Ya Gotta Be More Stubborn than a Lhasa Apso!

We once owned the most stubborn, obstinate Lhasa Apso in the world.  And I loved him dearly!! When I took him for his walk, he had a mind of his own. One day, no matter how hard I tried to lead him in another direction, he was determined to stroll through some vicious fire ant mounds. Anyone seeing me would probably have called Animal Control and turned me in for abuse. “How could she be so cruel?” they’d wonder. If asked, I’d have to explain, “But it was for his own good,”

Sometimes do we look at God and believe He does the same thing. “How could God be so cruel?”  “Why would God allow that to happen?”  “How could a loving God allow my friend to get ill?”

Do you know that almost every disease can be traced back to what we consume? Does God put that “supersize me” portion of fried foods or a large serving of ice cream into our body? Of course not!  Yet sometimes we are as obstinate as that little Lhasa, determined to destroy our temple of the Holy Spirit because of our selfish desires.  What about personal responsibility?

We can be just as stubborn about fad diet plans. “I want it, it works for others and I don’t care about the consequences!” Sometimes God has to take drastic measures to pull us away from our own destruction . . . even to the point of allowing a health scare to affect our lives. Sometimes it’s in a still, small voice and sometimes it’s a volcano, but it gets our attention.

God wants only the best for us. Jeremiah 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Even after a gentle nudge, we still desire instant gratification and want to follow our own way! Certain diet options are simply dangerous!!! To us, it doesn’t matter if we are on the wrong path if it’s the fastest path in our perceived goal . . . being a size 2. In the next few blogs I am going to address the good, the bad and the ugly of diet plans.

There are many harmful “diet” plans that can tempt the Christian to do harm to his temple of the Holy Spirit, so I urge you to please remember these practical truths:

  • Any food is fine in moderation. There is no such thing as a good or bad food, it’s just food and meant to be energy on a daily basis.
  • Some fad diets actually do work for some people. They also harm. I think one person won the $640 million mega-lottery too. So do you feel lucky?
  • A good diet plan is a life-long one. “Oh my gosh Ellie, you mean I have to eat like this every day????” to which I reply, “Oh my, you’re right, maybe I shouldn’t brush my teeth every day??” Do you wash your face, brush your hair, go through your morning routine everyday? Eating right should become as second nature as other daily habits.
  • We need to eat for nutrients not necessarily fat grams or calories, which is a hassle and easily given up on.

Remember God wants His best for us! He placed Adam in a Garden and not in a desert. Our life destination is our choice, choose health!

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

