No More “Twigs and Sticks” Diets!

“Max” came into my office, sat down, placed his arms across his chest,  and glaringly announced, “I’m only here because my wife told me I had to. I’ll come for three weeks and that’s it, then I’m  done . . . outta here.”

I smiled and asked, “Sir, are you under the impression that you’re going to be eating twigs and sticks?  Well I can assure you that’s not the case. Anything’s fine in moderation, even sirloin steaks, potatoes and beer.” His body language conveyed immediate relief as I tried to convince him he wouldn’t be eating rice cakes and celery. “You see the secret to health is learning how to eat through the right choices, not simply enduring a diet to reach a goal.” We need diets for the real world.

Why do people think, incorrectly, that they must suffer in order for something to work?  I call that the “penance principle”.  I can’t have salvation unless I suffer for it and I really, really try! No, Christ offered us the free gift of salvation and there is nothing we must do to earn it, only believe and accept it. Ephesians 2:8 “God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God.”

In the same way, healthy living is believing and accepting a new way to live for a better you.God knew if we ate fruits, vegetables, herbs and whole grains, we would remain healthier. After the flood, He advised us to eat meat. We need to accept this basic truth. Everything consumed has a purpose. God said nothing about processed, chemically laden products, that was man’s doing.  1 Corinthians 6:12 states that ” . . . anything is acceptable but not everything is beneficial”.

So the choice is up to us. I Corinthians 3:16, “Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s spirit dwells in you?” Choose health or a slow decline. The second law of thermodynamics states everything is slowing down, including our metabolism, but I intend to give mine a fighting chance.

I just presented several blogs about diet misconceptions; what diets don’t work. And now you understand that our body is created to work like a well-run machine. If everyone exercised daily we could probably eat anything we want and never gain weight, but would you still desire saturated fat and over 3,000 chemically laced additives?  We can’t avoid all chemicals in life, so it’s important to build up an immune system to withstand the attacks chemicals foster against our bodies.

I’m not necessarily saying go organic either. Some farms sit right next to those that spray and “organic” might depend on wind currents.  And let’s consider what was in the soil before the farmer bought the farm? As a farm girl, I played in dirt when I was a kid, building up a hearty immune system. Nowadays, children live in a more sanitized atmosphere, sitting in front of the computer playing video games and haven’t.

Humans also consume too many chemical-laden, hormone-injected meats and saturated fat through fast food. That kind of general diet raises the danger of illnesses such as cancers and heart disease! I suspect that’s why children are reaching puberty at younger and younger ages.

Cancer cells cannot live in an alkaline environment, so I urge you to consume a diet rich in 5x’s more colorful alkaline fruits, vegetables and whole grains. Then add lean meat proteins and good olive and canola oil. God never intended us to suffer for the sake of our diets! You’re not suffering when you eat an apple or even a slice of apple pie once in a while. It’s your choice!

2 thoughts on “No More “Twigs and Sticks” Diets!

  1. Ellie, I am so glad you stopped by my blog, because now I have found yours. It confirmed my decision of my direction in nutrition for me and my daughter. We both have celiac disease, and the past few months I have been in sort of a health crisis. This past week has been really bad, bedridden. We eat healthy, very little processed foods, fruits veggies, meats, beans, you get the picture. I have been praying for answers, and knew where I needed to go, but was hesitant. But now I have confirmation. And I love, love, love your blog! Thanks!

    Like

  2. Hi Shelly, thank you for your kind words and right back at ya – cause I really enjoyed finding your website as well and will encourage others to check it out!

    My heart goes out to you regarding your celiac disease, it’s a debilitating illness, but please focus on all you CAN eat, like soy (banana-orange juice milkshakes, mmmm!), buckwheat (as in buckwheat pancakes with fruit! -also known as Kasha, so you can find cereals too) beans, flax, garlic, onions, fruits, veggies . . . but it does seem like so many products contain wheat! Nowadays you’ll find more gluten free items on the shelf.

    I believe you must be a wonderful mother too! Keep encouraging your daughter to eat healthy and she’ll not be sorry. Maybe you can make foods in the kitchen together to build a warm family relationship with food. She’ll cherish those memories!

    My website consists of the entire mind, body, spirit connection to motivate others to be the best they can be for our Lord who gives us life and strength.

    (For those who don’t know, gluten is the protein that gives food its chewy texture. If I remember right about 1 in 135 are truly allergic to it)

    Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

