“Sensa and Sensibility!” (with apologies to Jane Austin)

Have you seen the commercials?

Those gorgeous size 2 models dancing all over the beach shaking the weight reduction product called Sensa?  According to those happy smiling faces, if you simply use Sensa, you also can indulge in all the decadent, culinary pleasures of deliciously fattening hot dogs, french fries, pizza, cold cuts and huge ice cream servings and you’ll still manage to lose weight.  Wow!!!  I never knew it was so easy, did you?!

Sorry, I know I sound snarky, but I now understand how Jesus felt when he angrily threw the money changers out of the Temple. “What are you doing to my Father’s house?”  I realize we live under grace and can eat pretty much as we want, but I don’t believe this is how God wants us to treat our bodily temple, do you?     1 Corinthians 3:17, “If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy him. For God’s temple is holy, and you are that temple.”   That’s quite a strongly worded command.

According to Sensa:

  • A participant will lose up to 30 lbs within a 6 month period, or approximately 1  1/4 pounds a week.
  • Sensa consists of chemical flakes: silica, maltodextrin, tricalcium phosphate and others, that are sprinkled over food.
  • Sensa offers many flavors, mimicking mildly salty or sweet tastes.
  • It claims to work by tricking your sense of smell.

So it tricks your body into thinking you’re not hungry? Now who was it that tricked Eve in the Garden of Eden, again? Oh right, Satan.  He’s still on the prowl today.  1 Peter 5:8 “Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour”  I’d rather let God control my life, not the devil, wouldn’t you?

Those who try Sensa are searching for an easy way out, wanting to literally have their cake and eat it too. Okay, once again, what are my mantras?

  1.  Eat for Nutrients!  How many nutrients are in hot dogs? Not many! And . . .
  2. Anything’s Fine in Moderation. One doesn’t have to give up all their favorite foods; simply make better choices.

Practice self-control. Titus 1:8 “But hospitable, a lover of good, self-controlled, upright, holy, and disciplined.”

The majority of overweight people know what to do; eat less, drink water and exercise. Overeating is more often due to unconscious, emotional, self-destructive reasons.  Until we get to the root of the problem, we’ll only mask it. Magic pills don’t exist! ( See “I’m Waiting For That Magic Pill” Sept 28th post)

Although a few did sing its praises, the majority of those who tried Sensa stated that it didn’t work for them. Hmm, wonder why . . .

According to the website, Sensa is recommended to be taken along with a diet and exercise program.  Of those who lost weight on this program, most included routine exercise as well. Duh . . . doesn’t exercise and eating less always burn calories? And I recommend routinely losing only about 2 lbs a week anyway. Of course, when one loses weight without exercise, one also loses muscle along with fat. When they gain, they gain primarily fat back. Then it’s harder to lose when they try again.

Oh wait, hold on! . . . I’ve found was some good news!  You’ll definitely lose some weight because your wallet’s going to be lighter.  A one month starter kit is $59.95 and you can purchase smaller travel packets for only $29.95.  For that, someone can purchase a month’s worth of fruits and vegetables, which will create a more alkaline body, decrease appetite and improve one’s immune system.

Amazingly, a person can lose 2 lbs a week just by eating right and exercising! Hmmm, I think I’ll purchase a new dance DVD with the savings.

Please don’t be taken in by false gurus who promise an easy fix!  Honor God by disciplining your body and trusting Him in your Christian walk.

11 thoughts on ““Sensa and Sensibility!” (with apologies to Jane Austin)

  1. I’ve always found it really funny how all these “miracle” diet aids add in the small print that the results they are telling you about aren’t typical and how important it is to eat a healthy diet and exercise while taking their chemical…. um I mean product to get maximum weight loss. It’s nuts! Save the money and use it to buy healthier food choices. The weight will come off.

    Like

    • Exactly!! Great catch! Some also fail to realize that these “celebrity” endorsers have fitness trainers, weekly spa treatments and a very pampered lifestyle. I have often said, “the process is just as important as the progress” and that’s why I wouldn’t give someone a “magic pill” even if I could.

      Thanks for your thoughts.

      Like

      • I totally agree with you about the process being important. That is why so many people gain weight back even after weight loss surgery. Being overweight starts in the head not the stomach. If you don’t change the thoughts and beliefs that got you there in the first place any change will be temporary.

        Like

  2. Anything to make a buck…awesome viewpoint and very astute.
    Then there are us older folks whose metabolism as slowed to a snails crawl, today I look at food and I gain weight…but …everything in moderation.
    Love, hugs and prayers…ME and the Boss

    Like

    • Thank you, your comments mean a lot to me. You are completely right about our older metabolism, Ugh! I would like nothing better sometimes than to indulge in a huge slice of cheesecake but then I remember that my future reward is seeing my Savior’s face say “Well done.” So self discipline and not creating an idol out of food is worth it. (But I do exercise in order to have anything in moderation).

      Thanks again and I hope you stop in sometime soon to comment!

      Like

  3. I agree! It is so easy to get sucked into the “new thing” (hoping it will be the easier thing) instead of learning how to live as God created us to. I struggle with it and so blessed by your heart for God and love for people shinning through practical encouragement of this. Thank you!

    Like

    • Wow what a compliment, thank you so much!

      Yes you are right! There sure are a lot of “false prophets of weight loss” out there. It’s one reason I continually study and test claims of false diet gurus to see how they weigh against the Scriptures and God’s physiology. There are however some sensible ones which I’m looking forward to covering in the future. Appreciate your comment.

      Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

