Increasing Fun Actually Assists Weight-Loss!

Tell me, when did life cease to become a game to you?  When was the last time you played simply for the pure joy in it? Our basic focus lesson this week is: “Exercise For the Fun of it!”

Everyone’s become so serious! “Well, have you seen what’s going on in the world today? Financial ruin, natural disasters, tragedies everywhere . . .”   Sure I have. I’ve also read the last page of the Bible and I understand that no matter what man does to me, I am under God’s Will and face eternity with Him.  That alone makes this Christian smile!

Philippians 4:11, “I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.”

God will not withhold any good thing from us (Psalm 84:11) and absolutely desires that we lead a joyful life. Man originally chose to mess it up, but don’t you choose to! Find joy that can never be taken away.

Okay enough preaching, what does that have to do with weight loss???  Stress adds weight, so find a way to de-stress. Find JOY!  PLAY! SMILE!  LAUGH! Joy brings contentment in all situations.

1 Timothy 6:8 “But if we have food and clothing, with these we will be content.”

When we were kids we played for the sheer pleasure of it. We ran, climbed trees, rode bikes, played ball . . .  I worry about this generation who sit in front of computer screens playing games and aren’t outside. Fresh air releases endorphins that uplift the spirit. Also breathing through your nose produces a short-lived gas named nitric oxide which reduces stress, creates younger looking skin, greater memory and even better hair. Amazing, just by breathing deeply through your nose!

So how does one take strides to find joy?  First thank God for your many blessings. There’s always something to praise Him for! Then find ways to play! Make life a game even in your weight loss endeavors.

  1. Remember when you were a kid and your parents placed your artwork on the refrigerator? It was your proudest accomplishment!  When did we stop rewarding ourselves for a job well done?  Get colorful stars and for every small victory you overcome, (walking the golf course instead of riding) place a star on your graph. (College coaches place stars on their player’s helmets.)
  2. Speaking of graphs, create one. Line off graph paper with weekly dates across the top and pounds lost down the side. For every five lbs lost, reward yourself with a non-food item! Color it in solid and you’ll be so proud of your accomplishments as you see it filling in.
  3. Make exercise a game again. Dance, swim, play tennis, Zumba, hula hoop, create active games with your children, like  making snow forts, snowmen, piling leaves, playing catch.
  4. Talk yourself into success by creating mind-games.  For example, it was downright COLD in Arizona today, yet my little dog was determined to walk (and she MOVES!) Okay, I told myself, we’ll just go for a short walk to stop her pestering. I walked ten minutes ‘just to the corner’ and thought, Okay, I can continue to the next corner – by the time we finished I had gone our normal forty minutes and it felt so good to conquer my reluctance. She got a treat, I didn’t.
  5. Take a photo of yourself as you are right now, today. Put it aside and don’t look at it again until a month from now.  Chances are when you see it again, you’ll notice your face is thinner and you have a more defined waistline. Put it away for another month and reward yourself with a non-food item: DVD, nail polish, cologne, scarf . . . reward success!
  6. Find something tangible like a belt and mark off the inside as you see it decrease in size. You’ve won again – you get another prize!

Life on earth is a series of actions/reactions until we reach our final destination. You only have one life; is it your best life? Make It Victorious!

Philippians 4:13  “For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.”

5 thoughts on “Increasing Fun Actually Assists Weight-Loss!

  1. JOY is my word for the year! We have started writing down our joy gifts from the Father over dinner each night. I’m hoping to write a post on it this week. Joy is the atmosphere of heaven! Thanks for sharing these great thoughts Ellie.

    Like

  2. How wonderful! Can’t wait to read it! I have always said that someone can steal our job, materialistic items and momentary happiness, but no one can steal your Joy if that’s anchored to our Savior’s Love. Happiness is fleeting but Joy lives within a soul. How wonderful to leave your family such great memories round the dinner table.

    Like

  3. What a wonderful post – thank you! Praise God for the gift of encouragement He has given you through this blog. It definately makes me smile. 🙂 Joy is such an important part of overall well being.

    I agree with your post – there’s a lot going on in the world, and all we can do is pray for those whom are hurting; and we ourselves go through many trials and doubts. However, we need to try our best to not let anything rob us of our joy and to always be thankful. There’s always reasons to give thanks. 😀

    It’s so sad that so many people have lost their inner child within them – the ability to laugh, to smile, and to hope. I can see how this would tie into weight loss – as stress affects us more than we think. I like your idea of rewarding and encouraging ourselves when we have done well and it would be a blessing if more of us could encourage each other in the same way, too. 🙂

    Like

  4. You are such a “wise woman of God”, and I am truly blessed to have you as a follower. I have also reaped so much from your insight and I appreciate your comments of encouragement so much! (Laughter has been one of the “secrets” to withstanding a 43 year marriage and I praise God for giving us joy in our marriage when their hasn’t always been ‘happiness’ in it, due primarily to our own making. Thank you again.

    Like

    • Aww, shucks – thanks. 🙂 I’m not sure if I’m “wise” but I do feel it’s important to always let others know when we appreciate their encouragement, and I certainly want you to know of that and how much I enjoy your blog. I feel really blessed that I am lead here and by your messages and scriptural references. 😀

      I’m so glad to hear your marriage has lasted so long and is still going strong! Praise God! 🙂 I understand, and I’m glad that you haven’t lost one bit of laughter and love.

      You’re very welcome! I enjoy reading, learning and commenting to your blog very much! It is a blessing. 🙂

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

