Chew, Chew, Chew Your Food . . .

When we were children we didn’t listen to our parents, did we?  We thought they didn’t know what they were talking about. They even tried scare tactics!  “If you don’t stop pouting, your face is gonna freeze that way!” or “You know there are millions of children starving in China, so you better eat that!” . . . yeah, yeah, send it to them.

My mother, bless her heart, even tried creating a game.  She used the rhyming cadence of “chew, “chew, chew  your food . . .  ”  to “Row your Boat.”  Oh I was a stubborn kid!!!  Hated peas most of all . . .  had to sit at the table until I finished them.  Once after they left the room, I lined the leftover peas on the banister, ran in and shouted, “I’m done!”   That day I learned that peas taste better than soap.  (Today I love peas.)

As I continued my nutritional studies, I discovered my mom was smart.  It IS important to chew!  Who knew? Chewing actually releases enzymes!

What the heck are enzymes and why should I care?  Glad you asked!

Imagine your body is a new home that’s ready to be moved into, with the boxes piled up on the front lawn.  A moving company is waiting to place those boxed items inside the house; plates, small appliances, furniture, boxes of clothes and antiques, etc.  Food, packed with nutrients, are like the boxes sitting on the lawn. Enzymes are the workers who transport those items into the house.

In other words enzymes are like a “chemical moving company” packing proteins, fats and carbohydrates into boxes and placing them into the rooms they belong: kitchen, den, bedrooms . . .  Even the most beautiful crystal glasses won’t be useful if they just sit there on the lawn. Someone has to move them into their proper places or they’re worthless. Remember:  your body is the building and enzymes are the movers.

Digestion can’t happen without enzymes No vitamin, mineral or hormone can work without enzymes. Nor can we breathe, eat or walk without enzymes, so when digestion is poor, even the BEST eating plan won’t work!

Chewing food well, releases the enzymes found in saliva, the stomach, intestines and mitochondria.

  • Amylase enzymes breaks up carbohydrates
  • Protease disperses proteins
  • Lipase distributes fats
  • Cellulose digest soluble fiber
  • Disaccharidase digest sugars

Digestion begins in the mouth with saliva – the more we chew, the more enzymes we release. Digestion then stimulates the hypothalamus gland, the control center in the brain which regulates daily activities  such as appetite, nervous system, moods and the senses. Powerful, complicated stuff!  And some believe all this “complicated stuff” evolved from mud clumps!

Jeremiah 32:27, “Behold, I am the Lord, the God of all flesh; is anything too difficult for me?” 

Honestly now!! Imagine, a man and a woman evolving at the exact same time over the millions of years some believe our earth existed.  Sorry, it takes more faith to believe that then it does to believe that man was created by a Heavenly Designer.

Psalm 139:13-15  “For you created my inmost being;  you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;  your works are wonderful,  I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.

Praise God that we are fearfully and wonderfully made! Now go forth and chew!

12 thoughts on “Chew, Chew, Chew Your Food . . .

  1. Lol that’s hilarious that you don’t like peas! I hated peas as a kid and I couldn’t leave the table until I finished them all! I’d be sitting in the dark by myself after everyone had gone to bed, lol. We had green carpet so sometimes I would smear them into the carpet and no one would know the difference, lol! Great, informative post!

    Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

