“Danger, Danger Will Robinson, Energy Drinks Ahead!!”

Checking out of a Safeway, a young woman moved her 8 Monster Drinks toward the cashier, giving me more room for my groceries. I thanked her and she smiled, starting a conversation, “These aren’t actually for me of course because I only use a couple at a time, but I’m buying these for my friends who asked me to buy them actually because they really enjoy them too, but they really don’t do much for me but I just like them and they are actually quite good for people you know.”

Wow. If I hadn’t known better, I’d actually met Minnie Mouse on steroids. Nope, those energy drinks didn’t affect her at all . . . nope, not at all. It might have seemed humourous, but it’s not.  I always caution people to act sensibly around these caffeinated energy drinks. A little goes a long way.

I Corinthians 10:23 “Everything is permissible”–but not everything is beneficial. “Everything is permissible”–but not everything is constructive.”

Energy drinks aren’t new. They were created in 1905 by a Scottish inventor and the Japanese went on to perfect them. Today they are a multi-billion dollar industry, targeted primarily toward the young.

Important: Caffeine a drug and all drugs have side effects.

Caffeine affects everyone differently because each of us has a unique chemical makeup. My husband can drink a cup of coffee and fall asleep instantly. I have a cup at 1pm and I’m awake until midnight. Caffeine takes 5 minutes to enter and 15-35 hours to clear your system. Limit caffeine to 240 mg. per day. An 8 oz. coffee equals approximately 80-110 mg.

Caffeine elevates your blood pressure and heart rate, artificially stimulating your system. A little is fine, but more is not better! Too much caffeine and your brain will go into its protection mode when overloaded.  The body will demand more to acquire the same effect.

I once had a patient who was addicted to 30 cups of coffee per day. This was the main reason she couldn’t lose weight.  Caffeine washes away valuable B vitamins – whose purpose is to convert proteins, fats and carbohydrates into energy. All that caffeine deplete the product’s extra vitamins, thus defeating its purpose. It took months to withdraw her dependency from it. So if you’re on a diet and have been consuming energy drinks, stop now!

The more caffeine you consume the more bone loss you’ll endure, increasing your chances of osteoporosis. Caffeine, especially ones as potent as Monster, Rock Star, Red Bull, AMP, deplete valuable nutrients such as potassium, magnesium, phosphorus and calcium which strengthen your bone structure.

Some mistakenly equate energy drinks with sports drinks, (Gatorade, Powerade) which is a dangerous misconception! Energy drinks do not replace electrolytes, contain very little (or none) and are diuretics. Consuming an energy drink and exercising afterward is a dangerous practice!  Sweat and you’ll become dehydrated quickly. Water is the best energy drink you can consume while exercising.

What’s the purpose of aerobic exercise but to increase your heart rate, right? Guarana, found in many energy drinks, is a powerful stimulant, which increases the heart rate even more. Exercising on an energy drink could over-stress the heart muscle, causing arrhythmia, heart palpitations, nausea, anxiety, headaches and agitation. You might look good but no one will want to be around you!

At a recent Home Show, one booth passed out 5-hour Energy samples. It contained various nutrients and 138 mg. of caffeine per 2 oz. serving  As I’ve told you, vitamins and minerals only work in conjunction with food, so within hours they are simply washed away.  What’s even more troubling, I tasted the product and instantly knew it contained Splenda, that dangerous artificial chemical. (See Splenda isn’t So Splendid, Oct. 22).  Read labels and use common sense.

Bottom line: We live under grace and must act responsibly. Use caution if consuming these products. Honor God, Live Responsibly.

10 thoughts on ““Danger, Danger Will Robinson, Energy Drinks Ahead!!”

  1. I don’t drink energy drinks, but I was wondering about the effects of caffeine. I was hoping you had something on it. I did the blog search and here I am. : ) Thanks this was very helpful.

    Like

  2. Hi Denine, Just got back from a joyous occasion late last night, (our son got married to a kind, wonderful woman! It was a great celebration! But I am so glad I live in the sunny part of the country right now. :))

    So as to your question; hmmm, it seems like I wrote more about caffeine but could only find two posts about it so that’s a wonderful idea for a post again, thanks.

