So What About Those High Protein Diets?

It surprises some patients to know that of the three major food groups, (carbohydrates, proteins and fats), protein is the one that should be least consumed and here’s why:

  • The body can tolerate only so much protein. Too much places a strain on the kidneys and the liver, losing water weight & muscle, not fat.
  • High protein diets cause the body to age faster – and who wants that?
  • A protein dieter risks uremic (kidney) poisoning, damaging the brain, nervous system, even causing death.
  • Higher protein diets increase certain cancers due to IGF-I, an insulin growth hormone, according to the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition.
  • Dieters lose more water weight than unwanted fat. Once again it forces the body to lose water unnaturally and your body rebels by conserving water after you return to eating normal foods.
  • Too much protein upsets body chemistry, losing calcium, bone, muscle and vital nutrients such as vitamin C, magnesium, potassium and phosphorus in the process.
  • High protein bars have the calorie count as candy and some taste like dirt.
  • Most people only need about 6 – 8 oz. of meat protein a day.  That’s about the size of a deck of cards or the palm of your hand.
  • The body has a physiological need to chew and when deprived, “nags” for something to chew. When the dieter gives in, they feel like a failure for lack of willpower.
  • Liquid protein diets are almost always extremely low-calorie plans, sometimes only consisting of 400-1000 calories a day. After awhile, the body’s metabolism slows down thinking it’s starving, and will protect itself by holding on to every calorie. (One patient came to me who hadn’t lost weight even on a 400 calories per day liquid diet!!! It was a longer process to win her rebelling body back to health.)

So take a look at that protein drink on the shelf and notice how many calories it has. Probably about 250-350 right? Okay, for that same amount of calories, you can consume a huge garden salad consisting of leafy greens, radishes, cucumbers, carrots, a small tomato and 2-3 ounces of tuna or grilled left-over chicken and a drizzle of olive oil and vinegar dressing.  With a nice seltzer/juice combination drink and you’ll feel much more satisfied. You were suffering for nothing.

Most people mistakenly believe that they need to consume animal protein to build muscle tissue. Unless you are a body builder, which probably isn’t the case, muscles need glycogen, a carbohydrate to produce healthy muscles. You can be healthy existing on only vegetable protein.

Daniel 1:1-15  “Then Daniel said to the steward whom the chief of the eunuchs had assigned over Daniel, Hananiah, Mishael, and Azariah,  “Test your servants for ten days; let us be given vegetables to eat and water to drink.  Then let our appearance and the appearance of the youths who eat the king’s food be observed by you, and deal with your servants according to what you see.”  So he listened to them in this matter, and tested them for ten days.  At the end of ten days it was seen that they were better in appearance and fatter in flesh than all the youths who ate the king’s food.”

Protein is also found in legumes, soy products, fruits, vegetables and whole grains as well as meat.  The body wants to work together like the well run machine it is meant to be, by gathering its necessary vitamins, minerals, amino acids, enzymes, phytonutrients through nutritious foods.

Stop suffering and enjoy the life God gave you!

6 thoughts on “So What About Those High Protein Diets?

  1. I just want to say “Wow!!!” that is amazing infomation. I needed to hear this today and I just want to say thanks for sharing this wealth of information with us today.

    Like

  2. Elly, Dear, Sorry I couldn’t reply earlier. The good thing is that I don’t use those shakes and bars. I use only fresh and real food like for example eggs, quark (similar to yogurt), smoked chicken fillet, tuna, cooked shrimps, pasta, rice, meat, lots of vegetables like spinach, paksoy, lettuce, tomato. So, could you please tell me what you think ’cause I’m a little worried right now and as you can’t be here to comfort me I hope your answer will do that. 😉 Really, I have no experience at all with this diet. I have the idea it helps ’cause I some progress, but I also work out a lot so I’m not sure if it’s maybe the combination of it? Wishing you a wonderful Sunday evening!

    Like

    • I hadn’t realized this was such an old post! I hadn’t even figured out how to insert photos yet, 🙂
      I was very happy to discover you aren’t on those protein shakes and if I remember right, your only purpose is to get rid of a stubborn muffin top, right? That can certainly make one panicky and actually at my age I am developing one too and desperately attempting to rid it off (!!!) – so I understand your concerns. I just want to ensure you don’t develop kidney or liver problems eating so much protein. This all sounds very healthy though, good job!

      I wanted to ask if you are still losing, maintaining or not gaining? And this is not a plateau, where you stay if you have been at this particular weight for a long time before until it eventually concedes and you lose again? My personal email is itascaellie@hotmail.com if you care to contact me. No problem.

      I can’t promise instant results but when someone is trying to reduce in a certain spot this is what I recommend:

      1. Shake up your exercise – perhaps your body is used to the “same old- same old” and needs a few different exercises. (I’m going to ask one of my fitness followers to supply a post regarding this challenge.) A hula hoop, dancing (holds in your tummy), swimming or exercises in water, vary your walking times to slow, fast, speedy, walk, etc., try side weight exercise targeting the muffin area, vary your weights to lighter reps but more of them or heavier weights and more side areas, try boxing moves.
      2. Try something crazy simply for a three day span (or even vary this over 9 days) of 3 days of drinking only nutrient-dense juices, sodium free soups (make your own) or water based salads (if you aren’t under strict doctor’s care?) Add fruits so you won’t give in to other sweets. This isn’t a diet (!) when you know it’s only going to last a few days.
      3. Vary and stimulate the amount of calories you eat over several days: one day 1500, one day 1200, one day even 1800 or 2,000 and see if that shakes up your metabolism.
      4. Add kelp tablets to your diet if iodine isn’t a concern. Iodine assists the thyroid with stimulating metabolism.
      5. Try going gluten-free for only three weeks but make sure you consume plenty of fibrous fruits and vegetables for good digestion.

      Well my friend, I hope these suggestions help at least in a small way. Stay focused and optimistic! Measure the muffin top area and then measure it again in two weeks (not before you will get discouraged if it doesn’t move. Blessings and strive for excellence not perfection,

      Like

      • Wow Ellie, How nice of you! Thank you so much for your kindness and of course also for your concern. I feel reassured now. I’ll go through once more tomorrow and in case I have question or need some more tips, I know where to find you. 😉 O, and forgive me for writing your name incorrectly the last time. My colleague has the same name but written differently. Have a nice evening and for tomorrow a wonderful day! 🙂

        Like

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

