God Is Not Lucy! (Relating that to health)

How do you view God when something bad happens in your life? Is God Lucy, who tormented Charlie Brown while trying to kick the football?  Does God say, “Come on, trust me . . .  I’ll let you be successful this time,” Wham! He pulls our dreams away and snickers, “Haha, gotcha again!”

God’s not like that!  Psalm 84:11, “For the LORD God is our sun and our shield. He gives us grace and glory. The LORD will withhold no good thing from those who do what is right.

God wants only the best for us. So in gratitude, we should try to glorify our Lord. Sometimes God will allow us to burn our fingers on the “stove top of life” because it’s a learning experience.  It’s for our betterment so we won’t do it again. But some won’t see it like that. That’s when they’ll shake their fist, shouting, “Why did God allow this to happen to me?”

Why?  I’ll give you an example. My Lhasa Apso can be the most stubborn walker ever!!  As we’re strolling along, she’ll get it in her head that she wants to go in another direction. At that point I’ll have to drag her kicking and screaming down the pathway until she “walks nice” once again. She doesn’t realize that if she got her way, she’d be walking over briars.  God also, for our own good, must drag us kickin’ and screaming away from some disastrous path as well. We’re simply too stubborn to realize it.

How do you react when bad things happen?

  1. Do you remain rebellious?
  2. Do you recognize your faulty behavior but do nothing?
  3. Do you believe that God wants painful repentance, so suffering is mandatory?

Your personality is who you are. How you answer the above has a lot to do with how you view your personal health and bodily temple as well!

1.  If you continue to eat processed fast food 7 day a week, defiantly shouting, “I want it my way and I want it now,” then you might find yourself  suffering as a result of your action, not God’s. We live under grace, you can make that decision; but you own that consequence!

1 Corinthians 10:23, “I have the right to do anything,” you say–but not everything is beneficial. “I have the right to do anything”–but not everything is constructive.

2.  If you recognize your behavior but don’t turn from it, “yeah I know I should, but . . . ” you  epitomize  James 2:19, “You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that–and shudder.”  An example of head knowledge without heart knowledge. Even the demons know about Christ but don’t follow him. Knowledge without actions is dead! Realizing you should eat healthier but don’t, isn’t change. True desire isn’t there. Don’t believe the stinkin’-thinkin’ view that you aren’t worth it either! God doesn’t make junk and you are worth it! But change comes from within!

3.  If you truly want change but feel you must wear sackcloth and ashes until you’re good enough, you’re also off base. You’ll never be good enough!  Romans 3:10, ” As it is written , There is none righteous, no, not one.” The thief on the cross didn’t work for his salvation, he simply believed.

Suffering needlessly is what I call the “penance principle.”  “God won’t forgive me unless I give up chocolate, everything I love, starve and flagellate myself.”  Man is creating his own rules, stating, “Unless I eat only nasty tasting foods, I’m not good enough for God.” Who said?! Isn’t that making yourself a god? God originally made everything good. To say otherwise maintains God created bad things. He doesn’t.

Therefore eat sensibly and in moderation. Which means watch portion control!!! (which is a subject for another post.)

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