    Yes as in all foods there are good and bad points to it. Too much caffeine depletes the bodies B vitamins which jump start the metabolism and keeps us calm through its therapeutic benefits. It also depletes calcium, magnesium and potassium which regulates heart rhythm as well as keeps our bones strong. Yes, there are many important reasons to cut down on caffeine intake and I will try to write about that within the next few days – so stay tuned. Thanks for the questions and blessings to you both,

    Like

      • Thank you Ruben for your comment. I hadn’t heard that it depleted potassium, but I wouldn’t be surprised. It makes sense, because of the powerful amount of caffeine in those products causes an imbalance.

        I counseled a Pro Golfer who had the same problem. I advised him to increase pure water and potassium foods (such as bananas, potatoes, beans and green leafy vegetables. That did the trick! I sure appreciate your comment. Blessings,

        Like

  3. Hi Ellie,

    I thought you might find this interesting. Healthline has compiled a list of the Effects of Caffeine on the Body in a visual graphic and I thought you and your readers would be interested in seeing the information.

    You can check out the information at http://www.healthline.com/health/caffeine-effects-on-body We’ve had good feedback about the article and we think it will benefit your readers by giving them med-reviewed information in a visual way.

    If you think this information is a good fit for your audience would you share it on your site, https://newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/2012/11/12/danger-danger-will-robinson-energy-drinks-ahead/ , or social media?

    Let me know what you think and have a great week.

    All the best,
    Maggie Danhakl • Assistant Marketing Manager
    p: 415-281-3100 f: 415-281-3199

    Healthline • The Power of Intelligent Health
    660 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94107
    http://www.healthline.com | @Healthline | @HealthlineCorp

    Like

    • HI Maggie, Thank you so much for contacting me. Because I receive so much spam, I needed to check out your site and found it quite beneficial with its diversity. I am honored that you contacted me and as you can see have endorsed it here. Someday I might repost this and will include a link to your site whenever I do. If you have read other posts you will find that I believe that anything is fine in moderation and balance is necessary for health.

      Like

  4. I had a sense the energy drinks are not good for you, but I didn’t really know why. Thank you for the education, this makes a whole lot of sense. especially the part about needing more and more to have the same effect. I’m going to show this to a friend of mine who falls into this category because I think it will help him, hopefully, to stop drinking them and switch to something like green tea. on the positive side, he drinks v8 vfusion energy drinks.

    Like

    • You are so smart! It’s nutrients like B vitamins, that convert the food we eat into energy. Highly caffeinated drinks simply washes away those valuable nutrients.

      I also create my own sodas by using flavored carbonated water with no artificial sugars added, and a small amount of orange or 100% fruit juice for a refreshing soda. Even wine is better than sodas. Thank you again for your comment and encouragement! Blessings and please return – I love hearing from you, Blessings,

      Like

  5. I found this article after searching for causes of muscle cramps because I have recently been experiencing them frequently. When I read that they can be caused by dehydration and mineral depletion of magnesium and potassium, it occurred to me that I had recently been drinking rock stars instead of having coffee. I would say it has been about three weeks. I had noticed that they tend to make me thirsty and I suspected they may be a problem since it was the only change in diet. So I Googled the question, “can energy drinks deplete magnesium and potassium?” and that is how I found this website and the valuable information provided. Thank you so much for posting this because it has convinced me to switch not only from rockstar but also what was formerly a coffee habit to water and green tea.

    Like

  6. Hi Janet. Thank you so much for taking the time to write. It really warms my heart that this information was able to assist you. I also hope you’ll check out my post on The Benefits of Green Tea. No need to cut out all coffee. Coffee contains nutrients and antioxidants, so a couple of cups per day isn’t going to hurt you – (unless you are suffering from osteoporosis).

    Once I worked with a golf pro who experienced leg cramps so strong, he couldn’t continue on with the tournament. He cut down his caffeine and increased bananas, broccoli, spinach and other fruits and vegetables and didn’t suffer from cramps again.

    Those energy drinks are plain dangerous for some people. Gratefully you are not playing Russian roulette with your body.. Once again thanks for writing and I wish you ever health success. Please come back again and feel free to ask any additional questions if I can help you. Blessings,

    Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

