In Regards to Health, Don’t Be a Sheep!

New Creations Ministries began years ago, when I noticed similarities between spirituality and health.  As I counseled a new patient of mine,  I began discussing the basics of weight loss. She dismissed me, exclaiming, “Oh Ellie, I know all that already.”

As I pondered this, James 2:19 popped into my mind, “You believe in God – good, even the demons believe that . . . and shudder.”  

People know what to do but don’t. Head knowledge without heart knowledge with positive action is dead! So similar to those who know they should eat well and exercise, but don’t. I wondered why, if so many know what they should do, disregard wise nutritional counseling?

Look at sheep. They robotically follow without thinking for themselves. They’ll even follow other sheep over a cliff to their death. Isaiah 53:6  “We all, like sheep, have gone astray . . .” Sadly some, who pursue foolish quick weight-loss quests follow blindly as well, occasionally plunging over a death cliff. Even though I dutifully research, evaluate and base my information on physiological truths, I don’t mind if you even question my counsel.

1 John 4:1Dear friends, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world.”

One might know many of the basic truths of the Bible, but actions don’t show it! Most Christians understand that a daily 50% fried food diet isn’t honoring God, but still fail to eat properly.  More and more I see Christians following blindly down a treacherous path spoken of by some spiritual leader, health guru or politician without testing the spirits! My ‘radical’ approach endorses “eat less and exercise more.”

Politicians can spew forth beautiful rhetoric but their actions profess something entirely different! Some endorse sacrifice but have a ‘you go first’ mentality. Still people follow blindly. They believe a lie. Perhaps I’m simply skeptical since I worked in public relations in D.C. and saw the half-truths spewed forth by those in charge of our nation.  I saw how crowds enthusiastically clapped and “aaaw’d” without thinking ideas through. What I saw and heard was only what these people wanted to see and hear.  It turned me off from politics.

2 Timothy 4:3 “For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own passions,”

Truth: eat less, exercise more is simply too slow for some who are searching for that instant ‘magic’ pill. Test those propagating a health craze with the same scrutiny you would a spiritual advisor or politician! Before endorsing any program or person, you must ask yourself, “What’s in for them?”  Do they have my best interests at heart or only donated money and blind devotion?

Now ask other questions: “Will this improve my health? Is it glorifying my Lord and Savior? Will it benefit others, like my family? Could it  hurt my bodily temple with manipulating chemicals?”

1 Corinthians 6: 19-20  “Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.”

Physiologically there is no quick, safe way to consistently lose 5-10 pounds per week. But through the gradual process of tackling our own challenges, we’ll discover fortitude, patience, and physiological truths benefiting the entire family which honors God. In regards to nutrition, I caution you to not become a sheep, blindly following a false leader!

4 thoughts on “In Regards to Health, Don’t Be a Sheep!

  1. I love this post! I think it’s great how you used versus to talk about being healthy. I feel the Lord would be in full support of this. We definitely need to take good care of our bodies. Thanks for posting ! 🙂 I’m a follower now too 🙂

    Like

    • Oh I’m thrilled you wanted to be part of my little Christian “tribe” of followers – I have the most encouraging group and I love them all! 🙂 I’m so looking forward to getting to know you better and hope you enjoy commenting as much as I enjoy reading them.

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

