Which Came First the Chicken or the Egg?

Okay, I can hear you right now saying, “Alright Ellie, you tell me one thing now and tomorrow, another nutritionist will be saying something totally opposite!  How do I know what to believe when so many “experts” continually say something contradictory?!”

At one time I was confounded by that exact same thing. I was perplexed by the almighty egg.

As I began my nutritional counseling career in 1990, the common practice at that time was to avoid eggs. They were bad for you . . .  you know, cholesterol and all. “Stay away from eggs!!” everyone cautioned.  Well, as a Christian, I began to wonder about that.  How could God who created all things “very good”, suddenly turn around and say, “Oops! Sorry kids, I’m afraid I made a mistake.  You can’t eat eggs without harming yourself, so you must stay away from them!”  I doubted it because MY God doesn’t make mistakes.

So I started researching on my own and discovered that nutrients in eggs contained: thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, B6, B12, choline, folate, selenium, zinc, potassium, magnesium, potassium, Vit. A, E, D, iron and calcium. Simply amazing, isn’t it? All those great nutrients in a supposedly dangerous food?! And I am a firm believer that one should eat for nutrients, not calories, food groups or grams. Eggs are abounding with nutrients, and I sensed that scientists would change their mind. Sure enough, experts eventually discovered that the cholesterol found in eggs actually assists in the good HDL cholesterol production. God knew it all the time.  As for me and my house, I’ll trust the Lord. Man can catch up later.

God first instructed mankind to be vegetarians. (Genesis 1:29) Man didn’t eat meat until after the flood. (Genesis 9:3) I’m sure the change in climate had something to do with it, however Daniel sustained himself quite well on vegetables long after the flood.

I tell confused patients that anything is fine in moderation. They don’t have to count calories, fat grams or worry about every carb. What a hassle that is! Eat for nutrients. An easy way to eat a balanced diet is to have five times more fruits and vegetables than meat on a smaller plate. The portion of a piece of meat protein should be no larger than the palm of your hand. An average chicken breast is 6 oz. and that’s as much meat as you should consume all day. So cut it in half, pound 3 oz. into a flat schnitzel and it’s plenty for dinner as a serving, along with a baked potato, vegetable and a salad.

And what about that potato?  You mean I can eat potatoes tooBut Ellie, they’re full of carbs!! Carbohydrates are bad for me!!  Oh ye of little faith.  A potato contains vitamins A, E, D, K, C, B1, B2, B3, B6, folate, choline, calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, zinc, copper, manganese and selenium. Does that sound like something God wants you to avoid too? Use common sense. Avoid placing a ton of butter, sour cream on it, or drowning it in oil and it’ll be healthy.

I repeat, God doesn’t make mistakes, but science has.  At one time man believed in a flat earth concept. Let’s use the common sense God gave us.  Don’t trust false teachers (the latest fad diet guru) who say “what our itching ears want to hear” (2 Timothy 4:3) Trust and rely on absolutes and that’s the scriptures.     1 Corinthians 6:12.

One thought on “Which Came First the Chicken or the Egg?

Have a question or comment? I'd really enjoy hearing from you,

