Obedience: “Weigh” Yourself in the Balance!

Would God allow us to fail just for the sport of it?  For example, if we discovered we had a debilitating illness, would He pull the rug out from under us and provide no escape from it? Would He taunt, “Haha, gotcha! That’ll teach ya!”  I seriously doubt it. God desires only the best for us. Do we? Be honest, not always. Occasionally we self-destruct.  We give in to temptation and fail miserably.

We need balance in life. We are so intricately made that God wants to keep us balanced. We do that by obeying God’s Word and promises. God originally created JOY and didn’t want to take that away from us! Adam and Eve did that.  I don’t know many people who are joyful when living outside life’s rules, do you? Don’t become that spoiled child we see in a supermarket demanding treats!

A life of strict rules and regulations isn’t much fun. Neither is that chaotic life without boundaries. We wouldn’t reverently pray, “God protect me as I travel today,” and then drive recklessly, without a seatbelt, through stop signs, expecting God to honor us, would we?  As God’s children, He provides limits for a reason. If we stubbornly push beyond them, we risk danger due to our own choices. Even then, as we’re acting as spoiled children, God is faithful.

1 Corinthians 10:13, ” No temptation has overtaken you but such as is common to man; and God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will provide the way of escape also, so that you will be able to endure it.”

Patients have sat in my office and blamed God for their troubles. “Why would God do this to me?” they cry.  In frustration I’m thinking, God did this to you? Well did He force you to smoke three packs of cigarettes a day? Did God force you to consume fast food at every lunch?  Think it through – make the right choices! It’s your decision.

As much as I want you to get healthy, you must want it more than I want it for you. Please don’t get me wrong, sometimes genetics has much to do with it and it’s our lot in life to inherit illnesses. I learned my father died of a heart attack at 65, and as well as I eat, I still inherited his familial cholesterol.  So my test of obedience is to now live as healthily as I can. It’s my choice. I pray I’ll pass that test.

I praise God that I don’t live in Old Testament times, I’m not sure I could pass the test with all its precise culinary rules, regulations and sacrifices. Today however we live in a world of grace. We aren’t puppets – we get to choose. I choose a vibrant life, will you?

Look at how the Jewish nation was instructed to eat.  Their culinary boundaries were the whole grains, fruits and vegetables mentioned in the Bible: Lamb, beef, fish, cucumbers, figs, raisins,  melons,  olives and olive oil, grapes, apples, wine, milk, honey, grains and Ezekiel bread.  This is realistic, delicious, wholesome food – not a chemically, preservative-based meal in the bunch!

Since today we live under grace, anything’s fine in moderation but choosing processed meals 5 nights a week, isn’t good for you or your family! Almost every illness can be traced back to what is consumed; diabetes, heart disease, liver, kidney damage, IBS, even cancer. Don’t do that to your spouse or  children! Please obey God’s boundaries of health so your family can learn from your example. Or someday, the old comparison of “This isn’t like Mom used to make” is going to be, “This isn’t like Mom used to defrost.”

2 thoughts on “Obedience: “Weigh” Yourself in the Balance!

  1. We constantly tell our kids “don’t cry over your choices”. Yes, you can have regrets, but when you make bad choices, there will be consequences. I think God brings you to a place where you have to face the reality of what you have chosen. For me – it was years of unhealthy eating – I was seeing a major decline in my health and I was seeing the impact on my children. Now, with the good choices I am making – no sugar, no artificial sweetners, no processed foods, no fast food…etc. and exercising 6 days a week, I am seeing the benefits of those decisions. My children were with a friend of ours and had ice cream and candy and they were so sick that evening – yet again confirmation to the changes I’ve made – their bodies can’t handle “junk” anymore. Our body is a temple and we have to choose to treat it as such. When you do, the energy and joy you feel is amazing.

    Like

  2. Thank you for stating one of the most intelligent comments on my blog ever! What an inspiration you are!! If you read some of my archived posts you’ll see that I empahasized that exact thing over and over – “it’s your choice, you own it, so choose wisely!” Praise God you looked at the big picture and are instilling wonderful values in your children – I’m sure you hear that they are the most well behaved children in public too. Wish we could clone you!

    You are also right about the fact that once you start living healthily, the taste of rich, processed foods lose their appeal to your physical body as well as your desires. (I can sit next to a box of donuts and have no temptation at all.) Praise God that you are taking control of your health now and now live joyfully honoring God! Tomorrow’s post will also interest you even though I know I’m preaching to the choir, 🙂

    Please don’t hesitate to comment again and if there’s any way I can assist you with a blog post, as well as cheer you on, don’t hesitate to ask.

    Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

