Is Health Your Personal Choice?

“So what do you do?”  the woman across from me asked.

“I’m a nutritional counselor,”  I replied.  Well that sure put a damper on the conversation!!!

Do you know how hard it was to go on a cruise and have someone discover you are a nutritionist over dinner?  All of a sudden, my table companions looked self-conscious about what they ate.

“Anything is fine in moderation,” I assured them and proceeded to eat like a normal person on vacation.  Halfway though that cruise, however, one of our new friends leaned over and whispered, “but I noticed you avoid bread. Is it bad for you?”  “Well,” I joked, “I only avoided bread because I wanted to leave room for desert. It’s a matter of choice.” It was vacation after all, and was meant to be enjoyed.

In one of my recent blogs, I mentioned I grew up poor. Well, on the very first cruise, I couldn’t believe how much food was available all day long!  Another “oh my gosh, I’ve died and gone to heaven” moment. I ate so much that I gained seven pounds in one week and had nothing to wear off the ship. I wasn’t very proud of myself and it took me a month to lose what I gained in one week. I probably ate everything on the ship except the “fruit of the spirit” which was self-control!

Galatians 5: 22,23; “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.”

Being a curious person, I just had to know what that chocolate stuff was and what that red thingie tasted like. My curiosity tempted me to be out of control. I actually wore a baggy t-shirt over my unzipped slacks so I could disembark.  Well, what seemed like a good idea at the time, wasn’t.

This body is the only one we get in life. What we do with it, is our choice. “Choose this day whom you will serve . . .” Joshua 24:15.  That time, my god was food. Phillipians 3:19, “Their destiny is destruction, their god is their stomach . . .”

Choose health and honor God with your body! Talk yourself into success and trust that God will be encouraging you to do the right thing. Just remember, if we choose something that isn’t honoring our Lord, that’s our choice too. We own that decision! No one else lives in our body but us and we made the choice this time.  So we need to forgive ourselves and do better next time.

Practice self-control. Proverbs 25:28 “A man without self-control is like a city broken into and left without walls.” Without self-control we are vulnerable to any temptation. It helps to memorize scripture for those times we’re tempted.

Since I knew I’d gain a couple of pounds on future cruises, I planned for it and exercised accordingly before, during and after the cruise. I don’t want to put on the nutritionist title only when someone is watching. It’s important to live what one preaches.

On today’s cruise ships there are many exercise opportunities. I use their exercise equipment, the stairs instead of the elevator, walked the jogging track or promenade, danced the night away or walked around the ports of call. All burnt up quite a few calories.

You also have a choice. Stop making excuses and “just do it” as the Nike ad once said.  The longer you try to talk yourself out of exercise, the longer you could be doing it!

Choose Health! God is watching.

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

