’s why exercise should be a daily routine.

Now I can hear you sigh, “You mean I have to exercise every day?”

“Oh dear,” I reply. “You mean I have to brush my teeth every day?” Yes. That is unless you enjoy rotting teeth and bad breath.  You choose to brush your teeth each day because the pay off is better than the alternative. Same as health.

Make exercise  fun first of all, and then incorporate different types into your routine so you don’t get bored.  Just like food!  Variety really is the spice of life. Walking, golfing, biking, gardening, dancing – it’s all exercise. Chicken, yogurt, flaxseed, fish, spinach, ice cream – it’s all nutrients.  As each exercise works different muscle groups, nutrients provide different metabolic benefits as well. Therefore we need variety.

In order to enjoy life:  relationships, exercise, food and your occupation should be satisfying.  You should look forward to playing tennis with friends, going to work and sitting down to a plate of colorful, nutritious foods. If one doesn’t find contentment, something else will fill that void.  Addictions to food, alcohol, drugs, even fad diets and exercise, numb the pain but the pain remains nonetheless. Suddenly you’re trapped in a downward spiral.

Luke 21:34 ““But watch yourselves lest your hearts be weighed down with dissipation and drunkenness and cares of this life, and that day come upon you suddenly like a trap”

Life is about choices. One can choose to be unhappy, unhealthy, suppressed – OR – vibrantly alive and spiritually fulfilled. There is only one way to be truly happy in life. Allow God to fill that physical and spiritual void with Joy.  I chose God, how about you?

4 thoughts on “Does Anyone Find Satisfaction in a Lifetime of Diets?

  1. You make very good points, especially when it comes to having variety. I would eat the same foods and do the same exercise (walking on the treadmill) , and I got bored quickly. Once I started trying new things it became interesting and I now have a better lifestyle, not a diet. 🙂

    Like

    • Excellent Deborah! It’s all about having a fulfilling lifestyle, and even when I walk our little dog, I vary the path so I see different homes and yards along the way. (and remember there are 365 ways to make chicken! 🙂 ) The only true way to have joy is to honor God. According to 1 Corinthians 10:23, He wants us to have variety in life as long as it’s godly and holy. Thank you so much for your comment, Blessings,

      Like

    • I totally agree Erin! That’s why the process is so much more important than the progress one makes. Through the process we learn education, self-discipline, the satisfaction that we overcame temptation and the confidence that if confronted again we can handle it in a certain way. Thanks so much for commenting! Blessings,

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

