The Good, the Bad and the Ugly of the Weight Loss Chains

                                AND SO IT BEGINS . . .  

As you savor that sixteenth chicken wing or huge plate of nachos during the game, you’ll start being bombarded by commercials on television; join Weight Watchers, NutriSystem, Jenny Craig, shake on Sensa, etc.   How do you know what to believe?  Bear in mind that all those celebrities singing the praises of their weight loss program also have access to personal trainers, massage therapists, stylists and a whole lot of pampering behind the scenes to make them look even better!

Some diet programs are great, some good, others just plain ugly and dangerous! Any good diet should be a lifelong one. One that teaches you how to eat as you resume normalcy. If it doesn’t, you’re spinning your wheels because you’ll regain.

Every time one gains and loses weight, the consistency of fat cells change.  It’s harder to lose. You’re also stressing the heart, kidneys and liver, so you better lose the first time. If you go on a popular diet program, it means you’ll go off a diet sometime. Find one that encourages maintenance!

Which do I recommend?  First, it depends on what type of personality you have.  Do you need a support partner?  Are you an independent thinker? Enjoy exercising? Do you need someone to be accountable to? Accountability is key, to God, yourself or someone else!

Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, NutriSystem are basically the same, presenting no side effects. All programs are within proper nutrient % values regarding fat, carbs, protein intake and proper portion sizes. Since taste is subjective, choose the one you want. Jenny Craig scored slightly higher in taste preference. Weight Watcher meals are acceptable too. By purchasing their packaged food you do learn portion control. It’s pricey though. Purchasing individual meals is expensive.

I believe educational counseling is the key.  I’ve said many times that anyone can lose weight, it’s keeping it off that’s the challenge.  We need a diet for the normal world with its saboteurs, actual food, and ways to overcome real life situations, which is information I gave my patients, so I’m partial to those with one-on-one counseling.

Weight Watchers and Jenny Craig have trained personal counselors who educate and encourage.  The ongoing education of their counselors is commendable. They take pride in your accomplishments and are thrilled when you succeed. The diet plans I can’t endorse are the liquid programs and the fad diets that expressly avoid one basic food group, either fats, protein or carbohydrates. Atkins, Medifast, protein powder diets, the Cookie diet, (sorry Liam), grapefruit diet . . . in other words those you couldn’t stay on for a lifetime. Do you really want to drink your meals for the rest of your life when your body has an innate desire to chew???

How to spot a fad diet? Fad diets make outlandish claims (and people believe them), “Lose 10 lbs in 10 days!”, “Lose without exercising!” “Never feel hungry again!” “Avoid these 12 bad foods!”  All are too good to be true.

And don’t even think about promised weight-loss through pills!!!  These are dangerous and you’re playing Russian roulette with your heart, brain and endocrine system. You cannot trick your body into weight loss, it’s smarter than you are and will defend itself against anything unnatural.

So what now? Sorry, slow and steady is the true way of keeping it off. Strive to become a New Creation through discipline, patience and education and you’ll keep weight off as I have for 35 years. Do you want to be healthy . . . want to change? If so, tomorrow “God’s Sustaining Weight-loss Plan” begins.

2 Corinthians 5:17 “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.”

Embrace change and become your best self!

10 thoughts on “The Good, the Bad and the Ugly of the Weight Loss Chains

  1. These still are not showing up in all the search topic pages. I was looking in ‘faith’ and diet programs’ and it is not in there. I have noticed on mine that if I tag it too many times (in too many topics), it won’t show up at all. I usually try to only use the most popular tags like I see on the explore topics page and only 10 or under.

    Like

  2. Wow, you’re quick to read my posts friend!! Thanks!

    Unfortunately since everyone’s chemical make-up is different, there’s no “one size fits all” diet plan out there, I will provide a typical one. And more of common sense, encouragement, practical applications and strategies for what God expects of us.

    Because most people know what to do, I don’t really want them to rely on me as a crutch or some formula – they can do it powerfully by themselves when they take control! I’ll forcus on WHY so they’ll remember to do it, what foods improve your moods if depressed, how to eat throughout the day, what grams mean, how foods affect your system and what to eat, when, etc. I’ll be busy!! Thanks for your support, it’s so appreciated. It’s going to be a great New Year’s and you’ll be so healthy by the end of it, just wait and see!

    Like

  3. I am really looking forward to these posts from you. I do have a question about fiber. Are these cereals and other products with “fiber added” good and healthy? And what is the difference between the different kinds of fiber listed on the labels?
    Maybe you could also do a post on smoothies. I like them for breakfast but I have to admit that I also use powders and premade foods in them. Maybe you have some advise for a healthier smoothie? Thank you for your help and this blog. i was all ready to buy supplements and a diet book but after prayer I feel that your more natural and faith filled approach is exactly what I need to do.

    Like

  4. Excellent questions and yes, I will discuss each subject in a future blog. so much to discuss – so litle time, right?? I’m trying to take it systematically but there’s so much I need to say and I’m afraid to get ahead of myself. Look for a post on fiber coming up which I’ve written and I’ll include something about smoothies (love ’em too) soon. Thanks for questions, you keep me motivated!! Phil 4:13 and 2 Cor. 5:17

    Like

  5. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.
    I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will often
    come back someday. I want to encourage that you continue your great
    job, have a nice holiday weekend!

    Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

